塞拉利昂

通过向妇女提供免费医疗服务,降低塞拉利昂孕产妇死亡风险

“健康的妇女,让世界更美好”–追踪产妇、新生儿和儿童的生存状况

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
哈瓦.巴里产后患上子痫(一种危及生命的妊娠并发症),在塞拉里昂博城政府医院治疗后痊愈。

联合国儿童基金会和其它在产妇保健和儿童生存方面的有关国际领导人在华盛顿会面,旨在加快全球合作,减少孕产妇和儿童的死亡。下面是其中一个有关故事。

塞拉里昂博城,2010年6月7日– 四月下旬的一天,哈瓦.巴里的儿子刚刚在塞拉利昂南部的博城政府医院出生,但哈瓦很有可能无法活下来照顾儿子。40岁巴里女士患上了妊娠并发症子痫,伴有不时地癫痫和抽搐。

 点击此处查看视频

.伊尼扬修女说,这位母亲目前情况稳定,但回家之前还要在医院观察一段时间。她说:“孩子出生以后,她的血压已经降下去了。”

怀孕的风险

塞拉利昂是世界上妇女怀孕风险率最大的国家之一。数十年的内战使国内的医疗基础设施遭到破坏,很多家庭不得不长途跋涉才能到达医疗机构。人民十分贫困,支付不起治疗费用,经常不得不用土方子来进行分娩护理。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0700/Asselin
塞拉利昂首都弗里敦一所医院的药房门口,病人们排队领取药方。2010年4月,塞拉利昂政府启动了为怀孕、哺乳期妇女及5岁以下儿童免除医疗服务费用的项目。

这造成的后果是,塞拉里昂1/8的妇女死于与妊娠有关的并发症,而在工业化国家,这种死亡风险只有1/8000。

菲利普.科罗马(Philip Koroma)博士是塞拉里昂南部地区唯一的妇科医生,他服务的地区大约有250万人口。最近有一名妇女来接受检查,科罗马医生发现她已经比预产期晚了一周,于是立即让她入院观察,并有可能对她进行剖腹产手术。

他说:“我有很多事要做,所以每天都要工作,即使星期天也不能休息。”

免费医疗服务政策

造成怀孕和分娩期间并发症的原因还有其它一些不良的健康指标,如营养摄入不足和女性的割礼习俗等。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1039/Asselin
塞拉利昂总统厄内斯特.巴伊.科罗马(Ernest Bai Koroma)(右)在首都弗里敦公主基督教妇产医院看望一名妇女。

另外一名博城医院的医护人员贝蒂.帕特马修女说:“造成产妇死亡的一个重要原因是大出血。很多病人由于营养摄入不足而患有贫血症,因此会大出血,需要及时输血。如果不能及时赶到医院,可能就会因此而死亡。”

面对这一危机,联合国儿童基金会同塞拉利昂政府及其它包括欧盟、世界银行和 英国援助机构在内的伙伴合作,为怀孕和哺乳期妇女以及5岁以下的儿童提供免费医疗服务。这项政策废除了医疗护理的费用,并在所有公共医疗机构提供免费药物及治疗。

塞拉利昂约120万妇女和儿童将从2010年颁发的这项新政策中受益。

广泛需求

为进一步贯彻免费医疗政策,塞拉利昂政府开始在全国培训新一代的专业医护人员。然而目前医护人员的数量还无法满足产妇护理的广泛需求。从巴里女士的例子可以看出,医护人员都竭其所能来挽救母亲的生命。

博城医院里,巴里女士在护士的悉心照顾下逐渐恢复,她的新生儿也第一次接种了疫苗。一天后,她顺利度过了子痫最艰难的一关,终于克服了妊娠并发症而活了下来。

随着塞拉利昂免费医疗服务政策的进一步实施,越来越多的妇女将会拥有更加美好和健康的生活。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者努比亚.利马就有关塞拉利昂为改善产妇健康状况的报道。
 视频 |

搜索

At a glance: Sierra Leone

Reducing the dangers of pregnancy in Sierra Leone through free women's health care

'Healthy Women, Better World' – Tracking maternal, newborn and child survival

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Hawa Barrie recovers in Bo Government Hospital, Sierra Leone, after giving birth to her son while she was suffering from eclampsia, a life-threatening complication of pregnancy.

UNICEF and other international leaders in maternal health and child survival are meeting in Washington, DC, to accelerate a global campaign aimed at reducing deaths of pregnant women and young children. Here is one in a series of related stories.

BO, Sierra Leone, 7 June 2010 – In late April, just after her baby boy was born at Bo Government Hospital in southern Sierra Leone, it was by no means certain that Hawa Barrie would survive to raise him. Ms. Barrie, 40, was suffering from eclampsia, a pregnancy-related complication characterized by seizures and convulsions.

 VIDEO: Watch now

Sister Affiong Inyang, the nurse attending Ms. Barrie, said the new mother was in stable condition but would be monitored at the hospital before being sent home. "For now her blood pressure has gone down because the baby has been delivered,” she explained.

Dangers of pregnancy

Sierra Leone is one of the most dangerous places on earth to be pregnant. Its health infrastructure was destroyed during the country’s decade-long civil war, and many families must travel long distances to reach health facilities. They are often too poor to pay for treatment and, all too frequently, must rely on traditional methods of care during childbirth.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-0700/Asselin
Patients queue to collect prescriptions from a hospital pharmacy in Freetown, the capital of Sierra Leone. In April 2010, the government launched a programme abolishing fees for health-care services for pregnant and lactating women and for children under five.

The result is that one in eight women in Sierra Leone dies from pregnancy-related complications. In industrialized countries, that risk is only 1 in 8,000.

Dr. Philip Koroma, the only gynaecologist in the southern part of Sierra Leone, serves an area comprising roughly 2.5 million people. While scanning a woman on her first visit recently, he could see that she was a week over term; he immediately admitted her for observation and a possible caesarean section.

"I have a lot of work, so I work every day, even on Sundays," he said.

Free health-care policy

Other negative health indicators, including poor nutrition and the widespread practice of female genital mutilation/cutting, also contribute to complications during pregnancy and childbirth.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1039/Asselin
Sierra Leone's President Ernest Bai Koroma (right) greets a woman and her newborn at the Princess Christian Maternity Hospital in Freetown, the capital.

“One of the major causes of maternal death is bleeding,” said Sister Betty Patema, another health worker at Bo hospital. “You find many patients have anaemia from poor diet, so they bleed and need blood transfusion. If they do not get to the hospital in time, this can even lead to death.”

In response to this crisis, UNICEF is working with the Government of Sierra Leone and other partners – including the European Union, the World Bank and UK Aid – to introduce free health care for pregnant women, lactating mothers and children under the age of five. The policy abolishes fees for medical attention and provides drugs and treatments free of charge in every public health facility in the country.

Around 1.2 million mothers and children in Sierra Leone are expected to benefit from the new policy in 2010.

Massive demand

In line with the free health-care policy, Sierra Leone is also working to train a new generation of health-care professionals across the country. Today, however, health workers are still struggling to the meet massive demand for maternal care. As Ms. Barrie’s case shows, they do whatever they can to save mothers’ lives.

Back at Bo hospital, while Ms. Barrie recovered under the watchful eye of the nurses, her newborn son was taken for his first inoculations. A day later, she was through the worst of her eclampsia. It was clear that she would survive the complications of her pregnancy.

As Sierra Leone continues to push toward universal free care for its babies and new mothers, more women will have a better chance to live long and healthy lives.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Nubia Lima reports on efforts to improve maternal health in Sierra Leone.
 VIDEO high | low

New enhanced search