塞尔维亚共和国

网球巨星德诺瓦克.德约科维奇担任联合国儿童基金会塞尔维亚亲善大使

普利延卡.普鲁提报道

美国纽约,2011 年 8 月 30 日 — 世界排名第一的网球选手德约科维奇将促进保护儿童权利事业的发展。网坛巨星德约科维奇昨天在纽约被任命为联合国儿童基金会塞尔维亚亲善大使。目前他正在纽约参加美网公开赛,争夺他今年的第三个大满贯。

视频:2011 年 8 月 29 日 — 联合国儿童基金会通讯员普利延卡.普鲁提报道美国网球公开赛期间,副执行主任莱玛.萨拉赫 (Rima Salah) 任命世界网球冠军德约科维奇为联合国儿童基金会塞尔维亚亲善大使。 在Realplayer中播放
任命仪式上,联合国儿童基金会副执行主任莱玛.萨拉赫说,儿基会与德约科维奇是“天作之合”。

“大家都知道,德约科维奇是世界网球冠军,”她说,“他也是儿童事业的倡导者,他对促进塞尔维亚儿童的权利和最佳利益充满热情。德约科维奇对儿童权利事业做出了坚定的承诺,这将有助于创造一个适合儿童的世界。”

作为联合国儿童基金会亲善大使,德约科维奇先生将自愿为解决塞尔维亚儿童面临的问题而献出自己的时间、并致力于提高社会关注度。学龄前儿童的教育需要得到改善,因此,他将首先提高社会对这一点的认识。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF 2011/Cortellesi
在美国纽约举行的美网公开赛期间,网球巨星德诺瓦克.德约科维奇被正式任命为联合国儿童基金会塞尔维亚亲善大使。
“能够与联合国儿童基金会合作,帮助提高社会对幼儿教育重要性的认识,我感到非常荣幸。”他说。“我期待着与联合国儿童基金会合作,帮助改善整个塞尔维亚儿童的生活,尤其是那些没有太多机会学习、发展、充分发挥潜能的儿童。”

“儿童的榜样”

萨拉赫女士赞同他的观点,也强调了塞尔维亚和世界各地儿童的早期教育的重要性。

“早期教育的缺失使儿童失去了学习和未来成就事业的重要机会,也意味着他们只有较少的机会,与同伴玩耍、进行社交、学习体育运动,”她说。“但我们知道,在诺瓦克的帮助下,儿童基金会能够帮助改变这种状况。”

在对德约科维奇先生致辞时,她补充说:你的热情和决心,将激励我们所有的人。你能够成为联合国儿童基金会的大使,我们感到非常荣幸。我们将共同实现诸多目标。你是众多塞尔维亚青年的榜样。”

联合国儿童基金会已经在塞尔维亚运行 60 多年了,一直致力于保护和促进儿童权利。通过与政府和非政府组织合作伙伴的共同努力,联合国儿童基金会将努力使该国最边缘化的儿童和青少年也获得帮助 — 包括来自最贫穷家庭的儿童、残疾儿童和罗姆人社区的儿童。

“一切皆有可能”

德约科维奇先生四岁时开始打网球,16 岁时首次参加专业比赛。自那以来,他已经赢得了三个大满贯单打冠军:2008 年和 2011 年澳大利亚网球公开赛冠军、2011 年温布尔登网球公开赛冠军。在这个过程中,他成为首个代表塞尔维亚赢得大满贯单打冠军的球员。

“我希望帮助塞尔维亚儿童实现他们自己的梦想。”德约科维奇先生昨天说。“希望帮助他们了解,他们享有权利,而且这些权利应该得到保护。希望他们相信,一切皆有可能。”


 

 

搜索

Serbia

Tennis superstar Novak Djokovic named UNICEF Serbia Ambassador

By Priyanka Pruthi

NEW YORK, USA, 30 August 2011 – The world’s top-ranked tennis player, Novak Djokovic, is set to champion the cause of child rights. The tennis superstar was appointed as a UNICEF National Ambassador for Serbia yesterday at a ceremony in New York, where he’s competing in the US Open and vying for his third Grand Slam title of the year.

VIDEO: 29 August 2011 - UNICEF correspondent Priyanka Pruthi reports on world tennis champion Novak Djokovic's appointment as UNICEF Serbia Ambassador in an event with acting Deputy Executive Director Rima Salah at the US Open site in New York.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

At the ceremony, UNICEF acting Deputy Executive Director Rima Salah said Mr. Djokovic was “a natural fit” for the organization.

“You all know Novak Djokovic as a world tennis champion,” she said. “He is also a champion for children, passionate about his work in promoting the rights and best interests of children in Serbia. Novak’s unwavering commitment to child rights will contribute to creating a world fit for children.”

As a UNICEF Ambassador, Mr. Djokovic will volunteer his time and lend his voice to issues that affect young Serbian children. He will begin by increasing awareness of the need to improve education for children of pre-school age.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF 2011/Cortellesi
Tennis star Novak Djokovic will serve as UNICEF National Ambassador for Serbia. The official appointment took place during the US Open in New York.

“I am very honoured to partner with UNICEF to help increase awareness for the importance of early childhood education,” he said. “I look forward to working with UNICEF to help make a difference in the lives of young children throughout Serbia, particularly those who have fewer opportunities to learn and develop to their full potential.”

'Role model for children’

Ms. Salah echoed the importance of early education for children in Serbia and around the world.

“In addition to missing a key window of opportunity for learning and future achievement, being out of pre-school means children have fewer chances to play and socialize with peers or to learn sports,” she said. “But we know with Novak’s help, UNICEF can help change this.”

Addressing Mr. Djokovic, she added: Your passion and commitment inspire us all. We will accomplish so much together, and we are privileged to have you as our ambassador. You are a role model to so many Serbian youth.”

UNICEF has been working in Serbia for more than 60 years to protect and promote children’s rights. In its joint efforts with the government and non-governmental partners, UNICEF aims to reach the country’s most marginalized children and adolescents – including children from the poorest families, children with disabilities and those who are from Roma communities.

‘Anything is possible’

Mr. Djokovic began playing tennis at the age of four and made his professional debut at 16. Since then, he has won three Grand Slam singles titles: the 2008 and 2011 Australian Open championships and the 2011 Wimbledon championship. In the process, he became the first player representing Serbia to win a Grand Slam singles title.

“I want to help Serbian children realize their dreams.” Mr. Djokovic said yesterday. “I want to help them understand that they have rights and that those rights should be protected. I want them to believe that anything is possible.”


 

 

New enhanced search