苏丹

苏丹南部逃离家园的学生们在艰苦的环境中求学

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Sudan/2008
许多流离失所的学生就读于苏丹阿古克卓州克小学,那里大多数班级在树下上课。

舟.敦鲁普报道

苏丹阿古克, 2008年10月3日 — 18岁的邓.润是苏丹南部阿古克(Agok)卓柳克(Juoljok)小学众多新生中的一员,由于苏丹南北交界地区阿卜耶伊(Abyei)最近重新爆发了战争,他们逃离了位于阿卜耶伊北部45公里远的家园。

 “我真的想上完小学,这是我今年的愿望,”邓说。在冲突和流离失所的情况下,教育能有助于恢复常态,解决像邓这样的年轻人的迫切之需。

尽管2005年1月签署了和平协议,冲突仍然困扰着苏丹。由于有着丰富的石油储备,阿卜耶伊是南部和北部长期争夺的地区。南部的苏丹人民解放军和北部的苏丹武装部队长期以来积蓄的紧张局势,造成了5月中旬在阿卜耶伊爆发了战争。

暴力事件持续了将近3个星期,几乎摧毁了阿卜耶伊,导致当地5万居民流离失所。成千上万的儿童受到影响,他们的学业面临被中断的危险。

“现在我们在这里安全”

阿卜耶伊冲突开始后,邓和她的同学莫尼卡.阿绰(Monica Achol )的生活就陷入了混乱。两个女孩只背了少得可怜的几件衣服逃离了家园。他们现在住在阿古克(Agok)临时营地。

“我和母亲一起离开了阿卜耶伊,但是在战斗中我们失去了我的父亲,”邓悲伤地回忆道。“我感到很气愤、糕透了,但是事情正在好转。现在我们在这里安全,但我想回到阿卜耶伊 — 那是我的家乡。”

莫妮卡在类似的情况下离开了阿卜耶伊。战斗爆发后,她逃进丛林,然后走了一天才到达阿古克。在那里她和她的父母重逢了,但她仍然担心祖母的安全。

“我听说许多人们在战斗中被杀害的故事,很多人和家人失散,”莫妮卡说。“我不知道我的祖母在哪儿,因为她年纪太大,没办法和我们一起来。但愿她还在阿卜耶伊。我想念她。”

室外上课

面对叵测的未来,继续学业的机会使邓、莫尼卡和数以百计同她们一样的的学生得以保持稳定。

目前,卓州克小学有836位在册的学生,其中有300人是过去3个月里从阿卜耶伊来的。像苏丹南部的许多学校一样,卓州克小学的大部分课程在树下进行。在漫长的雨季,课程经常被取消。

校长彼得.马宙克.邓(Peter Majok Deng )下决心帮助新的学生。他现在担心的是过于拥挤以及持续的资源缺乏等问题。

等待和平重回家园

“每一天我们迎接新的学生来到学校,帮助这些孩子是我们的责任,”他说。 “但是,师资短缺,大部分课程在树下进行。多亏联合国儿童基金会给我们提供的一切,给我们的教师和学生带来了改变。”

联合国儿童基金会为卓州克学校提供了临时的帐篷学校以容纳额外的学生,分发诸如练习簿、黑板和钢笔等学习必需品。这些工具是使苏丹的学校、教育体制乃至整个国家回到正轨所迈出的第一步。

估计有4万流离失所的人住在阿古克及周围的营地,等待着重获和平,最终重返家园并重建他们的生活。对于这些流离失所家庭的儿童来说,他们的世界彻底颠倒了,只有上学是他们可指望的事。


 

 

搜索

Sudan

Education for students displaced by conflict in Southern Sudan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Sudan/2008
Many displaced students are studying at Juoljok Primary School in Agok, Sudan, where most classes are conducted under trees.

By Jo Dunlop

AGOK, Sudan, 3 October 2008 – Deng Ring, 18, is one of the many new students at Juoljok Primary School in Agok, Southern Sudan, who have recently fled their homes in Abyei, 45 km to the north, due to renewed fighting there.

“I really want to finish my primary education, that is my hope for this year,” says Deng. During times of conflict and in situations of displacement, education helps restore a sense of routine, addressing the immediate needs of young people like Deng.

Despite a peace agreement that was signed in January 2005, conflict still plagues Sudan. Abyei, with its rich oil reserves, is a long-contested area between the north and the south. After a long build-up of tension between the Sudan People’s Liberation Army in the south and the Sudan Armed Forces in the north, fighting broke out in the town in mid-May.

The violence continued for almost three weeks, virtually destroying Abyei town and displacing 50,000 local residents. Thousands of children have been affected and their schooling is in danger of being interrupted.

‘We are safe here for now’
Deng and his classmate Monica Achol had their lives thrown into turmoil the day the conflict began in Abyei. Both girls fled with little more than the clothes on their backs. They have now settled temporarily in Agok.

“I left Abyei with my mother, but we lost my father in the fighting,” Deng recalls sadly. “I felt so angry and so bad, but things are getting better. We are safe here for now, but I want to return to Abyei – it is my homeland.”

Monica left Abyei under similar circumstances. After the fighting erupted, she ran into the bush to escape. She then walked for a day before reaching Agok, where she was reunited with her parents. But she remains anxious about the safety of her grandmother.

“I have heard many stories of people being killed in the fighting and people being separated from their families,” says Monica. “I am not sure where my grandmother is, as she was too old to come with us. I hope she is still in Abyei. I miss her.”

Classes held outdoors
The opportunity to continue classes has given Deng, Monica and hundreds of students like them a measure of stability in the face of an uncertain future.

Juoljok Primary School currently has 836 registered students, 300 of whom have arrived in the past three months from Abyei. Like many schools in Southern Sudan, Juoljok conducts most of its classes under trees. During the lengthy wet season, they are frequently cancelled.

Headmaster Peter Majok Deng is determined to support the new students. He is concerned, however, about overcrowding and the continuing lack of resources.

Waiting for peace to return
“Every day we are welcoming new students to the school, and it is our duty to help these children,” he says. “But we are short on teachers and already our classes are mostly under trees. I am thankful to UNICEF for all they have given us. It makes a difference to our teachers and students.”

UNICEF has provided emergency school tents to the Juoljok school to accommodate its extra students. Learning essentials such as exercise books, blackboards and pens have also been distributed. These tools are the first steps in restoring schools and the education system in Sudan, and getting the country back on track.

There are an estimated 40,000 displaced people camped in and around Agok, hoping that peace will return and they will eventually be able to go back to their homes and rebuild their lives. For the children of these displaced families, whose world has been turned upside down, going to school is something they can count on.


 

 

New enhanced search