西班牙

联合国儿童基金会和巴塞罗那足球俱乐部在新摄影展中积极支持弱势儿童

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0772/Markisz
左起:巴塞罗那足球俱乐部基金会执行主任塞谷(Marta Segú)、巴塞罗那俱乐部主席拉波尔塔(Joan Laporta)、联合国儿童基金会私人筹款和伙伴关系主任奥布莱恩(Philip O'Brien)及联合国儿童基金会驻斯威士兰代表古莱德(Jama Gulaid)在联合国儿童基金会总部宣布摄影展开幕时,展示塞罗那俱乐部队的球衣。

伊丽莎白.基姆报道

美国纽约,2009年6月11日 – 刚刚赢得2009年冠军联赛的巴塞罗那足球俱乐部队,昨天启动一个摄影展,宣传球队的另一项热情–关注感染艾滋病毒的年轻人的生活。

 点击此处观看视频

在纽约联合国儿童基金会总部,巴塞罗那俱乐部主席拉波尔塔(Joan Laporta)和联合国儿童基金会私人筹款和伙伴关系主任奥布莱恩(Philip O'Brien)为名为“斯威士兰孤儿和弱势儿童的生活和希望”的摄影展揭开帷幕。

奥布莱恩先生说:“我认为这巩固了他们自己所做的贡献,并且以公开的方式支持项目,他们做了一件非常正义的好事。”

参展的28张照片全部由派普.波耐特(Pep Bonet)拍摄,展示了联合国儿童基金会在斯威士兰当地的工作。这些照片曾于2007年在巴塞罗那俱乐部的诺坎普体育场展出。

慈善事业的历史

慈善活动历史悠久的巴塞罗那俱乐部基金会,自2006年开始,成为联合国儿童基金会的一个支持者。该俱乐部同意每年向联合国儿童基金会的项目捐款150万欧元(约合190万美元),这个合作关系将持续至2011年。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0770/Markisz
巴塞罗那俱乐部主席拉波尔塔(左)和联合国儿童基金会私人筹款和伙伴关系主任奥布莱恩在纽约联合国儿童基金会总部。

在纽约举行的新闻发布会上,拉波尔塔先生证实,巴塞罗那队的球员将继续穿印有联合国儿童基金会标志的球衣,直至双方的合作关系结束。由于俱乐部的管理层将于2010年换届,他表示,希望新任主席将延续与联合国儿童基金会的合作关系。

拉波尔塔先生还宣布,两年多的成功合作,使他确信可以扩展原协议,允许巴塞罗那的资金在没有项目限制的条件下使用。

奥布莱恩先生说:“只有建立了信任,才能得到这个。”他指出,俱乐部的资金贡献具有显著的作用,但巴塞罗那俱乐部队的影响是无价的。他说:“我永远不会以金钱来量化与巴萨的关系。”

在斯威士兰抗击艾滋病

在与联合国儿童基金会第一年的合作中,巴塞罗那俱乐部所支持的项目帮助了斯威士兰感染艾滋病毒和患艾滋病的儿童,包括这些出现在摄影展照片上的儿童。

斯威士兰是世界上艾滋病毒感染率最高的国家,这个拥有100万人口的国家,有超过5.6万名儿童是艾滋孤儿,还有成千上万人需要帮助、保护和治疗。

为了致力于在斯威士兰抗击艾滋病,巴塞罗那俱乐部投入的努力远超过了金钱和宣传。

联合国儿童基金会驻斯威士兰代表贾马.古莱德(Jama Gulaid)说:“当你拥有朋友的时候,当你得到来自远方的支持的时候,会更加有利于战胜困难,你可以面对并正视问题。巴塞罗那俱乐部不仅送来资金的协助,而且派出代表团来斯威士兰看儿童的现实生活。”

“触动我们的心”

代表团成员包括拉波尔塔先生,当被问及他对摄影展的印象时,他显得很感动。

他说:“看这些照片的时候,让我回忆起我在斯威士兰的亲身经历。能记起我们正在为帮助这些儿童做出的贡献,那感觉非常好,它触动了我们的心。”

这个摄影展将在联合国儿童基金会大楼举办至八月末结束。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年6月10日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员伊丽莎白.基姆报道巴塞罗那足球俱乐部在联合国儿童基金会为摄影展揭幕。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Spain

UNICEF and FC Barcelona champion vulnerable children in new photo exhibit

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0772/Markisz
From left: Fundació FC Barcelona Executive Director Marta Segú, FC Barcelona President Joan Laporta, UNICEF Private Fundraising and Partnerships Director Philip O'Brien and UNICEF Representative in Swaziland Jama Gulaid display FC Barcelona's team jersey while announcing photo exhibit at UNICEF House.

By Elizabeth Kiem

NEW YORK, USA, 11 June 2009 – Fresh from their 2009 Champions League victory, Futbol Club Barcelona yesterday launched a photography exhibition to raise awareness about the team's other passion – the lives of young people living with HIV.

VIDEO: Watch now

The photo display, 'Life and Hopes of Orphans and Vulnerable Children in Swaziland', was unveiled at UNICEF headquarters in New York by FC Barcelona President Joan Laporta and UNICEF Private Fundraising and Partnerships Director Philip O'Brien.

"I think it cements their own view of the contribution they've made in terms of the programmes they're supporting, and does it in a public way," said Mr. O'Brien. "It's a very legitimate and good thing for them to do."

The 28 photos – all shot by Pep Bonet – show UNICEF's work on the ground in Swaziland. They were first displayed in 2007 at FC Barcelona's Camp Nou stadium.

A history of philanthropy

The FC Barcelona Foundation, which has a long history of philanthropic activity, has been a UNICEF supporter since 2006, when the club agreed to donate €1.5 million (about $1.9 million) towards UNICEF's programmes annually. The alliance continues through 2011.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0770/Markisz
FC Barcelona President Joan Laporta (left) and UNICEF Private Fundraising and Partnerships Director Philip O'Brien at UNICEF House in New York.

At the press conference in New York, Mr. Laporta confirmed that the Barcelona players will continue to wear jerseys bearing the UNICEF logo through the end of the partnership. He expressed hope that the new club President, due to take over in 2010, will extend the alliance with UNICEF.

Mr. Laporta also announced that the success of the partnership over two years had convinced him to broaden the agreement, allowing the Barcelona funding to be used without programmatic restrictions.

"You only get that when you've built trust," said Mr. O'Brien, who noted that while the club's financial contribution is significant, the influence of team Barcelona is invaluable. "I would never dream of quantifying the relationship in money terms with Barca," he added.

Fighting AIDS in Swaziland

During the first year of its partnership with UNICEF, FC Barcelona's supported programmes benefiting children affected by HIV and AIDS in Swaziland – including the children featured in the photo exhibit.

Swaziland has the highest rate of HIV infection in the world. More than 56,000 children in this country of 1 million have been orphaned by AIDS. Thousands more are in need of support, protection and treatment.

In committing to the fight against AIDS in Swaziland, FC Barcelona has invested more than money and advocacy.

"When you have friends, when you have got support that comes from far away, then that makes the challenges more manageable and you can face them squarely," said UNICEF Representative in Swaziland Jama Gulaid. "Barcelona not only sent financial assistance but also sent a delegation to see the realities of children in Swaziland."

'It touches our hearts'

Included in that delegation was Mr. Laporta, who, when asked about his own impressions of the photo exhibit, was visibly moved.

"When I am seeing these pictures, I remember my personal experience in Swaziland," he said. "It's really nice to remember that we are contributing to help these kids. It touches our hearts."

The photo exhibit will be on display at UNICEF House until the end of August.


 

 

Video

10 June 2009: UNICEF correspondent Elizabeth Kiem reports on the photo exhibit unveiled at UNICEF by Futbol Club Barcelona.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search