塞拉利昂

塞拉利昂通过“学校领导的全面卫生”项目改善个人卫生习惯

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/DeFerrari
塞拉利昂E.M小学的儿童们正在跳宣传个人卫生习惯的舞蹈。

塞拉利昂洛科港,2009年7月1日–对塞拉利昂洛科港地区拉雅E.M.小学的孩子们来说,保持良好的个人卫生是每天的例行工作。

 12岁的法特玛塔是学校健康俱乐部的一名自豪的成员,她说:“我们通过游戏和体育活动学习良好的卫生习惯。很好玩,但我们也肩负着严肃的使命,要向我们的家庭和朋友传递这些信息。”

在学校卫生俱乐部成员和他们的老师介入之前,由卫生条件差而引起的传染病,一直是在拉雅很普遍的问题。现在,在俱乐部的努力下,周围村庄的大多数家庭都有厕所可用。

儿童是改变的推动力

由联合国儿童基金会和当地一个非政府组织支持的健康俱乐部,每周活动两次,目标是在洛科港促进厕所的建设和使用。

健康俱乐部是“学校领导的全面卫生(SLTS)”项目的一个例子,它赋予儿童力量,使他们成为改变社区的推动力,鼓励当地的家庭建造厕所,结束户外排便的习惯。

法特玛塔和她的家人是在“学校领导的全面卫生(SLTS)”项目中采取行动的一个家庭。 法特玛塔的父亲去世之后,她家的生活非常困难。她的母亲要抚养九个孩子,没什么钱买卫生用品。由于缺少设施,整个家庭需要到附近的灌木丛中上厕所。

法特玛塔说:“我以前很害怕去上厕所,尤其怕蛇。”

拉雅开展“学校领导的全面卫生(SLTS)”项目,鼓励法特玛塔的母亲做出改变。今年早些时候,她在邻居的帮助下,开始利用当地的材料建造厕所。现在厕所已经建成,全家人每天都在使用它。

让儿童健康并接受教育

联合国儿童基金会认为,与学校的学生合作,在各社区推广良好的个人卫生和环境卫生行为是最有效的方法之一。塞拉利昂非常需要这种干预活动。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/DeFerrari
E.M小学的儿童们唱宣传环境卫生的歌曲。

目前,只有11%的塞拉利昂人有改良的卫生设施可用,只有53%使用改善的水资源。缺乏卫生设施和个人卫生习惯差也是塞拉利昂五岁以下儿童高死亡率的重要原因。

传染性疾病,如腹泻也会造成许多学龄儿童常常缺课。这些疾病需要昂贵的医疗费用,使财务条件有限的家庭更加拮据。

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴致力于确保“学校领导的全面卫生(SLTS)”项目与其他卫生教育干预活动相结合,使像法特玛塔这样的儿童能保持健康,继续他们的学业。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Sierra Leone

Improving hygiene through ‘school-led total sanitation’ in Sierra Leone

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/DeFerrari
Children at E.M Primary School in Sierra Leone take part in a hygiene promotion dance.

PORT LOKO, Sierra Leone, 1 July 2009 – Practicing good hygiene is anything but a chore for the children of E.M. Primary School in Laya, in the Port Loko district of Sierra Leone.

“We learn about good hygiene through games and sports,” says Fatmata, 12, a proud member of the School Health Club. “It’s a lot of fun, but we also have a serious responsibility to pass these messages on to our families and friends.”
 
Before the School Health Club members and their teachers got involved, infectious diseases caused by poor sanitation had been rife in Laya. Now, thanks to the club’s efforts, the majority of families in the surrounding villages have access to a latrine.

Children as agents of change

The club, which meets twice a week, is supported by UNICEF and a local non-governmental organization. Its goal is to promote the construction and use of latrines in Port Loko. 

As an example of a School-led Total Sanitation (SLTS) programme, the club empowers children to be the agents of change within their communities by encouraging local families to construct latrines and end the practice of open defecation. 

Fatmata and her family are in one of the households that took action as a result of the SLTS programme. Following the death of Fatmata’s father, life for her family was difficult. With nine children to support, her mother had little money available to spend on sanitation supplies. Due to a lack of facilities, the entire family was required to practice open defecation in the surrounding bush.

“I used to be so afraid of going to the toilet, especially because of the snakes,” explained Fatmata.

The introduction of SLTS to Laya encouraged Fatmata’s mother to make a change. Earlier this year, with help from her neighbours, she began to construct a latrine using local materials. The latrine is now complete and the family uses it on a daily basis. 

Keeping children healthy and educated

UNICEF believes that working with schoolchildren is one of the most effective methods of promoting good hygiene and sanitation practices across communities. And in Sierra Leone, such interventions are greatly needed.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/DeFerrari
Children at E.M. Primary School sing sanitation promotion songs.

Only 11 per cent of Sierra Leoneans currently have access to improved sanitation facilities, and only 53 per cent use improved water sources. Lack of sanitary facilities and poor hygiene are also contributing factors to Sierra Leone’s exceptionally high mortality rate among children under the age of five.

Communicable diseases, such as diarrhoea, also cause many school-age children to regularly miss school. Families living on limited finances are further strained when these diseases require costly medical treatments.

UNICEF and its partners are working to ensure that SLTS, combined with other health and education interventions, enables children like Fatmata to remain healthy and continue their education.


 

 

New enhanced search