斯里兰卡

斯里兰卡海啸过后联合国儿童基金会帮助当地居民检查饮用水的安全

UNICEF Photo
© Video still
在斯里兰卡南部的加勒区,14岁的佳妍辛卡(左)在学校外面,在她的朋友内尔卡的帮助下,检测学校井里面的水。

弗朗西斯.米德报道

斯里兰卡加勒,2007年11月。在三年前的海啸席卷该地区之前,许多住在斯里兰卡南部省份的居民就已经很难获得安全的饮用水。洪水造成沿海岸的水井和化粪池受到污染,三年来,问题仍旧没能得到解决。

在加勒城边的一个小村子里,遭受海啸袭击的地势低洼的区域新建了一片房子。但这里仍然极有可能再被水淹没。垃圾漂浮在污浊的池子里,当地的工厂把工业废料倾倒在水里,流过软泥岸边。

由于厕所建得离水井太近,细菌直接渗入地下水资源,这就增加了饮用水的危险。在这种情况下,儿童极易感染痢疾和其他严重损害他们健康的疾病。

处理不安全饮用水的两种办法

联合国儿童基金会支持的两个项目从不同角度着手解决问题 — 即低技术的方法和高技术的方法。坦格勒正在建造水处理厂。这个水处理厂将使当地的供水管道和饮用水的处理能力增两倍,最起码能够满足12000个家庭的用水量。

另一方面,14岁的佳妍辛卡在加勒区的学校外面寻找泉水。她拿了一个小水瓶,小心翼翼地往里面灌泉水,然后从学校不远处的水井里提取另一个样品。

如果学校的水资源受到污水的污染,瓶子里装的化学试剂和水混合后,就可以清晰地显示出来。如果水受到污染,它就会变成黑色并释放出一种难闻的,硫磺的气味。

但是并不止于此,就像动画片“米娜,我的水是安全的”演得那样。在这个地区,动画片作为普及教育的一部分,它告诉人们只要经过有效处理,水是安全的。比如,把水存放在瓶子里经阳光直射六个小时,或者把水煮几分钟,这些都是有效处理水的方法。

佳妍辛卡说“水里存在有害病菌,所以我们知道,在喝水之前进行处理是一个好的办法。”

UNICEF Photo
© Video still
佳妍辛卡检查验水工具瓶 — 硫磺味证明水被污染了。

检测工具证实水被污染了

使用检测工具箱进行检测,一段时间后,从瓶子里飘出的气味证实了井水被污染了,现在佳妍辛卡和她的同学都会把水煮一煮。一排装满了井水的塑料瓶摆在阳光下照射。

在南部省份,联合国儿童基金会的水项目干事素兰伽.德.席尔瓦一直同当地的公共卫生监督员合作向当地的家庭进行宣传。在马塔拉地区,有1000个家庭有机会使用这种检测工具箱。

迪克维拉沿海城镇的居民丹雅.库马拉森纳刚把从井里打的水倒进了一个瓶子里。

她问卫生监督员喝了检测后变黑的水是否真的没问题。卫生监督员答复道:“只要水经过处理,你就能喝。”。

她来到房后的厨房,将水倒进水壶里。之后,她会再检测一次。德.席尔瓦女士说:“这样,人们在家就可以检查他们的饮用水 — 他们就可以自己判断应该怎么办。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年11月:
联合国儿童基金会的弗朗西斯.米德报道为斯里兰卡儿童提供安全饮用水的项目。 
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Sri Lanka

UNICEF helps residents check water safety in post-tsunami Sri Lanka

UNICEF Image
© Video still
Outside her school in Galle District, southern Sri Lanka, Gayanthika, 14 (left), tests water from her school’s well, with help from her friend Nelka.

By Francis Mead

GALLE, Sri Lanka, December 2007 – Many people living in Sri Lanka’s Southern Province had poor access to safe water even before the tsunami swept in three years ago, flooding wells and septic tanks, and spreading polluted water along the coast. Three years on, the problems continue.

In a small village on the edge of Galle Town, a cluster of houses have been rebuilt in a low-lying area that was devastated by the tsunami. It is still very much prone to flooding. Garbage floats in stagnant pools, and local factories pour waste into the water that flows past banks of soft mud.

Adding to the risks, latrines have sometimes been constructed too close to wells, allowing bacteria to seep into the groundwater supply. In these conditions, children are vulnerable to diarrhoea and other diseases that can destroy their health.

Two solutions to unsafe water
UNICEF is supporting two projects that approach the problem from different angles – one low-tech and one high-tech. At Tangalle, major construction is in progress on a water treatment plant that will triple the supply of piped and treated drinking water to the local area, potentially reaching 12,000 households.

On a different track, Gayanthika, 14, forages down to a spring outside her school in Galle District. She is carrying a small bottle, which she carefully fills with spring water, and then takes another sample from the school well not far away.

The bottle contains chemicals that, when mixed with the water, will give a clear indication if the school’s water sources are polluted by sewage. If the water is contaminated it will turn black and give off an unpleasant, sulphurous smell.

Treatment before drinking
But that isn’t the end of the story, as an animated cartoon called ‘Meena, My Water Is Safe’ makes clear.

The animation, which is part of a widespread educational effort in the region, explains that the water can still be used as long as it’s treated effectively. For example, it can be stored in bottles in direct sunlight for six hours, or boiled for a few minutes.

“There can be harmful germs in the water so we know it’s a good idea to treat it before we drink it,” Gayanthika says.

UNICEF Image
© Video still
Gayanthika checks the water-testing kit bottle – and the sulphurous smell is proof positive that the water is contaminated.

Testing kit proves water is contaminated
Some time later, when the testing kit has done its work, one whiff from the bottle confirms that the well water is polluted, so now Gayanthika and her classmates begin boiling it. A row of plastic bottles, filled with well water, is also laid out in the sun.

UNICEF’s Project Officer for water in Southern Province, Suranga De Silva, has been working with local public health inspectors to spread the word to families. In Matara District, 1,000 families have now had a chance to use the kit.

Daya Kumarasena, a resident of the coastal town of Dickwella, has just drawn some water from her well and is filling a bottle. She asks the health inspector if it really is alright to drink water that has turned black after the test. “So long as it’s treated, you can drink it,” is the response.

She passes through to her kitchen at the back of the house and pours the water into her kettle. Afterwards, she will test it again. “This way, people can find out about their water at home – and they can take their own action,” says Ms. De Silva.


 

 

Video

November 2007:
UNICEF’s Francis Mead reports on projects to make drinking water safe for children in Sri Lanka.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search