斯里兰卡

被困于北部冲突地区的斯里兰卡儿童的灾难

UNICEF Photo
© REUTERS/Stringer
在斯里兰卡北部城镇瓦武尼亚郊区的一所难民营,流离失所的平民排队领取食物和用品。该镇仍然有数千人被困在冲突之中。

詹姆斯.艾德报道

斯里兰卡科伦坡,2009年5月13日 – 被卷入枪战的塔施尼和她的丈夫及两周大的女儿安南迪,跳进水塘。他们被困于泰米尔伊拉姆猛虎解放组织(猛虎组织)与政府军之间的激烈战斗中。这对新生儿的父母决定孤注一掷,逃出冲突区。 

 点击此处观看视频

在塔施尼家被困的这个小区域,除了不断受到子弹和炮火的威胁外,还严重缺乏粮食和水。

“我吓哭了”

晚上九点刚过,塔施尼的丈夫就抱着安南迪走进水里,塔施尼跟在他身旁。水深约1.5米,距对岸200米。

塔施尼说:“天很黑,枪声不断,我吓得一直哭。好在我们就要靠近对岸了。”

他们身边又响起一阵枪声,塔施尼在那一瞬间闭上了双眼。等她再睁开眼睛的时候,只看到安南迪一个人开始往水下沉。塔施尼冲过去抓住孩子,然后疯狂地寻找她的丈夫,但是什么也看不见。

她再转过身,看到她丈夫的尸体漂浮在水中。

塔施尼回忆说她没有哭喊,虽然枪战还在继续,但那个时刻她什么也听不见了。她因失去丈夫而失聪了,她和安南迪又跋涉了大约30米到达对岸,政府军在那里接收了她们。

被困的儿童

正当斯里兰卡军队进一步迈向结束这个岛国25年冲突的目标的时候,当猛虎组织继续阻止平民离开冲突区的时候,激斗继续在这一小块土地上进行,成千上万人还被困在那里。这些人中许多是儿童,他们被卷入战争的最后和最激烈的阶段。

许多人被杀害了。但是,随着目前战斗愈演愈烈,联合国儿童基金会最担心的是最坏的时刻还没有带来。

现在,那些逃离战争的人们住在瓦武尼亚镇和贾夫纳镇周围的难民营里。在过去的20天里,难民营里的人数增加了几乎两倍,到大约20万人。许多人像塔施尼和安南迪一样,带着疲惫、饥饿和创伤来到这里。

援助流离失所者

联合国儿童基金会一直全天候地工作,以满足流离失所者的许多迫切需要。面对对安全饮用水和卫生设施的几乎压倒性的需求,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正在提供饮用水,并迅速在难民营里建设厕所和洗浴设施。

此外,联合国儿童基金会正在为营养不良的儿童建立营养中心,协助医院满足日益增长的孕产妇和儿童的健康需要。联合国儿童基金会继续运送卫生箱、急救箱、厨具、净水片,及学生、教师和娱乐箱。并且,还在建设临时学习场所,使得流离失所的儿童可以继续他们的教育。

与此同时,联合国儿童基金会还为受冲突影响的儿童提供心理支持,并确认失散的和无人陪伴的儿童。

塔施尼和安南迪已经获得了联合国儿童基金会的支持。塔施尼说,她的女儿看起来又健康了,但是这位母亲对于女儿永远也不可能见到她的父亲这件事不能释怀。她说:“他是个好男人,一位勤劳的农民。一年前,我们还开了一家小商店。现在,我们什么都没了,我丈夫死了。”


 

 

音频(英文)

2009年5月13日:联合国儿童基金会记者莎拉.克劳报道斯里兰卡的人道主义危机。
 录音 播放

搜索

Sri Lanka

A catastrophe for Sri Lankan children trapped in northern conflict zone

UNICEF Image
© REUTERS/Stringer
Displaced civilians stand in line to receive food and supplies in a camp on the outskirts of the town of Vavuniya in northern Sri Lanka, where thousands remain trapped by conflict.

By James Elder

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka, 13 May 2009 – Engulfed by gunfire, Tharshini, her husband and their two-week-old baby daughter, Anandi, plunged into the lagoon. Caught amid intense fighting between the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) and government troops, the new parents were making a desperate bid to escape the conflict zone.

AUDIO: Listen now

Beyond the constant threat of bullets and shelling, there was a critical lack of food and water in the small area where Tharshini’s family was trapped.

‘I was crying with fear’
Holding Anandi on his head, Tharshini’s husband entered the water just after 9 p.m. She followed beside him. The water was around 1.5 metres deep, and 200 metres across.

“It was dark, there was so much shooting and I was crying with fear,” says Tharshini. “But we were getting close to the other side.”

There was another burst of gunfire around them, and Tharshini closed her eyes for a split second. When she reopened them, she saw Anandi alone, starting to sink into the lagoon. Tharshini lunged and grabbed the baby, then frantically looked for her husband but saw nothing.

She turned again and saw his body floating in the water.

Tharshini says she didn’t scream. At that moment, she recalls, she heard nothing at all despite the continuing firefight. Deafened by the loss of her husband, she waded another 30 metres or so until she and Anandi reached the other side, where government troops took charge of them.

Children among those trapped
As Sri Lanka’s army advances in its bid to end the island nation’s 25-year conflict, and as the LTTE continues to stop civilians from leaving the conflict zone, fierce fighting persists around a sliver of land where tens of thousands of people remain trapped. Among them are a large number of children who are now caught in the final, intense stages of a war.

Many are being killed. And yet with this current surge in fighting, UNICEF’s greatest fear is that the worst is yet to come.

Those who have escaped the fighting are now in camps around the towns of Vavuniya and Jaffna. In the last 20 days, their number has almost trebled, to around 200,000. Many, like Tharshini and her daughter, arrive exhausted, hungry and traumatized.

Aid for the displaced

UNICEF has worked around the clock to respond to many of the immediate needs of the displaced. Faced with an almost overwhelming demand for safe water and sanitation, UNICEF and its partners are supplying drinking water and rapidly constructing latrines and bathing facilities in the camps.

In addition, UNICEF is establishing nutrition centres for malnourished children and helping hospitals meet increased maternal and child health needs. The organization continues to deliver hygiene kits, emergency health kits, cooking pots, water-purification tablets, and student, teacher and recreation kits. It is also constructing temporary learning shelters so that displaced children can resume their education.

At the same time, UNICEF is supporting the provision of psychosocial support for conflict-affected children, as well as the identification of separated and unaccompanied children.

Tharshini and Anandi have been receiving support from UNICEF. Tharshini says her daughter is looking healthy again, but the mother cannot fathom that her little girl will never know her father. “He was a good man, a farmer who had worked very hard,” she says, “and one year ago we also started a small shop. Now we have nothing, and my husband is dead.”


 

 

Audio

13 May 2009: UNICEF’s Sarah Crowe discusses the humanitarian crisis in Sri Lanka.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search