索马里

公私合作为索马里社区提供可持续的安全用水

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Somalia/2009
在索马里西北部的伯贝拉,阿米娜.法拉在贾马拉耶流离失所人口安置处工作,她负责维护那里的供水站。

伊曼.莫鲁卡报道

2009年9月28日,索马里伯贝拉 – 建于19世纪的残破的城市供水系统一直为索马里西北部的沿海城市伯贝拉的居民供应量少质差的用水。直到最近,情况才有所改观。

 点击此处观看视频

由于缺乏恰当的供水设施和系统,整个索马里只有29%的人口能够获得安全用水。这种情况造成了水媒疾病的传播,五岁以下的儿童们受到严重的影响。

供水系统得到修复

为了解决伯贝拉的供水问题,联合国儿童基金会利用欧盟提供的资金支持恢复并扩建现有的供水系统。这个项目包括清洁并保护伯贝拉的杜巴(Dubar)温泉水源和钻孔。为了防止污染,还修缮了伯贝拉的污水收集井和主要的收集室。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Somalia/2009
在索马里西北部伯贝拉的贾马拉耶流离失所人口安置处,负责看护供水站的阿米娜.法拉(左)递给当地居民装满了洁净水的罐子。

伯贝拉的水务局管理人阿卜杜拉赫曼.阿尔坦(Abderahman Artan)说,陈旧的水管已经破裂了,有些水管则完全被堵住了。

他强调说:“杜巴温泉三分之一的泉水无法到达城市,导致水资源匮乏。但是自从更换了新的水管,水可以很顺利地流到城市,我也从不需要更换水管。”

援助流离失所人口

在伯贝拉的贾马拉耶流离失所人口安置处建造了三个新的供水站,使在那里生活的居民们也从这个项目中获益。在此之前,在该地区生活的很多儿童和妇女上午无法去上学或者去早市,因为他们不得不花好几个小时的时间寻找安全用水。

联合国儿童基金会驻索马里水和卫生官员奥斯曼.艾哈迈德(Osman Ahmed)说:“我们将3500米长的水管延伸至城市的东边,那里的流离失所人口安置处缺少供水。这个项目的目的之一是为那些无法到达供水点的被边缘化的[家庭]提供用水。”

这些供水站由像阿米娜.法拉(Amina Farah)这样的社区居民管理。她是四个孩子的母亲,在贾马拉耶流离失所人口安置处已经生活了四年了。作为供水站的看守人,法拉女士负责卖水并确保供水设施被恰当地使用。她每卖20公升水可以赚到300先令,其中250先令要交给水务局作为管理费,剩下的钱可以归她自己所有。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
索马里西北部伯贝拉的贾马拉耶流离失所人口安置处的一名小女孩。

法拉女士说:“虽然这点微薄的收入并不多,但它可以供我给家人买食物和其他的生活必需品。在这个供水站建成之前,我们要花很多时间寻找水源,我的孩子们又饿又渴地等我打水回来。不管是我还是我的丈夫去打水,我们都会遇到问题。多亏有了这些给我们送来的水,现在我们再也不用发愁了。”

创新的合作伙伴关系

新修复的供水系统是以公私部门合作的手段来管理的,其中涉及社区、水务局和私营部门,旨在确保提供可持续的服务。专为这个项目成立的水务董事会代表了各利益攸关方并帮助监督和改善水管理体系。

联合国儿童基金会和欧盟于1997年在索马里推行了这一手段。自那以后,几个其他的主要捐赠者加入其中以支持类似的项目。到现在共实施了10个这样的项目,为索马里全国的社区提供安全用水。

欧盟驻索马里特使乔治-马克.安德烈(Georges-Marc Andre)说:“我们与联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴关系一直以来都非常具有建设性和创新性,我们努力在供水方面结合私营和公共部门的利益。”

他还补充说:“自1995年以来,欧盟就一直在索马里支持供水项目,总共投资了两千万欧元,并帮助改善了该国一百多万人口的生活状况。我期待继续与联合国儿童基金会开展合作。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会的丹尼斯.谢菲尔德-约翰逊就改善了索马里西北部伯贝拉安全用水供给渠道的公私合作进行了报道。.

 视频  

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Somalia

Public-private partnerships bring sustainable, safe water to Somali communities

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Somalia/2009
In Berbera, north-west Somalia, Amina Farah works as caretaker of the water kiosk at the Jamalaaye settlement for the displaced.

By Iman Morooka

BERBERA, Somalia, 28 September 2009 – Until recently, a run-down urban water system dating from the 19th century delivered scant, low-quality water to the residents of Berbera, a coastal town in north-west Somalia. But that has changed recently.

 VIDEO: Watch now

In Somalia as a whole, only 29 per cent of the population has access to safe water, due to the lack of adequate water supply facilities and systems. Children under the age of five bear the brunt of the water-borne diseases that result from this situation.

Water system repaired

To address the problem in Berbera, UNICEF – with funding from the European Union – supported the rehabilitation and expansion of the existing water system. The project included the cleaning and protection of the town’s Dubar Springs water source and boreholes. The collection wells and main collection chamber for Berbera were also repaired to guard against contamination.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Somalia/2009
At the Jamalaaye settlement for displaced people in Berbera, north-west Somalia, water kiosk caretaker Amina Farah (left) hands residents jerry cans filled with safe water.

The manager of the Water Authority in Berbera, Abderahman Artan, says the old pipes were cracked, and some were completely blocked.

“One third of water from Dubar Springs nearly didn’t reach the town, causing scarcity of water,” he notes. “But since the replacement of old pipes, water runs smoothly to the town, and I’ve never had to change a pipe.”

Aid for the displaced

Through the construction of three new water kiosks in Jamalaaye, a settlement area for the displaced population living in Berbera, these residents also have benefitted from the project. Previously, many children and women in the area were unable to get to school or to market in the mornings because they had to spend hours searching for safe water. 

“We extended a 3.5 km pipeline to the eastern part of the town, where there was shortage of water in the [displaced persons] settlements,” said UNICEF Somalia Water and Sanitation Officer Osman Ahmed. “One purpose of this project was to avail water for those marginalized [families] who couldn’t reach water points.”

The water kiosks are run by community residents such as Amina Farah, a mother of four who has been living in the Jamalaaye settlement for four years. Serving as a kiosk caretaker, Ms. Farah sells water and ensures that the facility is used properly. Of the 300 shillings that she collects in exchange for each 20 litres of water, 250 shillings goes to the Water Authority for managing the system, while she keeps the rest. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
A young girl in the Jamalaaye settlement for the displaced population in Berbera, north-west Somalia.

“Although this income is not much, it helps me buy food and other necessary items for my family,” said Ms. Farah. “Before having this kiosk, we used to spend a lot of time in search of water, and my children got tired and thirsty while waiting for me. Whether it was me or my husband who fetched water, we had problems. But not anymore, thanks to the water that was brought to us.”

Innovative partnership

The newly rehabilitated water system is managed under the public-private partnership approach, which involves the community, the Water Authority and the private sector in ensuring sustainable service delivery. The water board, which was established specifically for this project, represents the various stakeholders and helps monitor and improve the water management system.

UNICEF and the European Union introduced this approach in Somalia in 1997. Since then, several other key donors have come on board to support similar projects. Today, 10 such projects being implemented to bring safe water to Somali communities across the country.

“Our partnership with UNICEF has been very constructive and innovative, in the sense that it has been working by mixing the private and public interests into the water sector,” says European Union Special Envoy to Somalia Georges-Marc Andre.

“The European Union has been supporting water projects in Somalia since 1995, investing a total of €20 million, and helped improve the situation of more than 1 million people in the country,” he adds. “I look forward to continued collaboration with UNICEF.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF’s Denise Shepherd-Johnson reports on a public-private partnership that has improved access to safe water in Berbera, north-west Somalia.

 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search