索马里

为索马里脆弱儿童开展的随时可用的食品分发活动

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/Ysenburg
联合国儿童基金会第一次在索马里大范围地分发Plumpy’doz,旨在帮助超过12万名年龄在6个月到36个月之间的脆弱儿童。

狄尔曼.莫鲁卡报道

索马里博萨索和伯贝拉,2009年3月16日–在位于索马里东北部的博萨索的布洛民基斯国内流离失所人口营地,儿童和照顾他们的人聚到一起领取Plumpy’doz,即一种可以帮助脆弱的儿童预防营养不良的新一代的随时可用的食品。

索马里数以万计的人口因持续的冲突、干旱和失去牲口而流离失所,他们其中的一些人逃难到博萨索。那里还是全国流离失所人口以及接纳他们的社区营养不良现象最严重的地区。

索马里的营养不良一直以来都处于紧急状态的门槛外。预计2009年将有30万儿童营养不良,其中三分之一严重营养不良。联合国儿童基金会正在该国第一次大范围地的分发Plumpy’doz,帮助超过12万名年龄在6个月到36个月之间的脆弱儿童。

在博萨索,流离失所人口营地中的大约1万名儿童获得了帮助。

提供Plumpy’doz以保证儿童的健康

联合国儿童基金会驻索马里办事处健康和营养处主任苏拉亚.达利尔(Suraya Dalil)博士说: “每天喂三次Plumpy’doz,每次一茶匙,就可以让儿童们获得必不可少的矿物质、维他命、高质量的蛋白质和脂肪,以促进生长发育和构建健康的免疫系统,与此同时增添额外的卡路里和能量。”

达利尔先生补充说道:“分发Plumpy’doz可以补充现有的食品供给,以确保所有的儿童都能获得必要的营养以预防营养不良的发生或者再发生。”

一旦加入这个项目,有幼儿的家庭可以持续8个月获得Plumpy’doz,以及Aquatab净水片和用于治疗腹泻脱水的口服补水盐。

对社区至关重要

在索马里西北部的真玛拉耶营地,2月的最后一周为500个家庭分发了Plumpy’doz 。最近的调查显示,索马里西北部沿海社区中患有营养不良的儿童的数量已经达到了惊人的水平。

在今后的8个月中,西北部大约1万名儿童将受益于这个项目。

真玛拉耶妇幼保健中心的主管、护士佐渡.贾马.亚当(Sado Jama Adam)说食品分发运动对社区至关重要。她说:“这将给真玛拉耶地区很大的帮助,那里很多穷人无法谋生。妇幼保健中心可以为他们提供服务以帮助他们的孩子,比如这个[食品] 分发项目,以及食疗和免疫方案。”

科萨尔.贾马.迈尔(Kowsar Jama Mire)是三个孩子的母亲。干旱使她失去了所有的牲口,自那以后她就一直和孩子生活在真玛拉耶营地里。她说:“我没有丈夫可以养家,我也没有工作。食品援助是唯一可以喂养孩子的食物来源。我们一开始就没有什么家当,然后干旱又夺走了我们的一切。”

治疗和可预防性措施

由于索马里日益恶化的安全环境,再加上人道主义机构的空间也逐渐萎缩,开展这样大范围的活动是非常有挑战性的。

联合国儿童基金会紧急项目主任路易.乔治.阿瑟诺(Louis-Georges Arsenault)最近考察了联合国儿童基金会在索马里资助的项目,他说:“虽然这个倡议是劳动密集型的而且成本昂贵,但是我们相信在极端的情况下,如索马里现在的局势,这是我们必须要做的。”

在营养不良率持高不下的情况下,这一新的倡议为联合国儿童基金会在该国全国范围内开展的食疗项目做了补充,以帮助更多营养不良的儿童。丹麦、英国和美国政府以及多方捐助中央应急基金的资助使该活动得以成功开展,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正通过这个活动采取行动治疗并预防儿童营养不良。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年2月:联合国儿童基金会通讯员艾米.本内特报道在索马里分发Plumpy’doz 以预防青少年营养不良。

 视频:  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Somalia

Ready-to-use food distribution campaign for vulnerable children in Somalia

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Ysenburg
UNICEF is distributing Plumpy’doz for the first time on a large scale across Somalia in an effort to reach more than 120,000 vulnerable children between the ages of 6 months and 36 months.

By Iman Morooka

BOSSASO AND BERBERA, Somalia, 16 March 2009 – At Buulo Mingis camp for the internally displaced people, located in Bossaso, in the north-east zone of Somalia, children and their caregivers have gathered to receive rations of Plumpy’doz, the latest generation of a ready-to-use food to prevent malnutrition among vulnerable children.

VIDEO: Watch now

Bossaso is one of the places in Somalia where tens of thousands of people displaced by ongoing conflict, drought and loss of livestock have sought refuge. It is also home to some of the country’s worst rates of malnutrition among both the displaced and host communities.

Malnutrition remains consistently and significantly above the emergency threshold in Somalia, with over 300,000 children are expected to be malnourished during 2009, a third of them severely malnourished. UNICEF is distributing Plumpy’doz for the first time on a large scale across the country, reaching more than 120,000 of the most vulnerable children between the ages of 6 months and 36 months.

In Bossaso, about 10,000 children in the camps for the displaced are being reached.

Ensuring child health with Plumpy’doz

“For three teaspoons of Plumpy’doz three times a day, each young child will receive all essential minerals, vitamins, high-quality protein and fats that are required to ensure growth and a healthy immune system, as well as additional calories and energy,” said UNICEF Somalia’s Chief of the Health and Nutrition, Dr. Suraya Dalil.

“Distribution of Plumpy’doz complements the available food assistance, to ensure that children receive all necessary nutrients to prevent occurring and recurring of malnutrition,” Dr. Dalil added.

Once enrolled in the programme, families with young children receive Plumpy’doz for eight months, in addition to Aquatab water-purification tablets and oral rehydration salts for the management of diarrhoeal dehydration.

Crucial for the community

At Jamalaaye camp in north-west Somalia, Plumpy’doz was distributed to 500 families during the last week of February. According to recent surveys, coastal communities in north-west Somalia are among the areas where levels of child malnutrition are alarmingly high.

For the next eight months, about 10,000 children in the north-west zone will benefit from the programme.

According to nurse Sado Jama Adam, who heads the Maternal and Child Health Centre in Jamalaaye, the food distribution campaign is crucial for the community. “This will help the Jamalaaye area, where there are so many poor people who lost their livelihood,” said the nurse. “At the Maternal and Child Health Centre, they are provided with services that help their children, such as this [food] distribution scheme, as well as the therapeutic feeding programme and immunization”.

Kowsar Jama Mire, a mother of three, has been living in Jamalaaye camp with her children after losing all her livestock after the drought. “I don’t have a husband who can provide for the family and I don’t have a job. Food assistance is my only source to feed my children,” she said. “We had very little to begin with, then we lost everything because of the drought.”

Treatment and preventative measures

With the deteriorating security environment in Somalia and shrinking space for the operation of humanitarian agencies, the implementation of such a large-scale campaign is challenging.

“Although this initiative is labour-intensive and costly, we believe that in extreme situations like Somalia, this is what we need to do,” said UNICEF Director of Emergency Programmes Louis-Georges Arsenault, who recently visited UNICEF-assisted projects in the country.

Against the backdrop of persistently high malnutrition rates, the new initiative complements UNICEF therapeutic feeding programmes implemented across the country to treat malnourished children. Through this campaign – made possible by contributions from the Governments of Denmark, the United Kingdom and the United States, as well as the multi-donor Central Emergency Response Fund – UNICEF and its partners are taking action to not only treat but also to prevent malnutrition among children at risk.


 

 

Video

February 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the distribution of Plumpy’doz to prevent malnutrition among young children in Somalia.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search