索马里

联合国儿童基金会与日本支持为索马里的弱势儿童改善教育和保健

麦克.普兰兹报道

索马里布劳,2011年1月13日-老师费萨尔.艾哈迈德(Faisal Ahmed)从黑板前转过身来问他班上好学的学生们有关平方米和立方米的概念。坐在前面第三排的希巴克.阿布迪拉曼(Hibaq Abdirahman)低头看了一眼放在她桌上的数学课本,然后举起手来解释面积和体积的区别。

视频:联合国儿童基金会驻索马里新闻处主任丹尼斯.谢泼德-约翰逊报道联合国儿童基金会与日本政府支持改善索马里弱势儿童的教育和保健的努力。 在Realplayer中播放

当14岁的希巴克还是个婴儿的时候,她的家人回到了索马里兰,住在距离布劳12公里处的流离失所难民营。他们曾经从家乡的战争中逃难到邻国埃塞俄比亚,并在那里住了四年。

希巴克的母亲哈里马. 艾哈迈德(Halima Ahmed)说:“我们刚到的时候,这里什么都没有。没有学校–第一节课是在树下上的。现在可是完全不一样了。”

提供课本

阿布杜卡迪尔. 库萨尔小学离希巴克的家走路只有五分钟的路程。学校的操场周围建有四座一层的大楼。在10年前曾经一片荒芜的土地上,现在有七间教室,可供424名年龄在7岁至15岁的男孩和女孩上课。12位授课教师的工资由联合国儿童基金会资助的激励机制提供。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Somalia/2010/Pflanz
14岁的希巴克.阿布迪拉曼(Hibaq Abdirahman)在索马里西北部索马里兰布劳附近的库萨尔小学上数学课时面带微笑。

在艾哈迈德先生的数学课上,22名男生和女生共用12本辅助学习的课本。老师说:“这可以让我们教得更快、更多。”

在学校操场对面的仓库里,书架上放满了数学、阿拉伯语、索马里语、宗教研究和社会科学的教科书。足球被放在一个角落里,旁边是跳绳和充气地球仪。粉笔和笔记本被整齐地放在旁边的一个桌子上。

为最弱势的儿童提供教育

自2002年以来担任库萨尔学校校长的阿里.阿卜杜拉.易卜拉欣(Ali Abdullahi Ibrahim)说:“你要看到住在这里的人都是最弱势的人口。他们中的一些人甚至都无法为上学的孩子买一根铅笔或者一本笔记本。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Somalia/2010/Pflanz
男孩们在索马里兰布劳附近的库萨尔小学上数学课。

学校大部分的基本用品都是日本政府资助的。自2009年以来,日本一直支持联合国儿童基金会改善索马里弱势和流离失所社区的努力,包括提供基本教育。

索马里全国超过40万名学龄儿童和1万多名教师受益于日本捐助的学习材料。

“慷慨的捐助”

联合国儿童基金会驻索马里教育处主任梅特.诺德斯特兰德(Mette Nordstrand)说:“索马里的学校甚至缺乏最基本的教学用品,如练习册、粉笔和娱乐用品等,从而帮助小学教师提供以儿童为中心的教育。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Somalia/2010/Pflanz
联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织在索马里兰的贝尔村支持开展儿童健康日活动。图中是工作人员在准备疫苗。

诺德斯特兰德女士说:“但是最近,感谢各捐助者的慷慨捐助,联合国儿童基金会能够为索马里70%的学校儿童提供这样的必需品。这样,教学质量得到了改善,教育成本降低,越来越多的儿童-尤其是女孩-可以去上学。”

希巴克(Hibaq)说:“现在我可以看到我能够学到更多的知识。我想上大学,我要成为一名医生帮助我社区里的人们。”

必要的保健服务

在一个基本保健服务匮乏的国家,联合国儿童基金会为全国的初级保健设施提供必要的药物和疫苗,同时还开展各项健康宣传活动,旨在帮助这个游牧社会中最偏远的社区。

|从希巴克的学校向东南方向开车一个小时,然后沿着土路走45分钟就可以到达有250个住户的贝尔村。最近的一天下午,索马里兰卫生部的十多名工作人员来到这里帮助排队参加一年两次的儿童健康日活动的母亲和她们的婴儿。

在这个联合国儿童基金会-世界卫生组织的倡议下,五岁以下的儿童们接受了严重营养不良的检查,并在必要的情况下被转移到当地的治疗项目接受治疗。另外:

  • 儿童接种了麻疹、白喉、百日咳、破伤风和脊髓灰质炎的疫苗
  • 提供口服补液盐(ORS)以预防腹泻脱水,分发净水片以确保水质安全
  • 为母亲提供最佳保健做法的建议。

2010年日本政府提供的捐款帮助联合国儿童基金会提供储存疫苗的冷藏设备,并在儿童健康日分发疫苗、口服补液盐和净水片。


 

 

回到正轨

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

Somalia

UNICEF and Japan support improved education and health for vulnerable Somali children

By Mike Pflanz

BURAO, Somalia, 13 January 2011 – Teacher Faisal Ahmed turns from the blackboard and asks his class of eager teenagers about metres squared and metres cubed. In the third row from the front, Hibaq Abdirahman glances down at the math textbook on the desk before her, then shoots her hand up to explain the difference between area and volume.

VIDEO: UNICEF Somalia Chief of Communication Denise Shepherd-Johnson reports on steps supported by UNICEF and the Government of Japan to improve education and health care for vulnerable Somali children.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

When Hibaq, 14, was a baby, her family returned here to Somaliland, settling in a camp for displaced people 12 km from the city of Burao. They had spent four years in neighbouring Ethiopia as refugees from war in their homeland.

“When we arrived, there was nothing at this place. There were no schools – the first class was under a tree,” explains Hibaq’s mother, Halima Ahmed. “Now, it is very different.”

Textbooks provided

Abdulqadir Koosaar Primary School, composed of four single-storey buildings arranged around a wide playground, is only a five-minute walk from Hibaq’s home. On land that was empty scrub a decade ago, there are now seven classrooms for 424 boys and girls aged 7 to 15. Classes are taught by 12 teachers whose salaries are paid with support from a UNICEF-funded incentive scheme.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Somalia/2010/Pflanz
Hibaq Abdirahman, 14, smiles during a math lesson at Koosaar Primary School near Burao, Somaliland, in north-western Somalia.

In Mr. Ahmed’s math class, 22 boys and girls share a dozen textbooks that facilitate learning. “It allows us to move quickly and to learn more,” the teacher says.

In the school storeroom across the playground, the shelves are lined with math, Arabic, Somali, religious studies and social sciences textbooks. Footballs are gathered in a corner, next to skipping ropes and inflatable globes. Chalk and notebooks are stacked neatly on a table nearby.

Education for the most vulnerable

“You must realize that the people living here are among the most vulnerable. Some cannot afford even a pencil or a notebook for their children at school,” says Ali Abdullahi Ibrahim, headmaster at Koosaar since 2002.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Somalia/2010/Pflanz
Boys learn math in a class at Koosaar Primary School near Burao, Somaliland.

Most of the essential supplies at the school are supplied with funding from the Government of Japan. Since 2009, Japan has supported UNICEF’s efforts to improve services for vulnerable and displaced communities in Somalia, including access to basic education.

More than 400,000 school-age children and over 10,000 teachers across Somalia have benefited from materials provided through Japan’s contributions.

‘Generous contributions’

"Schools in Somalia lack even the most basic teaching and learning supplies, such as exercise books, chalk and recreational items that help teachers to provide child-centred education in primary schools," notes UNICEF Somalia Chief of Education Mette Nordstrand.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Somalia/2010/Pflanz
Vaccines are prepared during a UNICEF- and World Health Organization-supported Child Health Days campaign in Be'er village, Somaliland.

"But recently, thanks to generous contributions from donors, UNICEF has been able to provide such essential supplies to about 70 per cent of school children in the country. As a result, the quality of education has improved and more children – girls in particular – were able to go to school because of the reduced cost of education," adds Ms. Nordstrand.

“Now I can see that I can learn more,” says Hibaq. “I want to go to university, and my choice is to be a doctor to help people in my community.”

Essential health services
In a country where basic health care is also scarce, UNICEF provides essential drugs and vaccines to a nationwide network of primary health facilities – along with health outreach initiatives that help the most remote communities in this society of nomadic herders.

An hour’s drive south-east of Hibaq’s school, and then 45 minutes’ walk along dusty paths, lies the village of Be’er, home to some 250 families. One recent afternoon, a dozen staff from the Somaliland Ministry of Health gathered to help a queue of mothers and their babies waiting for a twice-yearly Child Health Days campaign.

Under this UNICEF-World Health Organization initiative, children under five are tested for severe malnutrition, and referrals to local treatment programmes arranged where necessary. In addition:

  • Children are immunized against measles, diphtheria, whooping cough, tetanus and polio
  • Oral rehydration salts (ORS), used to prevent diarrhoeal dehydration, and purification tablets to ensure safe water are distributed
  • And mothers are advised on best health practices.

Contributions from the Government of Japan in 2010 helped UNICEF provide refrigeration and equipment for storing and preserving vaccines, as well as the vaccines themselves, ORS and water-purification tablets distributed during Child Health Days.


 

 

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search