南非

研究突出气候变化对南非儿童造成的影响

南非比勒陀利亚,2011 年 11 月 28 日 — 除非采取具有儿童敏感性的减缓和适应策略,并迅速加以实施,否则气候变化将使南非儿童变成更脆弱的群体。

视频:南非年轻人分享关于气候变化的观点。 在Realplayer中播放
《探索气候变化对南非儿童的影响》的研究最近对外发布,该研究突出了气候变化对儿童的健康、教育、营养、安全和获取足够住房和卫生设备等方面可能造成的直接和间接影响。

这项研究提供了一系列证据,显示南非年均温度上升,最近几十年来,降雨量略有减少,证明该国气候已经在发生变化。据预计,未来南非各地的温度都将上升,尤其是内陆地区。根据科学模型,南非全国降雨量的变化将会更明显,从而增加发生水灾和旱灾的风险。

优先考虑儿童的福祉

应对气候变化影响的负担将不会均匀分布。儿童占南非总人口的三分之一以上,是气候变化中最脆弱的群体之一。研究表明,许多儿童生命杀手——痢疾、营养不足和疟疾——对气候变化高度敏感。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Pirozzi
南非一名儿童在捡柴火。由联合国儿童基金会支持的一项新研究表明,随着家庭适应不断变化的气候条件,儿童的福祉可能会收到气候变化的影响。

“当前在贫困、艾滋病毒和艾滋病的背景下,气候变化可能使南非儿童变成更脆弱的群体,”联合国儿童基金会驻南非代表阿依达.吉尔马 (Aida Girma) 说。“根据《儿童权利公约》,在气候变化的相关计划和项目中,社会有义务优先考虑儿童的福祉。”

儿童参与至关重要

这项研究还强调,要对气候变化进行有效应对,儿童的参与是非常重要的。尽管儿童的脆弱性不断加剧,他们依然有权利参与规划减缓、适应策略。大多数与气候有关的政策并没有详细调查不断变化的气候条件对儿童造成的特殊影响。

儿童有效地参与应对气候变化,能够帮助制定和改善政策,促进国家应对工作。大多数与气候有关的政策并没有详细调查不断变化的气候条件对儿童造成的特殊影响。

在应对与气候变化相关的问题时,我们需要确保与儿童进行有效沟通。尽管议程已经覆盖了气候变化的各方面,但我们仍然需要做更多工作,才能确保儿童的良好沟通和有效参与。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
随着全球气候变化大会在南非举行,一项新研究显示,南非儿童已经感受到了气候变化的影响。

展望未来

这项研究由联合国儿童基金会、南非妇女、儿童和残疾人部、环境事务部共同进行,为南非应对气候变化提供了多项建议。

*在国家层面,儿童必须被当作一个独特的社会群体,并正式参与制定气候变化政策、促进减少灾害风险的承诺。
*地区和省级政府也需要获得支持,以理解他们的作用和对儿童的责任。
*地区发展计划和其它项目中,应将增强儿童及其家庭适应气候变化的能力放在首要位置。

“联合国儿童基金会将与其合作伙伴共同努力,解决气候变化及其它发展问题造成的、与儿童相关的危害。”吉尔马说。


 

 
搜索

South Africa

Study highlights the impact of climate change on children in South Africa

PRETORIA, South Africa, November 28 2011—Climate change will exacerbate the existing vulnerabilities of children in South Africa, unless mitigation and adaptation strategies are child-sensitive and implemented swiftly.

VIDEO: Young people in South Africa share their thoughts about climate change.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

‘Exploring the Impact of Climate Change on Children in South Africa’ study, made public recently, highlights the likely impact of climate change on children’s health, education, nutrition, safety and access to adequate housing and sanitation in South Africa – both directly and indirectly.

The study presents a body of evidence that South Africa’s climate is already changing, with increases in average annual temperatures and slight decreases in rainfall in recent decades. In the future, all regions of the country are projected to be warmer, particularly inland. According to scientific models, rainfall variability countrywide will increase, with consequences for the incidence of increasing the possibility of flooding and drought.

Prioritising child wellbeing

The burden of dealing with the impact of these changes in climate will not be distributed evenly. Children represent more than a third of South Africa’s population and are one of the social groups most vulnerable to climate change. Research shows that many of the main killers of children—diarrhoea, under-nutrition, and malaria—are highly sensitive to climate.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF South Africa/2011/Pirozzi
A child gathers firewood in Souht Africa. A new UNICEF supported study shows that climate change is likely to impact on children's well-being as families adapt to changing climatic conditions.

“In the context of existing poverty and HIV and AIDS, climate change is likely to deepen the vulnerability of children in South Africa,” said UNICEF Representative in South Africa Aida Girma. “Prioritising child wellbeing in climate change related plans and programmes is our obligation as a society, under the Convention on the Rights of the Child.”

Child participation essential

The study also highlights the importance of children’s participation in designing effective responses to climate change. In spite of their increased vulnerability, children have a right to be involved in the planning of mitigation and adaptation strategies, and most climate change-related policies do not adequately examine the specific impact of changing climatic conditions on children.

Effective participation by children on climate change issues can feed into, and strengthen policy and national response. Most climate change-related policies do not adequately examine the specific impact of changing climatic conditions on children.

There is a need to ensure that issues of climate change are communicated effectively to children. Though aspects of climate change already cut across the curriculum, more is still needed to ensure successful communication and take-up among children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
As international climate change talks begin in South Africa, a new study shows South African children are already feeling its effects.

Looking forward

The study – commissioned by UNICEF in partnership with the Department of Women, Children and People with Disabilities, and the Department of Environmental Affairs – makes several recommendations for South Africa’s climate change response.

  • At the national level, children must be recognised as a unique social group and be formally represented in the climate change policy development and in processes to advance South Africa’s commitment to Disaster Risk Reduction.
  • Local and provincial governments also need to be supported to understand their roles and responsibilities to children.
  • Strengthening the adaptive capacity of children and their families to deal with the impacts of climate change should be prioritised in local-level development plans and other programmes.

“UNICEF is committed to working with partners to ensure that child-related risks associated with climate change, as well as wider development pressures, are addressed,” said Girma.


 

 

New enhanced search