UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

塞拉利昂

塞拉利昂社会动员者提高“热点”社区抗击埃博拉的能力

玛吉.弗朗西亚报道

兄妹俩乔丝夫和布里克苏.科罗马是埃博拉的幸存者。现在他们回到了社区,见到了护理中心和医院里其他打败了病毒的幸存者。

塞拉利昂弗里敦,2015年1月28日 -  在一个阳光明媚的大热天,安德鲁.科罗马和默罕默德.康泰拿着扩音器、海报和传单,走过拥挤的弗里敦罗库帕社区。这支社区动员小分队来此是由于这个社区正处于第二个21天的隔离期,这里新报告了一起埃博拉死亡病例。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2014/Francia
沃尔德356社会动员者扎伊娜.罗杰斯(左)正在建议20岁的哈桑.邦古拉,如果有亲人出现埃博拉迹象,应该怎么办。

科罗马说:“这个社区是情况最糟的社区之一,大约有28个家庭被隔离,30位埃博拉幸存者,20个埃博拉死亡病例,还有5人在诊疗中心接受治疗。

“受感染的60人中,目前有大约50人的检测成阳性反应。因为今天早晨有人去世,他们要重新开始隔离。我们还在这里发现了3个新病例,所有我们必须加紧工作。”

热点终结者

科罗马和康泰是塞拉利昂788名“热点终结者”中的两位。作为应急工作的一部分,在社区被确定为疫情热点后,“热点终结者”迅速前往这些社区。“热点终结者”自己就是这些社区的成员。经过培训后,他们可以加强社会动员工作,增进社区的参与度,阻止埃博拉病毒的蔓延。“热点终结者”开展一对一的宣传活动,挨家挨户走访,提高公众认识。

为确保覆盖热点社区,社会动员者发动社区的青少年、妇女和志愿者组织,每周接触大约9000户居民。他们积极参与社区监测。社区居民拨打117埃博拉热线电话,向社区动员者报告亲人的病情,以确定是否需要送医院就诊。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2014/Francia
在处于隔离期的社区,默罕默德.康泰讲话时,他的队友安德鲁.科罗马发放传单。

联合国儿童基金会驻塞拉利昂发展宣传负责人克希迪吉.乔希(Kshitij Joshi)说:“终结热点’的唯一方法是确保社区成员掌握信息、参与并积极行动起来。我们确保社区动员者来自社区,了解背景,使量身定制的策略适合那个社区的特别需要。

自这个倡议开始以来,热点终结者已经在全国超过344个热点社区开展了社会动员工作。

意识与改变

“热点终结者”倡议是联合国儿童基金会应对塞拉利昂埃博拉疫情暴发的关键措施。作为国家社会动员支柱(National Social Mobilization Pillar)的联合主席,联合国儿童基金会与塞拉利昂医疗卫生部的保健教育部门紧密合作,为基于证据的项目规划和管理提供技术支持,并协调国家和地区级别的社会动员合作伙伴之间的工作。

联合国儿童基金会提供的协助包括规划并让传统和宗教领袖、有影响力的社区人物、妇女和青少年组织参与其中;与97%的广播电台合作开展埃博拉疫情教育;使用短信进行实时监测;围绕社区护理中心,领导社区的参与进程和社会动员活动。

基于证据的推广

十月开展的一项有关知识、态度和行为的调查显示,社会动员工作是行之有效的。对比八月份的第一次调查结果,人们对埃博拉病毒病的认识、态度和改变行为的意愿都有了明显的积极变化。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2014/Francia
沃尔德社会动员者扎伊娜.罗杰斯和伽利斯.邦伽力在康拖罗的公共场所,比如马桶市场,开展宣传活动。

现在有90%以上的受访者接受了预防埃博拉病毒病的三个重要方法,而前次调查时是79%。同时,避免血液和其它体液接触以预防埃博拉病毒病的接受度由87%增加到92%。94%的受访者认同避免参加埃博拉病死者的葬礼或其它掩埋仪式以预防埃博拉病毒病,比之前的85%接受度有所增加。对埃博拉幸存者持歧视态度的受访者比例显著下降,由94%下降至46%。

携手抗击埃博拉

一些社区还在不断出现埃博拉病例,说明我们应该更加努力。这正是“热点终结者”倡议发挥作用的地方。联合国儿童基金会与人人健康联盟(Health for All Coalition)合作,引领项目,希望更广泛的社会合作将加强对自己社区的认知和责任感。这些努力已展现出成果:在西部城市地区沃尔德355,社区精神为社区更好地协调、报告和信任社会动员者、接触监测者及其他与埃博拉病毒病相关的工作者打下基础。

克里斯托弗.琼斯(Christopher Jones)是波尔迪埃博拉应急志愿者联盟(PERAV)的主任协调员,这个由35名成员组成的组织协助被派往沃尔德355消灭埃博拉病毒的工作者。琼斯和志愿者们让他们的邻居了解像“热点终结者”这样的埃博拉工作者到他们社区来的目的。当居民家庭拒绝社会动员者的帮助时,他们与社会动员者紧密合作。

琼斯说:“我们努力让居民明白埃博拉工作者要做些什么,帮助他们了解要在我们社区消灭埃博拉病毒的必要性。

“我们成功地让民众接受了埃博拉病毒病是真实存在的,让非政府组织的人员与他们谈话。”社区领袖也认为社会动员者是应对埃博拉整体行动的一部分。议员阿鲁辛.康泰(Alusine Conteh)来自埃博拉救援志愿者联盟活跃的社区。他说:“社会动员者百分之百对我们有帮助,他们昼夜不停地工作,作为社区成员,他们始终与我们在一起,始终参与其中。他们调查问题,走访家庭,教育民众,如果有病人,确保送病患去医院并报告。

“他们对我们很重要。”


 

 

摄影专辑: 抗击历史上最严重的埃博拉疫情

 

搜索

At a glance: Sierra Leone

Social mobilizers empower ‘hotspot’ communities to fight Ebola in Sierra Leone

 By Marge Francia

“Communities are at the forefront of the response.” – UNICEF Global Ebola Emergency Coordinator Dr. Peter Salama

FREETOWN, Sierra Leone, 28 January 2015 – On a bright, hot day, Andrew Koroma and Mohamed Conteh walk through Freetown’s congested Rokupa community, armed with a megaphone, posters and flyers. This small team of social mobilizers is here because one particular community is currently under its second 21-day quarantine after recording an Ebola death.

© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2014/Francia
Ward 356 social mobilizer Zainab Rogers (left) advises Hassan Bangura, 20, what he should do if one of his loved ones begins showing signs of Ebola.

“This community is one of the worst cases,” says Mr. Koroma. “We have around 28 quarantined homes, 30 survivors, 20 deaths and 5 who are in treatment centres.

“Of the 60 people here who were infected, around 50 tested positive so far. They will start their quarantine again because someone died this morning. We also have three new fresh cases here, so we have to work hard.”

Hotspot busters

Mr. Koroma and Mr. Conteh are among 788 ‘hotspot busters’ in Sierra Leone. Hotspot busters deploy rapidly to communities that are considered hotspots of the epidemic, as part of an immediate response to an outbreak. Members of the community themselves, hotspot busters are trained to intensify social mobilization activities and increase engagement of communities to stop the spread of Ebola. They conduct one-on-one sensitization sessions, house-to-house visits and public awareness-raising.

To ensure that the hotspot is covered, the social mobilizers activate youth, women and volunteer networks in each community and reach approximately 9,000 households every week. They are involved in active community surveillance and are approached by community members to call the 117 Ebola hotline to refer sick loved ones to hospital. 

© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2014/Francia
Mohamed Conteh speaks to a quarantined community while his partner Andrew Koroma gives out flyers.

“The only way to ‘bust the hotspot’ is to make sure that community members are empowered, engaged and active,” explains UNICEF Sierra Leone Chief of Communication for Development Kshitij Joshi. “We ensure that the social mobilizers are from the community and know the context so that tailor-fit strategies are able to respond to what the particular community needs.”

Since the initiative began, hotspot busters have carried out social mobilization in more than 344 hotspot communities nationwide. Some 275,103 households have been reached on their house-to-house visits.

Awareness and change

The Hotspot Busters initiative is a key element of UNICEF’s response to the Ebola outbreak in Sierra Leone. As co-chair of the National Social Mobilization Pillar, the organization works closely with the Health Education Division of Sierra Leone’s Ministry of Health and Sanitation. It provides technical support for evidence-based programme planning and management and coordinates social mobilization partnerships at national and district levels.

Among the activities UNICEF supports are mapping and engagement of traditional and religious leaders, key community influencers, women and youth groups; partnership with 97 per cent of radio channels for Ebola education; use of SMS technology for real-time monitoring; and leading the community engagement process and social mobilization activities in and around community care centres.

Evidence-based outreach

A Knowledge, Attitude and Behaviour survey conducted in October reveals that social mobilization is working. Compared to results from the first such study, in August, there has been a marked positive change in people’s knowledge, attitude and intention to modify behaviour, in the context of Ebola. 

© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2014/Francia
Ward social mobilizers Zainab Rogers and Gallice Bangalie conduct sensitization activities in public areas in Kontorloh such as Potty Market.

More than 90 per cent of respondents accepted three key means of preventing Ebola, compared to 79 per cent in the previous study. The proportion of people who also accepted that Ebola can be prevented by avoiding contact with blood and other body fluids increased from 87 to 92 per cent. Ninety-four per cent of respondents accepted that Ebola can be prevented by avoiding funeral or other burial rituals for someone who has died from Ebola, up from 85 per cent. The proportion of respondents who hold any form of discriminatory attitude towards Ebola survivors decreased significantly – from 94 to 46 per cent.

United against Ebola

That cases are still appearing in some communities indicates that more can be done. That’s where the Hotspot Busters initiative comes into play. In partnership with the Health for All Coalition, UNICEF is pioneering the project in the hope that greater social participation will lead to heightened awareness and accountability for one’s own community. The efforts are bearing fruit: In Ward 355 in Portee, Western Area Urban, community spirit is paving the way for better coordination, reporting and trust of social mobilizers, contact tracers and other Ebola workers in the community.

Christopher Jones is Chief Coordinator of the Portee Ebola Response Alliance Volunteers (PERAV). This 35-member organization was created to assist Ebola workers sent to Ward 355 to help eradicate Ebola. Mr. Jones and his volunteers help their neighbours understand why Ebola workers such as the Hotspot Busters are coming into their community. They work in close partnership with the social mobilizers when families resist the efforts.

“We try and make them understand the nature of what Ebola workers are trying to do,” says Mr. Jones. “We help the people understand the essence of driving this Ebola out from our community.

“We have been successful in making people accept that Ebola is real, to allow people from NGOs to talk to them.”
Community leaders also consider the social mobilizers integral to their overall Ebola response. Councillor Alusine Conteh is from the community in which PERAV is active. “More than a hundred per cent the social mobilizers have been helpful to us,” he says. “They work around the clock as a member of the community, always with us and always involved. They investigate the issues, go to the homes to educate people and report if there are sick persons to make sure they are taken to the hospital.

“They are very important to us.” 



UNICEF Photography: Fighting the largest Ebola outbreak


New enhanced search