斯里兰卡

海啸袭击五年后,新的儿童友好学校带来稳定的生活

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-2122/Pietrasik
Navalady Namahal Vidyalaya高中的学生们在唱歌。这所学校被海啸摧毁后,联合国儿童基金会出资在新的地址重建了学校。

斯里兰卡缇莱玛度(THIRAIMADU),2009年12月30日 - Navalady Namahal Vidyalaya高中的孩子们穿着自制的服装,扮演各种原产于斯里兰卡的野生动物。他们正在大厅里为一场表演做最后的彩排,构成了一幅色彩缤纷的热闹景象。乌鸦、鹿和乌龟都是剧中的角色。

 点击此处观看视频报道

10岁的Sundaralingham Gnanasekaram装扮成一只淘气的狐狸,他扮演的是剧中最重要的角色之一。他热情洋溢地表演。他是克服了巨大的伤痛才成为今天舞台上这位自信的年轻人,这使得他们的表演更加的了不起。

在五年前的海啸中,他失去了父母及两个弟弟妹妹,只剩下一个哥哥和一个姐姐照顾他。他觉得自己还能上学已经很幸运了。

在彩排的间歇,他穿着道具服装说:“我的哥哥和姐姐都工作,他们支持我上学。我想要好好学习,这样我以后能帮助他们。

儿童友好学校

他上学的学校是联合国儿童基金会资助建立的,现在还萦绕着一种崭新的氛围。这所学校起初位于斯里兰卡东部海岸附近的缇莱玛度。学校在海啸中被彻底摧毁,还致使119名儿童死亡。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-2126/Pietrasik
在卡尔库达区的Palchenai高中食堂工作的寡妇Kanakaratnam Chandra,在海啸中失去了她的姐姐。现在除了自己的孩子,她还要养活她姐姐的两个孩子。

由于学校采纳了儿童友好教学(CFS)手段,现在有434名儿童在这里就读,教学方法也有了很大的改进。

一位接受了联合国儿童基金会提供的儿童友好教学方法培训的老师Rajamahendran Indumathy解释说:“如果孩子们想先玩再学习,那么他们就应该玩。这样他们才能学得更好。”

多重打击

沿着海岸线继续向前走,在卡尔库达区的Palchenai高中,工作人员和学生们不仅要克服海啸造成的巨大破坏,还受到了最近国内冲突的严重影响。

在识别哪些儿童仍遭受心理创伤方面,这些老师已经非常有经验了。他们知道稳定的学校生活的重要性。Kanapathippillai Nagendran老师解释说: “如果孩子呆在家里,他们可能不会得到那么多的帮助。所以,最好是把他们留在学校。”

正认真听课的13岁的Tharmaratnam Mahanaroj 和他15岁的哥哥Mathirupan一起入学。海啸周年对于这两个男孩来说尤其痛苦,因为这让他们想起了他们失去母亲的那一天。
Mathirupan 说:“当我们开始点蜡烛的时候,我有时会哭,心情很不好。但是我们必须继续生活下去。”

幸存者的命运

海啸过后,沿海建起了的数个重新定居点。在其中一个定居点内,Mahanaroj和她的姨妈Kanakaratnam Chandra坐在她家小房子的外面。

Chandra女士通过在学校打工做午饭,挣到了足够的钱来养活他们和她自己的孩子。她自己一人承受这个负担;她的丈夫死于该国90年代初爆发的国内冲突。尽管如此,她依然十分顽强。
她说:“这是一个我必须要接受的挑战。”

虽然斯里兰卡这一地区的生活非常艰苦,但是人们下定决心要克服这些困难。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员罗布.麦克布莱德就斯里兰卡在海啸后建立儿童友好学校进行的报道。
 视频  

海啸五周年

搜索

Sri Lanka

New child-friendly schools provide stability five years after tsunami

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-2122/Pietrasik
Students sing songs at Navalady Namahal Vidyalaya High School. The school was rebuilt with funding from UNICEF in this new location, after being destroyed by the tsunami.

By Rob McBride

THIRAIMADU, Sri Lanka, 30 December 2009 – Dressed in homemade costumes to represent the different wild animals native to Sri Lanka, the children of Navalady Namahal Vidyalaya High School make a colourful and lively spectacle as they run through the final dress rehearsal of a play in the main hall. A crow, a deer and even a tortoise will all have a role to play in the performance.

VIDEO: Watch now

Dressed as a mischievous fox, Sundaralingham Gnanasekaram, 10, has one of the most important roles, which he plays with enthusiasm. The performance is all the more remarkable when you consider the pain he has overcome to turn out to be the confident young person appearing on stage today.

Five years ago in the tsunami, he lost both of his parents as well as two younger siblings, leaving him with one older brother and sister to look after him. He counts himself lucky to be able to attend school.

"My brother and sister both work and they can support me to go to school,” he said, taking a break from rehearsal and still in his costume and make-up. “So I want to do well, and in the future I will be able to support them."

A 'child-friendly' school

The school he attends, built with the support of UNICEF, still has an aura of newness about it. The original school at Thiraimadu on the nearby coast of eastern Sri Lanka was completely destroyed by the tsunami, claiming the lives of 119 children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-2126/Pietrasik
Kanakaratnam Chandra, a widow who works in the canteen at Palchenai High School in Kalkudah Zone, lost her sister in the tsunami and is now raising her sister’s two children in addition to her own.

Now with 434 children enrolled here, teaching methods have been vastly improved, thanks to the adoption of child-friendly school (CFS) approaches.

"If the children first want to play before they study, then they should,” explained Rajamahendran Indumathy, one of the teachers who has undergone training in CFS methods, supported by UNICEF. “And they learn a lot better,” she added.

Multiple hardships

Further along the coast, at Palchenai High School in Kalkudah Zone, the staff and pupils have not only had to overcome the devastation of the tsunami, but have also been badly affected by the recent domestic conflict.

The teachers have become expert in spotting children still suffering psychosocial trauma and know the importance of a stable school life. “If the children stay at home, they might not get that much support,” explained teacher Kanapathippillai Nagendran. “So it’s good to keep them in school.”

Studying attentively in class, Tharmaratnam Mahanaroj, 13, is enrolled here along with his elder brother Mathirupan, 15. For both boys, the anniversary of the tsunami is particularly hard, reminding them of the day they lost their mother.

“When we start lighting the candles, I sometimes cry and feel bad,” admitted Mathirupan. “But we have to go ahead with our lives.”

The fate of the survivors

Mahanaroj sits with their aunt, Kanakaratnam Chandra, outside their small house in one of the post-tsunami re-settlement areas dotted along the coast.

Ms. Chandra manages to earn enough money to support them and her own children by preparing lunches at the school. It is a burden she faces alone; her husband perished in the country’s internal conflict in the early 1990s. In spite of it all, she remains resilient.

“It’s a challenge but I have to accept it,” she says

As significant as the hardships are in this part of Sri Lanka, so seems to be the determination to overcome them.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on new child-friendly schools in Sri Lanka post-tsunami.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search