UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

塞拉利昂

在埃博拉病毒侵袭的塞拉利昂同心协力求生存

玛吉.弗朗西亚报道

联合国儿童基金会的过渡监护中心为处在隔离期的儿童提供了新的希望并给在那里工作的埃博拉幸存者一个新的使命。

塞拉利昂弗里敦, 2015年3月3日 - 过渡监护中心( OICC )被风景如画的高山和郁郁葱葱的绿色植被环绕,詹姆斯.卡马拉*和他的六个兄弟姐妹度过了隔离观察的第18天。微风吹过鲜艳的黄色的楼房,送来孩子们的欢笑声。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
13岁的詹姆斯.卡马拉的亲人死于埃博拉,他现在正在联合国儿童基金会支持的过渡监护中心接受隔离观察。过渡监护中心的宗旨是为那些曾与感染了埃博拉病毒的亲人近距离接触过却没有感染症状的儿童们提供关爱和保护。

这些孩子们因为可能接触过埃博拉患者而接受隔离观察。在这里,他们和照顾他们的工作人员一起玩耍,而这些工作人员不需要穿戴个人防护装备( PPE )。为什么呢? 因为这里的12个工作人员全部是埃博拉病毒的幸存者。

关爱弱势儿童

13岁的詹姆斯的父亲、叔叔和三个兄弟都死于埃博拉病毒。这一精神上的伤疤仍难以愈合。

詹姆斯说:“埃博拉病毒已经影响到我社区里的儿童的生活,尤其是我家里的儿童。 我们已经失去了亲人,我们再也不能随意玩耍了。我们觉得受到歧视,因为其他人都不想我们接近他们。他们甚至拒绝帮我们打水。”

为了帮助照顾像詹姆斯这样的儿童,塞拉利昂社会福利、性别和儿童事务部(MSWGCA)在联合国儿童基金会的支持下建立了过渡监护中心。

过渡监护中心的宗旨是为那些曾与感染了埃博拉病毒的父母、照看者或亲人近距离接触过却没有感染症状并且没有其他亲人可以照顾的儿童们提供关爱和保护。过渡监护中心可以同时接纳20-25名儿童。儿童们接受21天的隔离观察,这样如果他们出现埃博拉的症状可以及早就医,如果症状继续恶化,他们会被转移到更恰当的医疗机构。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
在像阿尔弗雷德.普杰(左)这样的幸存者的照顾下,詹姆士和他的兄弟姐妹在过渡监护中心通过了隔离观察。

团队还设法寻找儿童们的远亲或者可以在隔离期结束后继续照顾儿童的护理人员。如果没有找到任何解决的办法,那么过渡监护中心可以为等待长期结果的儿童们提供一个安全的地方。

过渡监护中心把保存家庭完整性和社会接纳放在工作的首位。在不能实现的情况下,亲属照料或寄养也是可以考虑的选择。

一个支持和保护的环境

詹姆士说:“在中心里我们得到很好的照顾。护理员们给我们吃很好的食物,而且在我们失落的时候,他们会跟我们聊天。”
 
目前有14个过渡监护中心处在运营之中,在12个地区提供275张病床。自紧急状况发生以来,407名儿童在联合国儿童基金会支持的过渡监护中心里得到了照顾。

联合国儿童基金会儿童保护主任马修.达陵说: “在隔离期间,’接触过病毒的儿童’ 需要特殊的照顾和支持。想象一下,如果你是一个丧失了亲人、遭受歧视并且生活在疾病和死亡的恐惧中的儿童,你会怎样?”

他继续说:“过渡监护中心帮助预防不必要的感染风险,并提倡一个安全和保护的环境,减少虐待的风险和床伤并加强受埃博拉影响的儿童的韧力。接触过病毒的儿童曾陪伴已经有症状的照顾者到诊所接受治疗,这使他们感染埃博拉病毒的风险更高。过渡监护中心排除了这种不必要的风险。 ”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
过渡监护中心的所有工作人员都是埃博拉幸存者,他们的使命是帮助遏制埃博拉并保护塞拉利昂儿童的未来。

埃博拉病毒在儿童身上发展更为迅速,并造成更坏的影响,特别是5岁以下的儿童,因为他们还不会表达他们的症状。大多数的过渡监护中心都设在埃博拉治疗中心或滞留中心的附近,从而可以迅速转移呈现症状的儿童。

幸存者之“家”

阿尔弗雷德.普杰管理詹姆斯和他的兄弟姐妹过去三周所在的这个过渡监护中心。阿尔弗雷德失去了11个家族成员,他本人也是埃博拉病毒的幸存者。他很同情他负责照顾的这些儿童。

阿尔弗雷德响应了号召,加入了幸存者根除埃博拉病毒的队伍。他和其他幸存者担任起护士、护理人员、厨师、清洁工和保安人员的职位,他认为他们在帮助遏制病毒传播方面所作的工作很重要。

他说:“如果没有这个中心,埃博拉会夺走更多儿童的生命。 有一次,一个家庭的四个孩子里两个都感染了病毒, 我们马上隔离了他们,这样剩下的两个孩子才没有感染病毒。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
过渡监护中心的护理人员卡迪.潘达抱着他最小的病人,五岁的汉娜.卡玛拉*。因为工作人员是埃博拉幸存者,他们可以不用穿戴个人防护装备和儿童们进行互动。

该中心的护理人员卡迪.潘达因这个疾病而失去了9个家庭成员。她自己也因为照顾生病的母亲而感染上了埃博拉病毒,她的母亲最终离开了人世。卡迪关心中心里的儿童,就好像关心她自己的孩子。

每天早上,她都会为所有的儿童检查是否有埃博拉病毒的症状,如果有儿童生病,她会马上通知护士。她给他们洗澡,给他们喂食,还观察他们与其他儿童的互动,以识别他们是否需要安慰和关注。

卡迪说:“当我看到失落的儿童,我会告诉他们:不要让自己感到沮丧和生病。我们曾经也有过同样的经历,而且我们都活了下来。我们会照顾你,帮助满足你的需求。”

回家的时候到了

三天以后,詹姆士和他的兄弟姐妹会被带回他们的村子。回家让詹姆士感到很激动,他说他很想念他的家人,他也很想在农场帮忙。他对未来抱有很大的梦想,所以他很期待回到学校。

他说:“我想回到学校因为教育很重要,而且教育可以帮助你实现你的梦想。”

他的梦想是什么呢?“我想成为塞拉利昂的总统。如果我当上总统,我要很好地管理国家,教育每个儿童,并失去父母的儿童。”

*为了保护儿童的身份,报道中的名字是化名。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 在埃博拉的前线

搜索

At a glance: Sierra Leone

Surviving together, in Ebola-hit Sierra Leone

By Marge Francia

UNICEF’s Observational Interim Care Centres provide new hope for children under quarantine and a new mission for the Ebola survivors who serve in them.

FREETOWN, Sierra Leone, 3 March 2015 – Picturesque mountains and lush greenery adorn the fields surrounding the Observational Interim Care Centre (OICC) in which James Kamara* and his six siblings pass day 18 of their quarantine. A soft breeze flows through the bright yellow building, carrying the laughter of children.

© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
James Kamara*, 13, lost family members to Ebola and is now under quarantine a UNICEF-supported Observational Interim Care Centre (OICC). OICCs are centres that care for non-symptomatic ‘contact children’ who have no caregivers.

These children are under supervision for having potentially come into contact with Ebola. Here, they pass their quarantine playing with carers who interact with the children without the benefit of partitions or personal protective equipment (PPE) suits. The reason? All 12 of the staff here are, themselves, Ebola survivors.

Care for vulnerable children

James, who is 13 years old, lost his father, uncle and three brothers to Ebola. The emotional scars are fresh.

“Ebola has affected the lives of children in my community, especially my household,” James says. “We have lost our relatives, and we couldn’t play freely anymore. We felt discriminated against because other people didn’t allow us to get close to them. They even refused to help us fetch water.”

To help care for children like James, the Sierra Leone Ministry of Social Welfare, Gender and Children’s Affairs (MSWGCA), with support from UNICEF, has established OICCs.

The purpose of the OICCs is to provide care and protection for children who have been in close contact with a parent, caregiver or a relative infected with the Ebola virus, who do not exhibit symptoms and who do not have any other family members available to look after them. The OICCs care for 20–25 children at a time. The children stay for a surveillance period of 21 days. They are monitored so that any sign of Ebola can be detected early and, in the event that symptoms develop, they can be referred immediately for appropriate care.

Teams also seek to trace extended families or identify a caregiver with whom the child can be placed at the end of the quarantine period. If a solution is not found, then Interim Care Centres (ICCs) can be a safe place for children awaiting a longer-term outcome.

© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
James and his siblings pass their quarantine in a UNICEF-supported OICC, under the care of survivors like OICC manager Alfred Pujeh (left).

The OICC is guided by the principle that family preservation and reintegration must be the first priority at all times. If it is not possible, then kinship care or foster care can be options.

A supportive – and protective – environment

“We are cared for well at the centre,” says James. “Our caregivers feed us well and talk to us when we feel sad.”

Fourteen OICCs are currently in operation, covering 12 districts, with a total capacity of 275 beds. Since the start of the emergency, 407 children have been cared for at UNICEF-supported OICCs.

“’Contact children’ need special care and support during this quarantine period,” says Matthew Dalling, UNICEF Child Protection Chief. “Imagine if you were a child whose loved ones died, you are discriminated against and living in fear of getting sick or dying?

“The OICCs help prevent unnecessary infection risks while promoting a safe and protective environment, minimizing abuse risks, reducing trauma and promoting resiliency among Ebola-affected children,” he continues. “[E]xposed children used to accompany their symptomatic caregivers for treatment, putting them at a high risk of contracting Ebola. The OICCs have taken away this unnecessary risk.”

© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
All staff members of the OICC are survivors with a mission to help contain Ebola and protect the future of the children of Sierra Leone.

Ebola develops more rapidly and with a worse outcome in children, especially among children under 5, who are not able to communicate their symptoms. Most OICCs are located within close proximity to an Ebola Treatment Centre or Holding Centre to facilitate rapid transfer of children displaying symptoms.

A ‘family’ of survivors

Alfred Pujeh manages the OICC in which James and his siblings have resided these three weeks. He lost 11 family members and is, himself, a survivor of Ebola. He has considerable empathy for the children under his care.

Alfred answered the call for survivors to take part in eradicating Ebola. He considers his work and the work of other survivors who act as nurses, caregivers, cooks, cleaners and security personnel to be important in helping to contain the virus.

“If it were not for this centre, we will lose more children to Ebola,” he says. “Once, we had four children from the same family. Two of them tested positive. We immediately isolated them and so the two remaining children were not infected.”

© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2015/Francia
Kadie Panda, one of the OICC’s caregivers, holds her youngest ward, Hannah Kamara*, who is 5 years old. Because the staff are Ebola survivors, they can interact with the children without personal protective equipment.

Kadie Panda, a caregiver at the centre, lost nine family members to the disease. She, herself, contracted Ebola while looking after for her sick mother, who eventually passed away. Kadie cares for the children in the centre in the same loving way she cares for her own.

Every morning, she checks all the children for symptoms of Ebola and alerts the nurse if any of them become sick. She bathes and feeds them, and observes their interaction with other children to see if they need comfort and attention.

“When I see children who are sad, I tell them: Don’t allow yourself to get depressed and get sick. We have gone through this same situation, and we survived. We will care for you and advocate for your needs to be taken care of,” Kadie says.

Time to go home

In three days, James and his brothers and sisters will be brought back to their village. James is excited to go home and says he misses his family, and he misses helping out on the farm. He has big dreams for his future, and so he is also looking forward to going back to school.

“I want to go back to school because education is important and it could help you achieve your dreams,” he says.

And what are his dreams? “I want to become president of Sierra Leone. If I become president, I will rule the country well, educate every child and care for children without parents.”

*Names of the children have been changed to protect their identities.



UNICEF Photography: On Ebola's frontlines

New enhanced search