南非

南非艾滋病青年活动家莎比.恩古巴内辞世,时年24岁

UNICEF Photo: Thembi Ngubane
© Thembi Ngubane/2009
莎比.恩古巴内是为促进艾滋病携带者权益而不懈努力的倡导者。

南非开普敦, 2009年6月12日 – 抗击艾滋病活动家和数码日记作者莎比.恩古巴内于上周四辞世,时年24岁。 莎比生前是促进艾滋病携带者治疗和预防的积极力量及不懈努力的倡导者。她的葬礼将于明天在南非举行。

 点击此处收听音频

2006年,美国全国公共广播电台“电台日记”节目制片人,乔里.奇曼(Joe Richman )鼓励莎比在全国公共广播电台的节目《全面考虑》(All Things Considered)中以日记的形式描述她作为艾滋病毒携带者的日常生活。通过日记,莎比分享了她日常生活中为应对艾滋病所学到的所有知识,并以一种开放、温柔、幽默的方式体现,为成千上万受到艾滋病毒和艾滋病影响的人们带来希望并给予支持。

2006年,在联合国儿童基金会纽约总部访问期间,莎比还谈到了南非艾滋病携带者的生活状况。事实上,过去几年中联合国儿童基金会非常有幸能够得到莎比对若干倡议的支持。

在印度参加影片摄制

2007年,她前往印度参与联合国儿童基金会纪录片《艾滋病时代的爱情(和婴儿)》的摄制。影片讲述了全球不同国家中感染了艾滋病毒的年轻妇女在生活中的挣扎与希望。

UNICEF Photo: Thembi Ngubane
© UNICEF/NYHQ2006-1376/ Pirozzi
莎比.恩古巴内和她的男友麦力克合亚.普目拉(Melikhaya Mpumela)及他们的女儿在南非开普敦小镇Khayelitsa的家外。

在印度的旅行中,莎比告诉一位联合国儿童基金会的工作人员:“艾滋病不会让我倒下。我有很多想做的事。我只想让我的生命不断前行。”

2007年,她对参加德国青少年峰会的年轻人提出了艾滋病毒/艾滋病的问题,其中大多数人从来没有见过任何艾滋病毒携带者。她发言时不用手稿,直接道出心声,充满了魅力并令人难忘。

“莎比,我们听到了你的声音”

乔里奇曼对电台日记的支持者们讲述了所知的莎比:

“莎比几乎每天都会想到死亡。然而,她是我见过的最活泼的一个人。她有时问我为什么选择她制作有关她生活的音频日记。但我总觉得好像是她选择了我。

“莎比为我,和我们许多人上了一堂课,告诉我们要有勇气面对无论好坏的各种生活挑战。当大多数南非人还对该流行病保持缄默时,她勇敢和公开承认了自己为艾滋病携带者。她认为应该是病毒惧怕她,而不是她怕病毒。她画了不少自身病毒的图片。在镜子中与它们聊天。她还对这些病毒发号施令。虽然莎比过了短暂的一生。但从任何角度看这又是完整的一生。她有一个孩子。她的长期男友Melikhaya成为她情趣相投的精神伴侣。

“现在,我们对统计数字都非常的熟悉。每天有5000多人死于艾滋病。然而,我们从没想过莎比会成为他们中的一个。莎比伟大的雄心壮志已被人们所见所闻。她认为重要的是要大声疾呼反对羞辱和歧视。而且恐惧感也更激励着她:她不想隐姓埋名,或被遗忘。

“莎比,我们听到了你的心声。我们怀念你。”


 

 

音频(英文)

 2006年4月:
联合国儿童基金会电台的记者布鲁.切维尼报道莎比.恩古巴内2006年对联合国儿童基金会丹尼凯中心的访问,她的电台日记及对艾滋病的认识过程。
音频 播放

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

South Africa

South African AIDS youth activist Thembi Ngubane dies at 24

UNICEF Image: Thembi Ngubane
© Thembi Ngubane/2009
Thembi Ngubane was a tireless advocate for people living with AIDS.

CAPE TOWN, South Africa, 12 June 2009 – AIDS activist and Digital Diarist Thembi Ngubane died last Thursday at the age of 24. Thembi was a uniquely positive force and a tireless campaigner for people living with HIV. Her funeral will take place in South Africa tomorrow.

AUDIO: Listen now

In 2006, Joe Richman – a producer with the Radio Diaries project of National Public Radio in the US – encouraged Thembi to describe her life with HIV in the form of a diary on the NPR programme, 'All Things Considered'. Through her diaries, Thembi shared all she had learned about coping with HIV in her daily life in an open, gentle and humorous manner, offering hope and support to thousands of people affected by HIV and AIDS.

Thembi also spoke about living with HIV in South Africa during a visit to UNICEF headquarters in New York in 2006. In fact, UNICEF was lucky enough to have Thembi's support for several initiatives over the last few years.

Film shot in India

In 2007, she travelled to India to work with UNICEF on the documentary film, ‘Love (and Babies) in the Time of AIDS’. The film tells relates the struggles and hopes of young women living with the virus in different countries, oceans apart.

UNICEF Image: Thembi Ngubane
© UNICEF/NYHQ2006-1376/ Pirozzi
Thembi Ngubane and her boyfriend Melikhaya Mpumela stand with their daughter outside Thembi's home in the township of Khayelitsa in Cape Town, South Africa.

During the trip to India, Thembi told a UNICEF staff member: “AIDS is not going to get me down. There are a lot of things I want to do. I am just going to get on with my life.”

In 2007, she presented the issue of HIV/AIDS to young people attending the Junior 8 Summit in Germany, most of whom had never met anyone living with HIV. She spoke without a script, straight from her heart, and was captivating and unforgettable.

'Thembi, we heard you'

Joe Richman described her in a message to Radio Diaries’ supporters:

“Thembi thought about death almost every day. Yet she was the most alive person I've ever met. She sometimes asked me why I chose her to do an audio diary about her life. But I feel like she chose me.

“Thembi gave me, and many of us, a lesson in courage and in embracing the craziness of life – good and bad. She was brave and open about living with AIDS at a time when most South Africans were quiet about the epidemic. She thought the virus should be scared of her, rather than the other way around. She drew pictures of her virus. She talked to it in the mirror. She gave it orders. Thembi had a short life. But it was a full one by any measure. She had a child. She found a soul mate in her long-time boyfriend, Melikhaya.

“By now, we are all so familiar with the statistics. More than 5,000 people die every day from AIDS. Somehow, it never seemed Thembi would be one of them. Thembi embodied great ambition to be heard and seen. She thought it was important to speak out against stigma and discrimination. But she was also motivated by fear: she didn't want to be anonymous, or forgotten.

“Thembi, we heard you. And we miss you.”


 

 

Audio

April 2006:
UNICEF Radio correspondent Blue Chevigny reports on Thembi Ngubane’s 2006 visit to UNICEF’s Danny Kaye Centre, her radio diary and her AIDS awareness tour.
AUDIO listen

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search