塞拉利昂

在塞拉利昂,以学校为主导的卫生计划赋予儿童及其社区救生知识

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2012
在塞拉利昂通科利利区马萨卡村,蒙恩奥图.康特和她的朋友展示他们在学校水、环境和个人卫生(WASH)俱乐部学到的洗手技巧。该俱乐部的建立旨在改善学校和村庄的个人和环境卫生。

11月19日是世界厕所日,这是一个旨在打破与厕所有关的忌讳的国际节日,让人们共同关注全球面临的卫生挑战,提升公众对25亿人口每日孜孜以求的基本卫生条件的认识。

该节日将不同领域的人们,如媒体、私营部门、发展机构及民间团体等联合起来,为推广安全厕所这一全球行动共同努力。

了解关于世界厕所日的更多信息,请 点击这里.

塞拉利昂通科利利(TONKOLILI),2012年11月19日 —— 十四岁的蒙恩奥图.康特(Memenatu Conteh)曾经饱受恶劣卫生条件造成的各种危害。

因为必须前往马克露吉贝(Makkrugbe)诊所接受严重腹泻的治疗,她不得不休学。

此外,当她进入丛林方便时,脚不慎被一根刺扎伤,引发了感染——这令她痛苦万分。她的一个哥哥在丛林中方便时被蛇咬伤,很长一段时间无法走路。

但是,这都发生在以学校为主导的综合卫生(SLTS)计划开始实施之前。

水、环境和个人卫生计划紧锣密鼓地开展

蒙恩奥图在马萨卡村(Masaka)的TDC小学上学。马萨卡TDC小学是通科利利区已参加学校水、环境和个人卫生(WASH)计划的六所学校之一。该计划正协助各所学校提供儿童友好的WASH设施,并协助在该区各所学校开展“学校环境和个人卫生教育”和综合卫生计划。

作为综合卫生计划的成员,蒙恩奥图已经学会了如何避免她以往遇到的重重困难。此外,她加入了学校里的WASH俱乐部,将他在足球场上所展现出的活力应用到改善其所在学校和村庄的环境和个人卫生中去。

与社区共享知识,推进行动

WASH俱乐部的十二名儿童、两名教师和学校管理委员会主席(School Management Committee Chairperson)都已经参加集中训练,致力于确保良好的卫生习惯不仅在学校践行,同时扎根社区。

马萨卡TDC小学的WASH俱乐部成员和教师们是如此地投入,他们的宣传又如此引人注目,以致于马萨卡的村民们已经迫不及待地行动起来。各项宣传活动已经帮助该社区清楚地了解了露天排便和疾病之间的关联。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2012
来自WASH俱乐部的孩子们展示他们学到的各种技巧,促进社区改善其WASH设施。该村庄宣布已经根除了露天排便这一陋习。

该社区已经建成公共厕所和洗手设施。事实上,马萨卡村现在已经宣布根除了露天排便这一陋习,这意味着现在每家每户都有自己的厕所和洗手设施。

俱乐部仍在开展宣传工作

虽然该村已宣布根除了露天排便这一陋习,但WASH俱乐部仍在开展宣传工作。据蒙恩奥图说,“有时,我们在放学后就到村里走家串户,向村民、尤其是那些尚未建成自家厕所的人们宣传建造厕所的好处。此外,我们建议他们打扫自家的厕所和院子。我们告诉他们,要在不用的时候把马桶盖盖上。我们挨家挨户地走访、检查卫生情况,并提供相关信息。”

她说,就算是自己最亲近的亲戚,有时也需要一些鼓励。“我的叔叔也需要被提醒,才能保持厕所卫生呢。”她说。

现在,这些孩子们正将他们的知识传播到更远的地方。穆罕默德.A.卡马拉(Mohamed A. Kamara)学校的校长介绍,孩子们的工作正促进周边社区根除露天排便这一陋习:“他们不仅在这个社区进行卫生宣传,也去其他像“5英里”(5-Mile)这样的社区宣传,甚至去马优姆托(Mayumto)社区,告诉人们如何预防疾病。有时,他们以唱歌形式进行宣传。我们已经有了扩音器,可以在此类宣传活动中充分利用。他们通常会表演小型节目/小品,向人们介绍为避免疾病应该、以及不该做的事情。”

卫生环境已取得巨大改善

蒙恩奥图说:“总体上,综合卫生计划已为我们的学生生活、学校和社区带来巨大改变。在这项计划开始实施之前,我们根本不知道如何清扫院子或保持院子清洁。但现在,我们都通过学习了解到身体健康的重要性,我们每天都保持清洁。我们以往从不清扫厕所或盖上马桶。我们就让它那么敞开着。但是现在,我们的想法大有改观,今后会一直这样做下去。”

蒙恩奥图说,她希望继续加入WASH俱乐部,并继续分享她学到的知识。“本来我坚持这份工作是因为我哥哥过去常生病。但在厕所建成后,他就不再得病了。我们的家变成了一个安全的场所,这就是我喜欢这个计划的原因。”


 

 

社交媒体

搜索

At a glance: Sierra Leone

School-led sanitation programme in Sierra Leone empowers children and their community with life-saving knowledge

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2012
In Masaka, Tonkolili District, Sierra Leone, Memenatu Conteh and her friend demonstrate the improved hand-washing techniques they have learned through their school's Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) Club. The club seeks to improve hygiene and sanitation both at the school and in the village.

World Toilet Day, 19 November, is an international day of action aimed to break the taboo around toilets and draw attention to the global sanitation challenge, raising global awareness of the daily struggle for proper sanitation that a staggering 2.5 billion people face.

The event brings together different groups, such as media, the private sector, development organizations and civil society in a global movement to advocate for safe toilets.

For more information on World Toilet Day, click here.

TONKOLILI, Sierra Leone, 19 November 2012 – Fourteen-year-old Memenatu Conteh had been exposed to many of the dangers that are linked to poor sanitation and hygiene.

She missed school because she had to travel to the Makkrugbe clinic for treatment for severe diarrhoea.

She also stepped on a thorn when she was on her way into the bush to defecate, which resulted in a painful infection. One of her brothers was bitten by a snake while defecating in the bush and was unable to walk for some time.

But that was before the School-Led Total Sanitation (SLTS) programme began.

Water, sanitation and hygiene programme rolled out

Memenatu attends TDC Primary School in Masaka. TDC Masaka is one of six schools in the Tonkolili District that has been taking part in the School Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) Project. The project is helping schools to provide child-friendly WASH facilities and to conduct School Sanitation and Hygiene Education and SLTS in schools in the district.

As part of SLTS, Memenatu has learned how to avoid the challenges she faced earlier. She has also joined the WASH Club at her school, taking the energy she shows on the football field and applying it to improving hygiene and sanitation both at her school and in the village in which she lives.

Knowledge shared with the community triggers action

The 12 children of the WASH Club, two teachers and the School Management Committee Chairperson have taken part in intensive training and committed to ensuring that hygiene and sanitation practices are not only upheld at the school, but are also taken out into the community.

TDC Masaka’s WASH Club members and the teachers have been so dedicated and their presentations so compelling that Masaka village has triggered itself into action. The demonstrations have helped the community visualize the link between open defecation and disease.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2012
Children from WASH Club demonstrate the techniques they have used to trigger the community to improve its WASH facilities. The village has been declared open defecation free.

The community has constructed latrines and hand-washing facilities. In fact, Masaka village has now been declared open defecation free, which means that each household now has access to its own latrines and hand-washing facilities. 

Club’s work is ongoing

With victory over open defecation declared, the work of the WASH Club is still ongoing. According to Memunatu, “Sometimes we go round the village after school to ask people to construct latrines, and those who have not completed their latrines to do so. We also advise them to sweep around their toilets and compounds. We tell them to always cover the holes of their latrines. We go to house after house to check on them and give the messages.”

She explains that even their closest relatives have required some encouragement. “Even my uncle had to be reminded before he finished his toilet work,” she says.

Now the children are sharing their knowledge further afield. Head teacher of the school Mohamed A. Kamara describes the children’s work to encourage surrounding communities to become open defecation free: “They go around not only in this community, but in other communities like 5-Mile, even Mayumto, on sensitization tours, telling people how to prevent disease. They sometimes sing songs, and we have been given a megaphone so that we can use it on such expeditions. They usually present small plays/skits depicting what the people should/should not do to avoid disease.”

What a difference sanitation has made

Memenatu says, “[W]hat a difference the SLTS has made in our lives as pupils, to the school and to the community as a whole. Before the programme started, we did not know anything about brushing the compound or how to keep it clean. But now that we have been taught about the importance of being healthy, we do it every day. We did not sweep or cover the toilet holes before. We just left them open. But now, we have learnt all of that, and we practise it always.”

Memenatu says that she wants to continue to be part of the WASH Club, and continue to share the knowledge that she has gained. “I want to continue because my brother used to get sick. But, after digging the toilet, he has not fallen sick again. We are no longer suffering from any sicknesses in our house. That is why I like this project.”


 

 

Social media

New enhanced search