索马里

在索马里面临最糟糕情形时,食品干预是至关重要的

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Somalia/2008
在索马里东北部的博萨索,卫生工作者在为流离失所者设立的流动诊所里给婴儿称体重。

埃曼.茂鲁卡报道

索马里博萨索,2008年8月21日 — 营养不良是今天索马里儿童面临的最大的挑战之一,而根据一份即将公布的联合国报告,情况可能会进一步恶化。

据联合国儿童基金会驻索马里代表克里斯蒂安奥尔森(Christian Balslev-Olesen)介绍,这份由联合国粮食及农业组织的粮食安全分析小组公布的报告显示,完全有可能出现“最糟糕的情形”。它指出在今后的12个月,占总人口一半的360万人将完全依靠粮食援助和紧急援助为生。

“我们从未经历如此严重的情况,”奥尔森说。

成立喂养诊所

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴为索马里儿童提供了挽救生命的一揽子紧急干预措施,通过门诊喂养诊所和安置中心,每月为营地中的5200名患严重营养不良的儿童提供治疗。

位于索马里东北部博萨索“布希100”营地,收容着因为冲突而无家可归的人们。在这里每个5岁以下的儿童都可收到10公斤的尤尼米(UNIMIX),这是一种富含高蛋白和维生素的辅助食品。联合国儿童基金会正在与当地官员和村民协调,进行外展计划以提供粮食援助。

据估计,36%的索马里儿童体重过轻,1/6患严重的营养不良。

“好的消息是,我们已经看到喂养方案产生的成效,并且记录了下来,”奥尔森说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Somalia/2008
在博萨索布什100营地的食品分配站,流离失所的母亲收到了为5岁以下儿童提供的尤尼米食物袋。

寻求安全

近一段时期以来在索马里中部和南部地区不断升级的战斗已造成大量平民伤亡。持续不断的冲突、暴力和流离失所,让儿童成为首当其冲的受害者。

当不满12岁的阿莎(Asha)和母亲离开家乡摩加迪沙(Mogadishu)时,寻找更多的安全时,她还很健康。自从他们到达博萨索已经过去8个月了,现在阿莎患有严重的营养不良。

“当我们离开摩加迪沙的时候,阿莎身体很好,”阿莎的母亲卡蒂嘉(Khadija)擦着眼泪说。“以前,我能为孩子提供一日三餐,因为我有固定的工作。在这里,我连一日一餐也几乎无法提供。我负担不起。”

治疗急重病症

最近在博萨索开展的外展工作给卡蒂嘉一个带阿莎去联合国儿童基金会的流动诊所治疗的机会。在流动诊所,社区卫生工作者把严重营养不良的案例转送到门诊治疗部。

在门诊治疗部,儿童们可以食用高蛋白、高能量的食品,如尤尼米和肥果(Plumpy’nut) 。同时,训练有素的联合国儿童基金会工作人员负责定期监控他们的状况。

门诊治疗部又把阿莎转送到博萨索医院的住院部。同样,这也是由联合国儿童基金会支持的一项为患严重营养不良和并发症的儿童提供治疗的服务。

“患有食欲不振、腹泻和呕吐等并发症的严重营养不良的儿童,甚至在受助恢复体重之前,都需要特别的照顾。即使给他们正常的食物都有可能害死它们,”联合国儿童基金会营养官员裘越(Mathieu Joyeux)说。

小病人们在住院部接受专业医护人员24小时的照顾,而他们的母亲们则可得到免费食宿。

‘被遗忘的危机’

奥尔森说,无家可归者安置营的高度成功,表明来自当地非政府组织和社区的更佳的保障、更多的资源以及更广泛的合作,可以减少整个索马里的营养不良状况。当然,要达到这个目标也需要更多的宣传工作。

他说,为了安全起见,没有派记者去索马里进行报道,所以大家看不到照片,看不到实际情况,也无法对政治家和公众舆论施加影响——因此,这是一个被遗忘的危机。”

(伊丽莎白.基姆对本文也有贡献)


 

 

音频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会驻索马里代表克里斯蒂安.巴斯里夫.奥尔森谈索马里安全和粮食供应的暗淡前景。

  音频 播放

视频(英文)

2008年8月10日:联合国儿童基金会记者伊丽莎白.基姆对联合国儿童基金会在索马里东北部的无家可归者安置营里实施的对营养不良的干预措施进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Somalia

Food interventions are crucial as Somalia faces ‘worst-case scenario’

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Somalia/2008
Health workers weighing a baby at a mobile clinic for displaced people in Bossaso, northeastern Somalia.

By Iman Morooka

BOSSASO, Somalia, 21 August 2008 – Malnutrition is one of the biggest challenges facing Somali children today, and according to an upcoming UN report, it could be getting worse.

The report, to be issued by the Food Security Analysis Unit of the UN Food and Agriculture Organization, indicates a ”worst-case scenario,” according to UNICEF Representative in Somalia Christian Balslev-Olesen. It notes that over the next 12 months, 3.6 million people – one-half of the population – will be totally dependent on food aid and emergency assistance.

“We have never been in a situation so severe. Never, ever before,” said Mr. Balslev-Oleson.

Feeding clinics established
UNICEF and its partners are providing a package of life-saving emergency interventions for Somalia’s children, treating 5,200 severely malnourished children in camps every month, through outpatient feeding clinics and stabilization centres.

At the ‘100 Bush’ camp for people displaced by conflict in Bossaso, northeast Somalia, every child under the age of five is receiving 10 kg of nutritious UNIMIX, a high-protein, vitamin-rich food supplement. UNICEF has coordinated with local officials and villagers in an outreach programme to provide the food aid.

An estimated 36 per cent of children in Somalia are underweight, and one in six is acutely malnourished.

“The good news is, we can see – and we can document – that we have had an impact by doing this feeding programming,” said Mr. Balslev-Olesen.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Somalia/2008
Food distribution site in ‘100-Bush’ camp in Bossaso, displaced mothers receiving bags of UNIMIX for their children under the age of five.

In search of security
Lately, escalating fighting in the central and southern parts of Somalia has resulted in heavy casualties among civilians. Children are the first to pay the high price of continued conflict, violence and displacement.

Asha, who is not yet two years old, was still in good health when she and her mother left their hometown, Mogadishu, in search of more security. Eight months have passed since they arrived in Bossaso, and Asha is now suffering from severe malnutrition. 

“Asha was fine when we left Mogadishu,” said Khadija, Asha’s mother, as she wiped her tears. “Before, I was able to feed my children three times a day because I had a stable job. Here, I can hardly feed them once a day. I can’t afford it.”

Treating acute and severe cases
The recent outreach efforts in Bossaso gave Khadija the chance to bring Asha to a UNICEF-supported mobile clinic, part of the Outpatient Therapeutic Programme (OTP), where cases of severe malnutrition are referred by community health workers.

At the OTP clinic, children receive high-protein, high-energy therapeutic foods, including UNIMIX and Plumpy’nut. At the same time, their conditions are closely monitored on a regular basis by UNICEF-trained staff.

The OPT team referred Asha to the inpatient Stabilization Centre based in Bossaso Hospital, another UNICEF-supported intervention that serves children with severe malnutrition and medical complications.

“Severely malnourished children who are facing medical complications like loss of appetite, diarrhoea and vomiting need special care before even being helped to regain their weight. It could even be fatal to give them normal food,” said UNICEF Nutrition Officer Mathieu Joyeux.

Children admitted to the Stabilization Centre receive round-the-clock medical care from trained professional staff, and their mothers are provided with free accommodations and meals.

‘A forgotten crisis’
The high degree of success in camps for the displaced indicates that with better security, more resources and greater cooperation from local non-governmental organizations and communities, malnutrition can be reduced throughout Somalia, said Mr. Balslev-Olesen. But such an achievement also requires more advocacy work.

“We do not, for the sake of security, have journalists reporting from Somalia. So you don’t see the pictures, you don’t see the reality,” he said. “You don’t have impact with the politicians, with public opinion – and therefore, it is a forgotten crisis.”

Elizabeth Kiem contributed to this story from New York.


 

 

Audio

UNICEF Representative in Somalia Christian Balslev-Olesen discusses a bleak outlook for security and food supplies in Somalia.
AUDIO listen

Video

10 August 2008: UNICEF correspondent Elizabeth Kiem reports on UNICEF interventions to reduce malnutrition at camps for the displaced in northeast Somalia.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search