斯里兰卡

斯里兰卡新的供水项目为数千人带来了健康和希望

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/2008/de Silva
同很多人一样,阿帕莎拉.甘纳拉特内和他的儿子凯文将直接受益于联合国儿童基金会在斯里兰卡支持的唐加勒供水计划。

詹姆斯.艾尔德报道

斯里兰卡唐加勒,2008年9月4日–联合国儿童基金会在斯里兰卡南部支持的唐加勒供水计划于上周正式启动,而在那之前阿帕莎拉.甘纳拉特内和全球其他近10亿人口一样无法获得安全的饮水。

30岁的甘纳拉特内(Gunaratne)女士要走很远的路去打水,因此失去了用来挣钱的宝贵时间。她打到的水经常是浑浊或者不卫生的,导致她和她的孩子们感染了疾病。

2004年印度洋海啸袭击斯里兰卡后,甘纳拉特内女士的处境更加困难。海啸夺走了3万多人的性命和数十万人的家园。大规模的流离失所给那些本已不堪重负的社会服务设施带来了巨大压力,其中就包括供水设施。

唐加勒供水计划将为当地人们提供三倍的水源。斯里兰卡总统马欣达.拉贾帕克萨及联合国儿童基金会驻斯里兰卡代表佩里普.杜阿梅勒主持了该计划的启动仪式。

增加安全用水的供给

对于像甘纳拉特内女士这样的人们来说,供水的增加简直是再好不过的消息。

她说:“我孩子一岁时,水问题非常严重,我简直无法形容。他高烧不退,住了10天医院。我们对水厂的建成感到非常高兴。我们全家都来参加这个供水计划的启动仪式。我们高兴极了。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
唐加勒供水计划将为生活在斯里兰卡南部的人们提供三倍的水源。

唐加勒供水计划将在保卫该地区儿童健康方面发挥重要作用。它将帮助降低疟疾、肝炎和其他水媒疾病的发病率,还能确保当地居民——尤其是妇女和儿童——每天不用走好几小时的路去打水。

42公里长的巨大管道将使供水从每天2500立方米增加到每天9000立方米。

预防水媒疾病

据估计,全球每天大约有5000人死于水媒疾病。

联合国儿童基金会驻斯里兰卡代表佩里普.杜阿梅勒说:“水媒疾病是发展中国家儿童健康的最严重威胁之一,并主要影响最贫穷的人口。在这里,通过政府和联合国儿童基金会之间的强有力的伙伴关系,我们将希望和健康带给众多的妇女和儿童,让他们不必再长途跋涉去打水,也不再遭受水媒疾病带来的痛苦。”

建造新管道是斯里兰卡决心要实现千年发展目标所做出的努力。到2015年,该管道能再为大约5000个家庭提供足够的用水。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年8月29日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员詹姆斯.艾尔德报道斯里兰卡南部启动的唐加勒供水计划,该计划将为数千人带来干净、安全的用水。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Sri Lanka

New water supply project in Sri Lanka brings health and hope to thousands

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/2008/de Silva
Apsara Gunaratne and her son, Kavin, are among those who will directly benefit from the UNICEF-supported Tangalle Water Supply Scheme in Sri Lanka.

By James Elder

TANGALLE, Sri Lanka, 4 September 2008 – Until the opening of the UNICEF-funded Tangalle Water Supply Scheme in southern Sri Lanka last week, Apsara Gunaratne’s problems were much like those of  the approximately 1 billion other people around the world who live without access to safe water.

Ms. Gunaratne, 30, had to walk long distances to fetch water, thus losing crucial hours where she needed to earn an income. Often, the water she retrieved was dirty or unsanitary, so she and her children fell ill.

When the Indian Ocean tsunami struck Sri Lanka in 2004, Ms. Gunaratne’s situation got even worse. The tsunami killed more than 30,000 people and displaced hundreds of thousands more. The massive displacement put enormous pressure on already strained social services, including water supply.

The project will more than triple the access to safe drinking water for those living in this area. The inauguration of the Tangalle Water Supply Scheme was conducted by Sri Lanka’s President, Mahinda Rajapaksa, and UNICEF’s Representative in Sri Lanka, Philippe Duamelle.

Increasing the supply of safe water

The increased water supply is tremendous news for people like Ms. Gunaratne.

“I can’t tell you how severe the water problem was when my child was one year old,” she said. “He had high fever and was hospitalized for 10 days. We are very, very pleased about this new plant. Our whole family came to see the opening of this water scheme and we are extremely happy.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
The Tangalle Water Supply Scheme will more than triple access to a safe drinking water supply for those living in southern Sri Lanka.

The Tangalle Water Supply Scheme will play a critical role in safeguarding the health of the region’s children. It will help reduce incidences of diarrhoea, hepatitis and other water-borne illnesses. It will also ensure that local residents, especially women and children, don’t have to spend hours each day fetching water.

The massive 42 kilometre pipeline will alllow the supply of water to swell from 2,500 cubic metres per day to 9,000 cubic metres.

Preventing water-borne illness

It is estimated that water-borne illnesses cause almost 5,000 deaths globally each day.

“Water-borne diseases are one of the most serious threats to child health in developing countries and affect mainly the poorest people,” said UNICEF’s Representative in Sri Lanka, Philippe Duamelle. “Here, through a strong partnership between Government and UNICEF, we give hope and health to so many women and children who would otherwise trudge great distances to fetch water and will no longer suffer from water-related diseases.”

The new pipeline has been built with an eye firmly on Sri Lanka’s ambition to meet the UN Millennium Development Goals. It has the capacity to provide enough water for approximately 5,000 additional families by 2015.


 

 

Video

29 August 2008:
UNICEF’s James Elder reports on the new Tangalle Water Supply Scheme in southern Sri Lanka, which will provide clean, safe water to thousands of people.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search