斯里兰卡

香港卫星电视台资助斯里兰卡海啸灾区的学校重建

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/2007/Mitani
加姆珀哈的阿润诺岱亚韦迪拉亚学校校长尤加曼加兰.山木加匹莱坐在残留的水泥地基上,这所学校在2004年印度洋海啸中被摧毁。

纯口.米塔尼报道

斯里兰卡加姆珀哈2007年2月27日 - 2004 年12月的印度洋海啸摧毁了位于斯里兰卡东海岸小镇的阿润诺岱亚韦迪拉亚学校。

两年以后的今天,这所学校将由香港卫星电视台通过联合国儿童基金会香港委员会捐助的55万美元重建。

新学校建筑的设计工作将在下个月开始。 联合国儿童基金会驻加姆珀哈的官员苏加司.阿迪卡拉姆说,他们会听取老师、家长和孩子们的意见,并将他们的意见体现在设计方案中。

恶梦般的经历

在访问老校址时,校长尤加曼加兰.山木加匹莱指出三座校舍的所剩下的遗迹:一片空旷的地上有一些水泥地基,这些地方原来是孩子们的学习场所,现在有几头牛在那里站着,期间可以听到海浪与海鸥的声音。

山木加匹莱校长说:“海哮后的第二天早晨,我来到这儿,校舍全没了。课桌、椅子、房顶、文件和所有其它的东西都散得到处都是,我还看到些尸体,然后我就晕倒了。”

海哮夺走了我们学校三个孩子和两位母亲的生命。

孩子们还清楚地记得当时的情景。10岁的纳文达尼.埃米撒林加穆回忆说:“我和一个阿姨呆在一起,我妈出去找我爸爸,他去捕鱼了。 我很害怕,也很担心。”她的父母最终设法找到彼此,但她还是失去了一位阿姨和一位表兄。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/2007/Mitani
10岁的纳文达尼.埃米撒林加穆是阿润诺岱亚韦迪拉亚学校的一名学生,至今还住在为海啸灾民搭建的临时帐蓬里。

临时解决方案

海啸两个月之后,一所临时学校在附近建了起来。 重新开课和恢复孩子们的正常生活成为斯里兰卡海啸紧急救援工作的首要任务之一。

联合国儿童基金会提供了临时的帐篷、书桌、椅子、蓄水箱及教学材料 - 包括书本、铅笔和黑板。 学校还收到了来自其它机构的鞋、校服及娱乐用品。

山木加匹莱校长说:“第一天,只有28名学生来上课;第二天有35名学生到校。一些家长和孩子害怕再来一次海啸,不敢离开他们的临时住所。 我们召开家长会,同时,我们又都参加了一系列心理辅导。  我们后来感觉好多了 - 86名学生又回到课堂。”

步步为营的恢复计划

2006年,联合国儿童基金会支助教育部的岛内28所受灾学校的重建计划。 今年,计划再助建7所学校,其中包括阿润诺岱亚韦迪拉亚小学.

学校校长和教师们都参加了一系列专题培训,包括逃生方法、压力管理、安全饮水与卫生设施及互动教学等。

在加姆珀哈,山木加匹莱校长从孩子们的绘画中看出一些变化。 她说:“孩子们以前,只画有关海啸的画;但最近,他们开始画很多其它的主题。 我们在一步步地恢复。”

今天,纳文达尼悄悄承认说她还是害怕海啸,“我们没有房子了,现在住在为海啸灾民搭建的临时帐篷里。 我们得到一块地来重建家园,但我不想去,因为它太靠近海边,还不如住在避难所。”

纳文达尼又说她还是希望有一所新的永久性的学校,不象临时学校这样,要有一个操场。


 

 

搜索

Sri Lanka

Hong Kong’s Star TV funds school reconstruction in tsunami-affected Sri Lanka

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/2007/Mitani
Principal Yogamangalan Shanmugampillai sitting on the remaining concrete foundation of the Arunodaya Vidyalaya School in Ampara, Sri Lanka, which was destroyed in the Indian Ocean tsunami of 2004.

By Junko Mitani

AMPARA, Sri Lanka, 27 February 2007 – Arunodaya Vidyalaya School in this town on the eastern coast of Sri Lanka was completely destroyed by the Indian Ocean tsunami in December 2004.

Now, more than two years later, the school will be rebuilt thanks to a contribution of $550,000 from the Hong Kong Star TV station through the Hong Kong Committee for UNICEF.

Design of the new school buildings will start next month. UNICEF officer at Ampara Sugath Adikaram says teachers, parents and children will be consulted and their opinions reflected in the design.

Ghosts of the past

On a visit to the old school site, Principal Yogamangalan Shanmugampillai points out all that remains of its three buildings: a concrete foundation standing in a wide open field. In the spot where children used to learn, a couple of cows stand still amidst the sounds of waves and sea gulls.

“The morning after the tsunami, I came here. Our buildings were gone,” Ms. Shanmugampillai says. “Desks, chairs, covers, files and everything else were scattered all over the place. Then I saw some bodies, and I fainted.”

The tsunami killed three children and two mothers from the school.

Children still remember the day vividly. “I was left with an aunt because my mother went to look for my father. He had gone fishing. I was scared and really worried,” recalls Nawendani Amiythalingam, 10. Nawendani’s parents managed to find each other, but she lost another aunt and a cousin to the tsunami.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sri Lanka/2007/Mitani
Nawendani Amiythalingam, 10, a student at the Arunodaya Vidyalaya School, is still living in a temporary camp for people displaced by the tsunami.

Temporary solutions

Two months after the tsunami, a temporary school was opened nearby. Re-opening schools and restoring a sense of normalcy for children was one of the top priorities of Sri Lanka’s tsunami emergency response.

UNICEF provided the temporary building, desks, chairs, a water tank, and learning and teaching materials – including notebooks, pencils and blackboards. The school received shoes, school uniforms and recreation materials from other organizations.

“On the first day, only 28 students came, and the second day, 35 students attended,” says Ms. Shanmugampillai. “Some parents and children were too afraid of another tsunami to leave their shelters. We held parents’ meetings and we all participated in a series of psychosocial programmes. We felt much better afterwards — 86 students came back.”

‘Recovering step-by-step’

In 2006, UNICEF supported the Ministry of Education’s reconstruction of 28 tsunami-affected schools across the island. This year there are plans to help build an additional seven, including the Arunodaya Vidyalaya School.

Principals and teachers have also attended training sessions on topics including evacuation methods, stress management, safe water and sanitation, and interactive teaching.

In Ampara, meanwhile, Ms. Shanmugampillai has observed some changes in children’s drawings. “Children used to draw only about the tsunami,” she says. “But they recently started drawing many other subjects. We are recovering step-by-step.”

Today, Nawendani confesses quietly that she is still afraid of a tsunami. “Our house is gone so we live in one of the camps for tsunami people,” she says. “We received a piece of land to build our new house, but I don’t want to go there because it’s close to the sea. I like living in the camp.”

But Nawendani adds that she looks forward to having a new permanent school, which, unlike the temporary school, will have a playground.


 

 

New enhanced search