苏丹

青少年记者报道南部苏丹的学费问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF-NYHQ/2009/Kavanagh
17岁的麦克.卢奥是南部苏丹朱巴走读学校的一名学生。虽然政府承诺优秀的学生可以获得学费的帮助,但是麦克和他的家人还是挣扎着支付他的学习费用。

《儿童权利公约》是一项具有里程碑意义的有关儿童基本权利的国际公约。在联合国儿童基金会即将庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年之际,联合国儿童基金会汇编了一系列故事,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题。以下是其中的一篇报道。

南部苏丹朱巴,2009年7月13日 – 麦克.卢奥(Michael Lual)担心今年可能是他在学校上学的最后一年。这位17岁的少年是南部苏丹朱巴走读学校的一名尖子生,但是他正挣扎着支付他的上学费用。

 点击此处收看录音

麦克的父亲死于苏丹内战,他现在和叔叔住在朱巴,这样他可以去更好的学校上学。他的五个兄弟姐妹和母亲住在朱巴外面的一个村庄里。

麦克和他的老师们说虽然南部苏丹政府去年宣布了一项政策以帮助优秀学生支付学费,麦克和他的同学们仍需要经济援助以继续完成学业。

获得优质教育的权利

《联合国儿童权利公约》的第28条规定儿童有获得优质教育的权利并应鼓励他们继续取得最高的学历。然而,这种理想在南部苏丹这样的低收入战后地区很难实现。

麦克的一些朋友完全无法负担学费。其中一个叫皮特.丁丁(Peter Ding-Ding)的朋友跟麦克说他不得不在交学费和给母亲和兄弟姐妹买食物之间做出选择。皮特小学毕业后就没有再上学。

麦克有时也发现他盘子里的食物在减少,因为他在为支付下一拨的学费攒钱。他说:“饿着肚子很难学习。政府应该资助优秀生,因为这样可以鼓励其他人。”

朱巴广播讲习班

今年六月,麦克参加了为10名朱巴的青少年举办的为期一周的广播制作讲习班。联合国儿童基金会广播与联合国儿童基金会的有关紧急情况及危机过后教育问题的重回正轨项目、联合国儿童基金会南部苏丹办事处以及南部苏丹广播电台合作,共同为从当地学校挑选出来的5名男生和5名女生开办了讲习班。

这些年轻人学习了如何录制、编辑、撰写和制作自己的广播作品。

麦克选择制作一期有关学费的节目。南部苏丹的广播电台在6月16日播出了他的作品,以庆祝“非洲儿童日”。

年轻人的想法

联合国儿童基金会广播及有关紧急情况中教育问题的项目将于今后的几个月中在其他国家开办一系列类似的讲习班。目标是:将年轻人的想法纳入有关紧急情况中和危机过后的教育问题的讨论中,并以此庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年。

与此同时,联合国儿童基金会驻南部苏丹的办事处正与南部苏丹广播电台合作,让这些新的广播记者参与到青少年广播项目中。通过给年轻人一个在该地区广播自己心声的机会来增强他们的能力。


 

 

录音(英文)

2009年6月:17岁的麦克. 卢奥报道南部苏丹的家庭挣扎着付学费。
 录音 播放

儿童权利公约

回到正轨

搜索

Sudan

Youth journalist reports on the problem of school fees in Southern Sudan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF-NYHQ/2009/Kavanagh
Michael Lual, 17, is a student at Juba Day School in Southern Sudan. Despite a government promise that top students would receive help with their school fees, Michael and his family are still struggling to pay for his education.

In the run-up to the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child – a landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about progress made and challenges that remain. Here is one of those stories.

JUBA, Southern Sudan, 13 July 2009 – Michael Lual is worried that this might be his last year of school. The 17-year-old is one of the top students at Juba Day School in Juba, Southern Sudan, but he is struggling to pay his school fees.

AUDIO: Listen now

Michael's father died during Sudan's civil war, and he now lives in Juba with his uncle so that he can attend a better school. His five siblings live in a village outside Juba with their mother.

Michael and his teachers say that although the Government of Southern Sudan announced a policy last year to reward the best students with free schooling, Michael and his classmates are still waiting for financial aid to continue their education.

Right to quality education
Article 28 of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) states that children have the right to a quality education and should be encouraged to continue to the highest academic level they can achieve. It is an ideal that is difficult to attain in a low-income, post-conflict region such as Southern Sudan.

Some of Michael's friends can't afford to go to school at all. One of them, Peter Ding-Ding, told Michael that he has to choose between paying school fees and finding enough for his mother and siblings to eat. Peter stopped going to school after finishing his primary education.

Even Michael sometimes finds that he has less food on his plate when he is saving for the next round of school fees. "It's hard to study when you're hungry," he says. "The government should give money to the top students because [by doing so] it can encourage others."

Juba radio workshop
In June, Michael was one of the participants in a week-long radio production workshop for 10 young people from Juba. UNICEF Radio – in partnership with UNICEF's Back on Track Programme on Education in Emergencies and Post-Crisis Transition, the UNICEF Southern Sudan office and Southern Sudan Radio – conducted the workshop with five boys and five girls chosen from local schools.

The youths learned how to record, edit, write and produce a radio piece of their own.

Michael chose to produce a piece about school fees. Southern Sudan Radio broadcast it on 16 June to commemorate the Day of the African Child.

Young people’s perspectives
UNICEF Radio and the education in emergencies programme will be conducting a series of similar workshops in other countries in the coming months. Their aim: to bring young people's perspectives into the debate around education in emergencies and post-crisis situations – and to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the CRC.

Meanwhile, UNICEF's Southern Sudan office is working with Southern Sudan Radio to involve the new radio journalists in its youth radio programmes, empowering young people by giving them the chance to broadcast their voices throughout the region.


 

 

Audio

June 2009: Michael Lual, 17, reports on families struggling to pay school fees in Southern Sudan.
AUDIO listen

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search