南苏丹共和国

南苏丹儿童敦促加大对残疾儿童的保护力度

俾斯麦.旺因(Bismarck Swangin)报道

南苏丹朱巴,2012年6月20日——南苏丹儿童于6月16日庆祝了“非洲儿童日”。本次纪念主题是“残疾儿童的权利:保护、尊重、宣传和实现的责任”,呼吁增加对残疾儿童的支持。

在南苏丹许多社区,依然存在儿童被拐卖、遭受暴力、营养不良、疾病及文盲等现象,儿童保护的需求日益迫切。针对残疾儿童,被虐待及忽视尤为严重。

© UNICEF Video
视频:南苏丹儿童在今年的“非洲儿童日”期间宣传残疾儿童的权利。  在Realplayer中播放

 

呼吁保护残疾儿童的权利

玛丽.查尔斯(Mary Charles)是一名视障女孩。她在南苏丹亲身体验了残疾儿童所遭遇的歧视。

“有时,父母会送我去上学,然后把我扔在学校很长时间不管。有时,他们一个月都不送我去上学。我想要告诉我的父母,即使是盲人儿童,也有自己的权利。他们应该让我们去上学,像其他孩子一样学习知识。”玛丽说道。

在一次由儿童、父母及政府高级官员出席的活动中,联合国儿童基金会驻南苏丹副代表佩露西.纳塔姆波维奇(Pelucy Ntambirweki)呼吁各界携手扶助南苏丹儿童。

“关注残疾儿童可以进一步提醒人们,我们有责任关注每一名儿童的独特需求。”纳塔姆波维奇夫人说道。

性别、儿童和社会福利部社会福利事务总干事纳森.沃加.皮迪亚(Nathan Wojia Pitia)强调政府及合作伙伴在增加残疾儿童机遇方面所应发挥的作用。“为什么存在歧视残疾儿童的现象?为什么残疾儿童的机遇少得可怜?我们需要确保每一名儿童的需求得到支持和关注。”他说道。

青少年代表传递呼声

米拉亚调频台(Miraya FM)是联合国广播电台主办的一档广播节目。节目组安排15名儿童在“非洲儿童日”当天参与他们的各档节目。此次活动由联合国儿童基金会与儿童乐益会、国际助残及弱势儿童组织(Organization for Vulnerable Children)携手承办。

自始至终,各档节目不断有听众打入电话参与互动。儿童代表们迫切要求家庭、社区及各级政府为所有儿童提供平等的机遇,不论儿童是否存在身体或精神障碍。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
南苏丹儿童在今年的“非洲儿童日”期间宣传残疾儿童的权利。

孩子们在与联合国儿童基金会驻南苏丹代表亚思明.哈克博士交谈时提到,他们经常帮助残疾同龄人过马路,乘坐公交车。在学校时,则帮助残疾同学上厕所。

哈克博士认为,广播节目是确保儿童传递讯息的一个重要平台。

“对南苏丹而言,确保儿童能够使用此论坛[广播电台]反映他们所面临的问题,以便我们之后召集各利益相关方解决相关困难,则显得尤为重要。因此,必须始终确保关注到儿童生活的方方面面。”

《儿童权利公约》及南苏丹于2008年颁布的《儿童法》号召每一个人尊重并宣传所有儿童的所有权利。通过倡导保护儿童权利,并帮助儿童满足基本需求及扩大机遇,联合国儿童基金会正在竭力实现每一名儿童的权利。


 

 

搜索

South Sudan, Republic of

Children in South Sudan urge greater protections for children living with disabilities

By Bismarck Swangin

JUBA, South Sudan, 20 JUNE 2012 – Children in South Sudan marked the Day of the African Child, which took place June 16, by commemorating the theme ’The Rights of Children with Disabilities: The Duty to Protect, Respect, Promote and Fulfill’, which calls for more support for children living with disabilities.

The need for child protection is growing more evident in South Sudan, where child abductions, violence, malnutrition, disease and illiteracy continue to take a toll on communities. And children with disabilities are especially vulnerable to abuse and neglect.

© UNICEF Video
VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Shalin Popat reports on celebrations surrounding the Day of the African Child in South Sudan.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Advocating for their rights

Mary Charles, a visually impaired girl, has experienced first-hand the discrimination confronting children with disabilities in South Sudan.

“Sometimes they will take me to the school and leave me there for a long time. Sometimes they will not take me to school for a month. And my message is going to my parents that even a blind child has rights. They should put us in school so that we can learn like other children," Mary said.

Speaking during an event attended by children, parents and senior officials of the government, Deputy Representative of UNICEF South Sudan Pelucy Ntambirweki called for concerted efforts to alleviate the situation of children in South Sudan.

“The focus on children with disabilities gives a further reminder to us of the responsibility to focus on the unique needs of each child,” said Mrs. Ntambirweki.

Nathan Wojia Pitia, Director General for Social Welfare in the Ministry of Gender, Child and Social Welfare, emphasised the role of government and partners in increasing opportunities for children with disabilities. “Why is there discrimination and very few opportunities for children with disabilities? We need to ensure that every child needs to be supported and cared [for],” he said.

Youth leaders spread the message

Radio Miraya (FM and Shortwave), a UN Radio programme run through a partnership between the UN and Foundation Hirondelle, arranged to have 15 children present their programmes on the Day of the African Child. The event was organized through a UNICEF partnership with Right to Play, Handicap International and the Organization for Vulnerable Children.

Throughout the programmes, which included listeners calling in, the children urged families, communities and the government at all levels to provide equal opportunities to all children despite their physical or mental state.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Children in South Sudan promote the rights of children with disabilities during this year's Day of the African Child.

Speaking with UNICEF Representative in South Sudan Dr. Yasmin Haque, the children said they often help their peers with disabilities, assisting them as they cross roads, get into public transport cars and access the toilets in their school.

Dr. Haque said the radio programme was one crucial platform for ensuring that the children’s message gets across.

"For South Sudan, it is particularly important that we make sure that children are able to use this forum [radio] to put forward the issues they face and for us to then hold the various stakeholders accountable in meeting those challenges. So it has to continue and ensure that all the different facets of a child’s life are addressed."

The 2008 Southern Sudan Child Act and the Convention on the Rights of the Child call upon everybody to respect and promote all rights for all children. By advocating for the protection of children’s rights and by helping children meet their basic needs and expand their opportunities, UNICEF works towards realizing these rights for every child.


 

 

New enhanced search