UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

塞拉利昂

创新短信报告,抗击塞拉利昂埃博拉疫情

约翰.詹姆士报道

最近,我们见到埃博拉幸存者阿尔弗莱德.普扎。在塞拉利昂新设立的临时观察护理中心,普扎作为专职工作人员照顾着那些因埃博拉疫情而被隔离的脆弱儿童。普扎和全国各地的工作人员正在帮助推进利用手机抗击埃博拉疫情的关键战役。

塞拉利昂弗里敦,2015年3月9日 --  在塞拉利昂的临时观察护理中心,一天的工作结束后,普扎坐在他的木桌前,翻看着自己的笔记—然后他拿出手机,现在是报告时间。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
每晚,阿尔弗莱德.普扎用他功能基本的手机回答有关临时观察护理中心的短信问题,他在中心帮助照顾那些因埃博拉疫情而被隔离的儿童。

向弗里敦发送短信

这个新机构在联合国儿童基金会的支持下成立并由政府管理运行,照顾那些因可能接触致命的埃博拉病毒而在21天隔离观察期的儿童。每晚,普扎拿出他的具备最基本功能的手机,回答来自社会福利、性别与儿童事务部的短信问题,问题涉及中心有多少名儿童、他们的性别、年龄以及当日有多少孩子结束隔离等。

一瞬间,答案已送达近四小时车程以外的弗里敦政府部门,然后普扎的报告将与其他来自全国各地的类似数据汇总在一起。不需要互联网的网络连接、功能复杂的手机甚至不需要电话预付卡—只需要一只能接收电讯信号的基本款手机就够了。

普扎说:“传统的报告方式是你得坐下来写,而且难以送到需要的人手中,要一定的时间才能送达总部办公室。”

“但现在就很容易了。”

以开源技术武装的关键战役

迅速获取数据一直是抗击埃博拉疫情的关键。据国家埃博拉疫情应急中心的报告,自2014年3月以来,塞拉利昂已确认3000多例埃博拉死亡病例。

在这种情况下,2014年9月联合国儿童基金会在全球推出免费的开源平台RapidPro。它不是全世界第一个手机报告平台,但它明显是一个适应能力非常强的平台。它易于设置,除最偏远地区以外,它可以使用所有的现有设备和电话网络系统。

联合国儿童基金会驻塞拉利昂技术开发官员肖恩.奥康纳(Shane O’Connor)与开发团队致力于设置定制化的报告应用程序,他说:“可以在RapidPro平台上完成任何一种你想得到的追踪、监测和数据集中方式。”

RapidPro平台基于云计算、多语种和多渠道(短信、语音、推特)的架构设计,可以帮助联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴迅速扩展系统,向最需要的人传递生死攸关的信息和服务。自此平台推出以来,全世界十几个国家已发送和接收2000多万条信息。

这是联合国儿童基金会团队首次在塞拉利昂的埃博拉社区护理中心系统使用RapidPro平台,该护理中心系统自11月至1月不到两个月的时间里,已在5个区设立了46个社区护理中心,拥有404张床位。社区护理中心的工作人员往往身处隔离地区,需要每天与弗里敦就筛查数量、入院和结果等信息进行沟通,以便专家可以随时掌握最新的工作量趋势。采用RapidPro平台,社会护理中心团队可以在几天之内建立起报告系统,以往这种项目通常需要几个月的设计和编程时间。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
像默罕默德.康泰(上)这样的社会动员者用手机上的RapidPro平台可以迅速报告宣传活动以及不良的社会和行为习俗,比如秘密埋葬和挖掘尸体等。

更广泛的应用

此后,仅在塞拉利昂办公室内,这一平台已被用于每日和每周的OICC监测、区保护办公室的报告、监测家庭追踪与团聚,以及社会动员团队每日和每周的监测工作。并且,在此基础上推出最新的U-报告调查网络

联合国儿童基金会驻塞拉利昂办事处宣传发展负责人喀什提吉.乔希(Kshitij Joshi) 说:“我们在全国788个监测点网络使用RapidPro平台,实时、独立地监测社会动员活动。” 现场监测不仅报告由联合国儿童基金会共同领导、国家埃博拉社会动员骨干组织的活动,并将该领域的所有参与方信息整合起来,还可以报告不良的社会和行为习俗,比如秘密埋葬和挖掘尸体等。

鉴于已取得的成绩,联合国儿童基金会教育团队现在希望监测学校的重新开学计划、监测营养供应计划和报告艾滋病的治疗状况。一个新应用程序的建立只需半天时间。

奥康纳强调,像任何一种技术解决方案一样,没有一种“灵丹妙药”可以解决所有的问题,仍然需要仔细确保现场报告人员知道如何开始使用这种系统,并完全了解每个问题的信息种类。

总而言之,将高科技与低科技混合使用已使数据共享和响应的速度比原来快得多。在抗击埃博拉疫情爆发的战役中,速度至关重要。

 


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 在埃博拉的前线

 

搜索

At a glance: Sierra Leone

The SMS reporting revolution takes on Ebola, in Sierra Leone

By John James

We recently met Ebola survivor Alfred Pujeh, one of the dedicated staff who look after vulnerable children while they are under quarantine for Ebola, at Sierra Leone’s new Observational Interim Care Centres. He and other workers around the country are also helping to wage one key battle in the fight against Ebola – with their phones.

FREETOWN, Sierra Leone, 9 March 2015 – At the end of the working day, Alfred Pujeh sits down at his wooden office desk, reviews his notes – and pulls out his phone. It’s reports time, in this Observational Interim Care Centre (OICC) in Sierra Leone.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
Every evening, Alfred Pujeh pulls out his basic mobile phone and answers SMS text message questions about the Observational Interim Care Centre where he helps care for children under quarantine for Ebola.

Flash messages to Freetown

The newly established facility, run by the government and set up with UNICEF support, looks after children who may have come into contact with the deadly Ebola virus, for a 21-day surveillance period. Every evening, Mr Pujeh pulls out his basic mobile phone and answers SMS text message questions from the Ministry of Social Welfare, Gender and Children’s Affairs on how many children are in the centre, on gender and age and on how many children have been discharged during the day.

 Within a split second, the results are in Freetown, which is nearly four hours away by car, where the ministry, in turn, compiles his results with similar data from all corners of the country. There is no need for an Internet connection, a sophisticated phone, or even phone credit – just a basic handset with a network connection.

“For traditional reporting, you have to sit down and write and it will not get to the appropriate people easily,” says Mr Pujeh. “It will take time to reach the main office.

“[B]ut now, it is very easy.”

Armed with open source for a key battle

Getting data quickly has been a key battle in the fight against Ebola, which has caused more than 3,000 confirmed deaths in Sierra Leone since May 2014, according to the National Ebola Response Centre.

That is where the RapidPro free open-source platform comes in, launched globally by UNICEF in September 2014. It isn’t the world’s first mobile phone reporting platform, but it is one that’s remarkably well adapted to the field – easy to set up and usable on pre-existing equipment and phone networks in all but the remotest places.

“Any sort of tracking, monitoring and data pooling that you can think of can be done with RapidPro,” says Shane O’Connor, UNICEF Sierra Leone’s Technology for Development officer, who has worked with the programme teams on setting up the customized reporting apps.

RapidPro’s cloud-based, multi-language and multi-channel (SMS, voice, Twitter) architecture has allowed UNICEF and its partners to quickly scale systems that can deliver life-saving information and services to those who need them most. Since its launch, more than 20 million messages have been sent to/from beneficiaries in over a dozen countries around the world.

It was first used in Sierra Leone by the UNICEF team behind the Ebola Community Care Centres (CCCs), who set up 46 centres in five districts with 404 beds in less than two months, between November and January. The CCC teams, often located in isolated chieftaincies, needed to communicate information on triage numbers, admissions and results to Freetown on a daily basis so experts could keep abreast of the latest caseload trends. With RapidPro, the CCC team were able to set up the SMS reporting system in just a few days, without the months of design and programming normally needed on a project like this.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
Using RapidPro on their mobile phones, social mobilizers like Mohamed Conteh (above) can quickly report on outreach activities, as well as on adverse social and behavioural practices like secret burials and body exhuming.

Broader applications

Since then, just within the Sierra Leone office, the platform has been used for daily and weekly OICC monitoring, reporting from the district protection desks, following up on Family Tracking and Reunification and daily and weekly monitoring by the social mobilization team. It also forms the backbone to the newly launched U-Report polling network.

“We are using a network of 788 monitors across the country using the RapidPro platform for real-time and independent monitoring of social mobilization activities,” said Kshitij Joshi, head of Communication for Development at UNICEF Sierra Leone. As well as reporting on activities organized by the national Ebola social mobilization pillar, which is co-led by UNICEF and which brings together all actors in the sector, field monitors can also report on adverse social and behavioural practices like secret burials and body exhuming.

Thanks to the successes so far, there’s now interest from the UNICEF Education team to monitor the expected reopening of schools, as well as plans for nutrition supply monitoring and reporting on HIV treatment. It can take as little as half a day to build a new app.

Mr O’Connor stresses that, like any technology solution, it is not a ‘magic bullet’ for every situation, and care is still needed to make sure field reporters know how to start using the system, and understand exactly the sort of information that each question is asking for.

But the mix of high-tech and low-tech has made data-sharing and responses far faster than they otherwise would have been, in an Ebola outbreak in which speed has been of the essence.

 


 

 

UNICEF Photography: On Ebola's frontlines

 

New enhanced search