塞拉利昂

塞拉利昂宣布为母亲和儿童提供免费的医疗服务

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2010/Asselin
在塞拉利昂邦特省(Bonthe),一辆由联合国儿童基金会提供的摩托救护车送赛巴图.科罗马前往医院。

依莎.戴维斯报道

塞拉利昂邦特地区,2010年4月27日 - 28岁的赛巴图.科罗马正在摩托救护车上无助地呻吟着。她因怀孕并发症被送到达马特鲁仲(Mattru Jong)的“联合兄弟会基督医院”,马特鲁仲是塞拉利昂邦特地区的一个渔村。

科罗马在家中产下一名死婴。经过10多个小时的努力,医生在她的子宫里找到了胎盘。

路途遥远,费用昂贵

从科罗马的村子到医院有25公里,需要2个小时。邻居们先抬着科罗马来到通往马特鲁仲的主路上,然后将她放到一辆摇摇晃晃的木轮车上,最后才由摩托救护车一路颠簸地把她送到医院。

科罗马一到医院,医护人员赶忙把她送往手术室。由于该地区没有血库,她的妹妹给她输了400毫升的血。医院的治疗让她活了下来。

两天后,她可以出院了,她的医疗费是50美元。对于住在塞拉利昂最贫穷地区的一位四个孩子的母亲来说,这是一笔相当大的开支。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2010/Asselin
赛巴图.科罗马的家位于塞拉利昂西部的一个村庄,她出院后,丈夫热情地欢迎她回家。

废除医疗费用

科罗马生过八个孩子,有四个都是在不到五岁时就夭折了。但这是她第一次产下死婴。迫于经济压力,她不得不在家分娩。由于提供产前服务的诊所费用相对较高,她也无法前往。

像科罗马这样的例子非常普遍。塞拉利昂是世界上产妇和儿童死亡率最高的地区之一。据联合国儿童基金会最近的数据显示,塞拉利昂妇女分娩时的死亡率大约是八分之一,将近五分之一的儿童在五岁前夭折。

塞拉利昂总统厄内斯特.巴伊.科罗马(Ernest Bai Koroma)宣布了为孕妇、哺乳期妇女及儿童提供免费医疗服务的政策。这一政策的颁发意味着将在该国废除医疗护理的费用,并在所有公共医疗机构提供免费药物和治疗。仅今年,就预计将有120万名母亲和儿童从中受益。

实质的支持

为支持这项废除医疗费的政策,联合国儿童基金会正在向塞拉利昂提供基本药物。儿基会提供物资,为五岁以下儿童治疗疟疾、腹泻以及其它可用疫苗预防的疾病和营养不良等病症,并为产妇提供了产前和育后的药物,以帮助改善她们的健康状况。

此外,联合国儿童基金会还为医院提供摩托救护车(就像把科罗马送往马特鲁仲医院的摩托车)。科罗马说:“这辆车救了我的命。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone announces free health care for mothers and children

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2010/Asselin
Seybatu Koroma rides a UNICEF-supported motorcycle ambulance on her way to a hospital in Bonthe, Sierra Leone.

By Issa Davies

BONTHE DISTRICT, Sierra Leone, 27 April 2010 – Sabatu Koroma, 28, groaned as she lay helplessly on the stretcher of the motorcycle ambulance. She had just arrived at the United Brethren in Christ Hospital in Mattru Jong – a fishing village in Sierra Leone’s Bonthe district – where she was rushed following complications with her pregnancy.

Ms. Koroma's baby had been still-born at home in her village. After a more than 10-hour labour, the placenta was caught in the mother's womb.

A long journey and high costs

It took two hours to make the 25-km journey to the hospital. First, Ms. Koroma was carried on hammock by neighbours to the main road leading to Mattru Jong. Then she was placed on a rickety ferry made of logs before the motorbike ambulance carried her along the dusty and unpaved road to the hospital.

Nurses and paramedics rushed Ms. Koroma to the operating room when she arrived at the hospital. Because there are no blood banks in the area, she was administered two units of blood donated by her sister. The care she received at the hospital ensured that she would survive.

After two days, she was discharged along with a bill for $50 – a significant sum for a mother of four living in one of Sierra Leone’s poorest rural areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2010/Asselin
Seybatu Koroma is greeted by her husband as she returns from the hospital to her village in western Sierra Leone.

Abolishing medical fees

Out of eight births, four of Ms. Koroma’s children had died before the age of five – but this was her first still birth. Lack of money had forced her to deliver at home. She was also unable to attend the recommended ante-natal clinics because of their relatively high cost.

Ms. Koroma’s case is not uncommon. Sierra Leone has maternal and child mortality rates that are among the highest in the world. According to the latest UNICEF data, a woman’s risk of maternal death in Sierra Leone is about one in eight over the course of her life. Nearly one out of every five children dies before reaching his or her fifth birthday.

Sierra Leone’s President, Ernest Bai Koroma, has announced a free health-care policy for pregnant women, lactating mothers and children who under five. The policy will abolish fees paid for medical attention and provide drugs and treatments free of charge in every public health facility in the country. Around 1.2 million mothers and children are expected to benefit from the new policy this year alone.

Practical support

UNICEF is supporting the abolition of medical fees by continuing to provide essential drugs across Sierra Leone. It contributes supplies to address malaria, diarrhoea, vaccine-preventable diseases and malnutrition among children under five, as well as ante-natal and post-natal drugs to support maternal health.

In addition, the agency provides hospitals with motorcycle ambulances – just like the one that rushed Ms. Koroma to the hospital in Mattru Jong. "This ambulance has saved my life," Ms. Koroma said.


 

 

New enhanced search