苏丹

“去上学”行动为苏丹农村的放牛娃提供一个更好的生活

UNICEF Photo: Southern Sudan, education, Go to School campaign
© UNICEF video
在牧场长大的孩子通常只学传统技能,很少接受正规教育。

雷切尔.拜克报道

2007年8月7日,苏丹南部马丽亚尔.拜克。苏丹南部进步很快。 在结束非洲长期内战的历史性和平协议签署两年后,城市道路拥堵,曾经缺乏学生的课堂现在人满为患。

在熙熙攘攘的城市以外的地区,进展慢一些。农村地区到处是牧场,社区随着季节性牲蓄的迁徙而移动。 在牧区长大的孩子学习传统技能,比如如何挤奶和如何捕鱼,但是正规教育几乎从来没有过。

19岁的大卫.马利克.马伊克是一名学生,也是联合国儿童基金会支持的“女童教育运动”的志愿者,该草根倡议旨在推广教育中的男女平等。他说:“在马丽亚尔拜克牧场,孩子们从来没上过学。”

“我在牧场出生, 这里的一切都是关于牛的。”

农村教育的挑战

苏丹南部的“去上学”行动正在重建教育制度,并且旨在2007年年底前让160万儿童上学。 该行动是联合国儿童基金会与教育科学技术部及一系列合作伙伴于去年四月共同发起。

但是农村地区缺乏学习空间,加上对送孩子上学,尤其是送女孩上学的文化禁忌,一直是该运动的挑战。  大卫作为“女童教育运动”的志愿者,为了确保上学的孩子得到全社区的支持,到牧场与当地长老会面。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
青少年志愿者到偏远社区与村领导和孩子们讨论教育的重要性。

大卫说:“我参与“女童教育运动”是为了鼓舞我们的人。 我来自牧场。 现在我在上学,教育遍布整个世界。 明天将属于我们。”

参与“女童教育运动”的学生们为他们的同辈人树立了榜样。 讨论小组为儿童及其家庭提供了一个提出问题并拿出解决办法的论坛。

“我们生存所需的技能”

虽然牧场里的孩子学到了重要的传统知识,但是他们将牛带到市场去卖时,就显示了他们的弱点。 在市场上如果具备读写能力可以帮助他们卖个好价钱。

马洛克.曼桂在马丽亚尔.拜克长大,他说:“这是我们在新苏丹生存所需要的技能。”  像马洛克这样的少年在牧场并不多见,他当年决定去上学。 现在他在省教育部工作。

马洛克说:“我是通过我的一位亲戚得知学校的事的。 他和他家人的生活很好。 我对比了他的状况和没受过教育的人的状况。 我要获得上学的好处, 就能像他一样。”

目前,马洛克在“女童教育运动”工作,探访偏僻地区的孩子,说服他们来上学。 马洛克说:“很难让人们看到离开牧场的好处。 但是我们还是开始看到一些进步。”

虽然从牧场到最近的学校的长距离步行可以说是一个物理障碍,真正的挑战是说服家长,告诉他们正规教育将让他们的孩子非常受益。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年7月:

联合国儿童基金会通讯员埃米.伯奈特报道苏丹南部的教育运动,尤其是在牧场努力工作但往往不上学的孩子们。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

Sudan

‘Go to School’ initiative offers a better life to Sudanese youths in rural cattle camps

UNICEF Image: Southern Sudan, education, Go to School campaign
© UNICEF video
Children who grow up in cattle camps are taught traditional skills but very rarely receive a formal education.

MARIAL BEK, Southern Sudan, 7 August 2007 – Progress has come quickly to Southern Sudan. Two years after a historic peace agreement ended Africa’s longest-running civil war, urban roads are congested with traffic and classrooms that once lacked students are now overflowing.
Outside the bustling urban areas, however, progress has been slower. The countryside is dotted with cattle camps in which communities move with their herds according to the seasons. Children who grow up in the camps are taught traditional skills like how to milk cows and fish with spears, but formal schooling has almost never been an option.

“Here in Marial Bek cattle camp, children have never gone to school,” says David Malik Mayik, 19, a student and volunteer with the UNICEF-supported Girls’ Education Movement (GEM), a grassroots initiative that promotes equality in education through participation of both girls and boys.

“I was born in a cattle camp, and everything here has always been about the cows,” David adds.

Challenges of rural education

The ‘Go to School’ initiative in Southern Sudan is rebuilding the education system and aims to bring 1.6 million children to school by the end of 2007. The initiative was launched in April of last year by UNICEF and the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, in conjunction with a wide range of partners.

But the lack of learning spaces in rural areas – coupled with cultural taboos on sending children, especially girls, to school – has been posing challenges for the campaign. As a GEM volunteer, David visits cattle camps to meet with local elders in order to ensure that children who go to school have support from the entire community.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Youth volunteers travel to rural communities to discuss the importance of education with village leaders and children.

“I came to GEM to encourage our people,” says David. “I came from the cattle. Now, I am in school. Education is all over the world. Tomorrow, it will be our time.”

The students in GEM provide a positive example for their peers. Discussion groups provide a forum for children and their families to air concerns and come up with solutions.

'The skills we need to survive'

While the youths in the cattle camp gather important traditional knowledge, they are at a disadvantage when it comes to taking cattle to market. There, the ability to read and write can help drive a better bargain.

“These are the skills we need to survive in new Sudan,” says Malok Mangui, who grew up at Marial Bek. Malok is a rarity in the cattle camp; he decided to attend school and now works for the State Ministry of Education.

“I learned about school through one of my relatives,” Malok adds. “His life and his family’s life were good. I compared his situation to the situation of the person who is not educated. I took advantage of going to school, so that I should be like him.”

Today, Malok works with GEM to reach out to children in remote areas and persuade them to come to school. “It can be very hard to show people that it is good to leave the cattle camp,” says Malok. “They are especially reluctant to send girls. But we are beginning to see some progress.”

While the long walk from a cattle camp to the nearest classroom can present a physical obstacle, the real challenge is to convince families that their children will be well served by formal education.


 

 

Video

July 2007: UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the education movement in Southern Sudan, particularly in cattle camps where children work hard and often do not go to school.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search