南非

大卫.贝克汉姆访问开普敦母亲保护中心

UNICEF Photo
© Per-Anders Pettersson for UNICEF via Getty Images
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使大卫.贝克汉姆与携带艾滋病毒的塔玛拉和她3岁的儿子瑟斯菲在一起。多亏联合国儿童基金会所支持的“母亲对母亲”中心为他提供了治疗,瑟斯菲出生的时候没有携带艾滋病毒。

南非开普敦,2009年12月9日 – 联合国儿童基金会亲善大使大卫.贝克汉姆本周在南非强调了全球在预防母婴传染艾滋病毒方面所取得的进展。

这位足球明星在百忙之中还抽时间访问了联合国儿童基金会在开普敦卡雅利沙镇一个诊所里支持的项目。在那里,他与携带艾滋病毒的年轻孕妇和新妈妈们见了面并进行了交谈。

母亲们互相支持

联合国儿童基金会支持的“母亲对母亲(M2M)”项目为孕妇和新妈妈们提供培训,教她们如何避免把艾滋病毒传给孩子,以及如何改善自己和孩子的健康。

M2M项目的创始人米奇.贝赛尔(Mitch Besser)博士向贝克汉姆先生介绍了该项目所开展的工作,并告诉他诊所病人所受到的史无前例的照顾和支持。

他还见到了一位携带艾滋病毒的母亲,25岁的塔玛拉(Tamara)。塔玛拉在中心接受了治疗,现在她正在帮助其他处境相同的年轻女性。塔玛拉怀孕五个月的时候开始在诊所接受治疗。多亏了她在那里获得的检测、心理辅导和药物治疗,她今年3岁的的儿子瑟斯菲(Sesiphi)没有感染艾滋病毒。

塔玛拉说男人应该更多地支持怀孕的妻子,这一点很重要。她强调说只有极少数的丈夫和男性伴侣和他们的妻子一起来诊所接受治疗。贝克汉姆先生说:“她告诉我说更多的男人需要支持他们的伴侣接受她们所需要的治疗和照顾。我希望我能尽自己所能帮助塔玛拉传达这一信息,并希望男人们能够听进去并各尽其力。”

预防病毒的传播

每天,在世界上的某一个地方,几乎每一分钟就有一名儿童生下来就携带艾滋病毒。病毒是由他们的母亲在妊娠期或者分娩的时候传染给他们的。最悲哀的是,事实上这一切本来只要用非常廉价的治疗法就可以完全预防。

自从联合国儿童基金会的“携手儿童青少年,携手抗击艾滋病”全球运动于2005年启动以来,世界各国在扩大预防母婴传播艾滋病的治疗方面取得了显著的进展。

2004年, 仅有9%的需要帮助的妇女得到了预防服务,其中包括对妇女和她们伴侣的艾滋检测及心理咨询;母婴获得抗逆转录病毒药物;安全分娩;并在头六个月里建议纯母乳喂养。今天,多达45%的需要治疗的患者能够获得这些服务。

在南非,进展尤其明显。74%的需要治疗的母亲现在正为自己和她们的孩子接受预防服务,而2004年这个比例仅为15%。

贝克汉姆先生说:“在南非这样的国家里,超过五百万的人口携带艾滋病毒,而联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正在那里做出鼓舞人心的努力来帮助避免母亲将病毒传染给她们的新生儿。这给了我们很大的希望。解决办法很便宜、很简单,而且每年可以帮助挽救数十万儿童的生命。儿童们有权利尽可能保持健康,我再想不到比确保婴儿不感染艾滋病毒更重要的事情了。”

UNICEF Photo
© Per-Anders Pettersson for UNICEF via Getty Images
大卫.贝克汉姆所访问的“母亲对母亲”项目正为孕妇和新妈妈们提供至关重要的教育和支持来帮助他们避免将艾滋病毒传给他们的婴儿。

结束羞耻感

虽然取得了进展,但是从携带艾滋病毒的人口的绝对值上看,南非仍然是非洲受艾滋病影响最严重的国家。2009年,据估计有520万南非人口携带艾滋病毒。

在卡雅利沙镇,艾滋感染率明显比全国平均值高很多, 社会经济条件也导致了传染病的蔓延。在结束艾滋患者所遭受的社会耻辱方面还有一些障碍要克服,这些障碍使很多妇女无法获得她们所需要的治疗和照顾来保护自己和她们的孩子。

“我今天遇到的年轻妇女们主动跟我讲她们的故事,并且直言不讳。我很敬佩并尊敬她们,因为她们正努力打破这里的歧视,我也希望别人也能这么做。我希望我的访问能够给他人传达这样一条信息,那就是有关这种疾病的歧视应该现在就结束。”


 

 
搜索

South Africa

David Beckham visits ‘Mothers2Mothers’ centre in Cape Town

UNICEF Image
© Per-Anders Pettersson for UNICEF via Getty Images
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador David Beckham with Tamara, who is living with HIV, and her son Sesiphi, 3, who was born free from HIV due to treatment provided by the UNICEF-supported 'Mothers2Mothers' centre.

CAPE TOWN, South Africa, 9 December 2009 – UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador David Beckham was in South Africa this week to highlight the global progress that has been made on preventing Mother-to-Child Transmission (PMTC) of HIV.

During his busy stay, the football star visited a UNICEF-supported programme in a clinic in Cape Town's Khayelitsha Township, where he met and talked to pregnant young women and new mothers who are living with HIV.

Mothers supporting each other
The UNICEF-supported ‘Mothers2Mothers’ (M2M) programme provides vital education that helps pregnant women and new mothers prevent HIV transmission to their babies. It also gives them the knowledge they need to improve their own health and that of their children.

Mr. Beckham was introduced to the work of the programme by Dr. Mitch Besser, the founder of M2M, who told him about the ground-breaking care and support that the clinic's patients receive.

He also met Tamara, 25, a mother living with HIV, who received treatment at the centre and now supports other young women in similar circumstances. Tamara started her treatment at the clinic when she was five months pregnant. Thanks to the testing, counselling and medication she received there, her son Sesiphi, now three, was born free from HIV.

Tamara said it was important for men to get more involved in supporting their pregnant wives, noting that too few husbands and male partners join their wives at the clinic. “She told me that more men need to support their partners to get the treatment and care they need,” said Mr. Beckham. “I hope that I can do my bit to help promote this message from Tamara, and that men out there hear this and do their bit."

Preventing transmission
Almost every minute of every day, a baby is born with HIV somewhere in the world, passed on by his or her mother during pregnancy or labour and delivery. The great tragedy is that with simple inexpensive treatments, mother-to-child transmission of HIV is almost entirely preventable.

Since the launch of UNICEF's global ‘Unite for Children, Unite against AIDS’ campaign in 2005, there has been significant progress in scaling up care and treatment to prevent mother-to-child transmission.

In 2004, just 9 per cent of women in need had access to prevention services, which include HIV testing and counselling for women and their partners; access to anti-retroviral medicine for mother and baby; use of safe birthing practices; and advice on exclusive breastfeeding during the first six months. Today, up to 45 per cent who need care and treatment can get it. 

In South Africa, progress is particularly evident, with 74 per cent of mothers who need treatment now receiving it for themselves and their babies, compared to just 15 per cent in 2004.

"It gives me such hope that in a country like South Africa, where over 5 million people are living with HIV, this inspiring work is being done by UNICEF and their partners to help prevent the virus passing from pregnant mothers to their newborn children,” said Mr. Beckham. “The solution is cheap and it’s simple and can help save the lives of hundreds of thousands of children each year. Children have a right to be as healthy as possible, and I can think of no better thing than ensuring babies are born free from HIV."

 

UNICEF Image
© Per-Anders Pettersson for UNICEF via Getty Images
The Mothers2Mothers programme visited by David Beckham in South Africa is providing pregnant women and new mothers with vital education and support that helps to prevent them passing HIV on to their babies.

Ending stigma
Despite progress, South Africa remains the hardest hit country in Africa – in absolute numbers – in terms of people living with HIV/AIDS. In 2009, an estimated 5.2 million South Africans are living with HIV.

In Khayelitsha Township, infection rates are significantly higher than the national average, and socio-economic conditions contribute to the spread of communicable diseases. There is still a barrier to overcome in terms of social stigma against people living with disease, which prevents many women from getting the treatment and care they need to protect themselves and their babies.

"The young women I met today came forward to tell their stories and talk openly to me," Mr. Beckham said at the end of his visit. "I admire and respect them for trying to break the stigma here and hope that others begin to do the same. I hope that my visit ... can send a message to others that stigma around this virus needs to end now."


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search