塞拉利昂

携手支持塞拉利昂的女童教育

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2008
一个小女孩展示她得到的联合国儿童基金会提供的教科书。

乌玛如.缶法纳报道

塞拉利昂弗里敦,2009年9月8日 – 三名年龄不到十岁的儿童在弗里敦的考屯垂(Cotton Tree)附近露宿,乞求施舍。他们没有上学。在历史上,这里信众祈求和平与繁荣的地方。

塞拉利昂在联合国人类发展指数中排在末尾,它是世界上最贫穷的国家之一。半数以上的人口生活在贫困线以下。这种情况进而影响到教育,特别是女童的教育。

贫困与虐待

由于贫困导致家庭收入严重匮乏,家长和监护人期待他们的孩子和受监护的儿童能去挣额外的钱。这往往造成儿童辍学,或从来不曾上学。

许多地区的儿童还遭受着言语、身体和性的虐待、忽视和剥削。

对教师工资和学校补贴的迟付,以及不合格教师普遍存在的现象,加重了家长和监护人的经济负担。难怪许多儿童会认为学校的高昂费用是辍学的主要原因。

携手支持教育

联合国儿童基金会与塞拉利昂教育部、青年和体育部密切合作,以改变儿童、特别是女童的辍学趋势。八月份,一份新的《失学研究报告》发布之后,那些困扰儿童在学校学习的主要问题有望得到解决。

联合国儿童基金会支持塞拉利昂教育部提高教师培训的品质和相关性,并加速增加每年参加培训的教师人数。

联合国儿童基金会还帮助政府和教师工会制定了一个教师行为准则。联合国儿童基金会每年都支持由教育部主办的全国“女童教育周”活动,提醒社区有关教育,尤其是女童教育的重要性;并且鼓励更多的家长让孩子们每天去上学,完成他们的学业。

女童教育项目

增加更多的女童奖学金项目会对教育产生巨大影响;同时,宗教领袖和商业社区对童工问题的宣传也将有助于改善这种情况。

随着加倍努力的工作,相信塞拉利昂可以实现“千年发展目标”中的第二目标 —— 普及小学教育。具体的行动将引领更多的儿童走进教室,并使他们留在那里不走。

正如甘地所说,为儿童打开一扇学校的大门,就是为他关闭了一扇监狱的门。


 

 

回到正轨

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

At a glance: Sierra Leone

Partnering for girls’ education in Sierra Leone

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sierra Leone/2008
A young girl receives a UNICEF-supplied textbook to assist with her education.

By Umaru Fofana

FREETOWN, Sierra Leone, 8 September 2009 – Three children, all seemingly under 10 years of age, are camped around Freetown’s Cotton Tree – a historic site for offering prayers for peace and prosperity – begging for handouts. They do not go to school.

Situated at the bottom of the UN Human Development Index, Sierra Leone is one of the poorest nations in the world. More than half of its people live below the poverty line. And this, in turn, affects education, especially for girls.

Poverty and abuse

As poverty wreaks havoc on family incomes, parents and guardians look to their children and wards for extra money. This often leads to children dropping out of school, or prevents them from going in the first place.

Children in many parts of the country are also exposed to verbal, physical and sexual abuse, neglect and exploitation.

The late payment of teachers’ salaries and school subsidies, as well as the prevalence of unqualified teachers, has added to the financial burden on parents and guardians. Not surprisingly, many children cite the high cost of schooling as the primary reason for dropping out.

Partnering for education

UNICEF is working closely with the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports to change the trend of children – especially girls – dropping out of school. In the aftermath of the launch of a new ‘Out-of-School Study Report’ in August, the core problems besetting children’s schooling are expected to be addressed.

UNICEF is supporting the ministry to improve the quality and relevance of the teacher training and to accelerate the number of teachers being trained each year.

UNICEF has also helped the government and the teachers’ union to develop a code of conduct for all teachers. UNICEF annually supports a nationwide Girls’ Education Week campaign run by the education ministry to sensitize communities about the importance of education, especially for girls, and encourage more parents to send their children to school every day and complete their education.

Girls’ education programmes

Adding more girls’ scholarship programmes will have a huge impact on education, while the sensitization of religious leaders and business community on child labour will also help improve the situation.

With accelerated efforts, Millenium Development Goal 2 – achieving universal primary education – is believed to be attainable in Sierra Leone. Concrete actions will bring more children to the classrooms and let them stay there.

As Ghandi once put it, open the doors of a school for a child, and a prison door is closed before him.


 

 

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search