卢旺达

卢旺达第一夫人和联合国副秘书长展望卢旺达女童和妇女的未来

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Ngoboka
卢旺达共和国第一夫人,珍妮特.卡加梅阁下,出席位于基加利的卡依如警察医院落成典礼。

2010年5月21日,卢旺达基加利:卢旺达共和国第一夫人珍妮特.卡加梅阁下本周早些时候在这里出席了基加利的卡依如警察医院落成典礼。在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,第一夫人办公室和“种子”(Imbuto)基金会、卡依如警察医院将为以妇女和儿童为主的61,000多人 提供服务。 

通过提供防止母婴疾病传染服务,医院产房的孕产监护服务将为感染艾滋病毒的妇女提供一个使婴儿避免感染病毒的机会。毗邻的依萨格一站式中心可为遭到儿童暴力、家庭和性别暴力的受害者提供庇护。 

为了制止性别歧视,该设施采用了综合医疗卫生服务模式。和卡加梅夫人一起出席落成典礼的还有卢旺达内政部部长、警察署秘书长、西班牙性别平等部长与卫生部常务秘书长,及联合国儿童基金会驻卢旺达副代表珍.穆伊塔博士。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Ngoboka
联合国副秘书长阿莎罗丝.米吉罗(左)在参观非洲女教育家论坛创办的女子高中时与女孩们热情交流,该校位于卢旺达伽沙堡行政区的基兹。

注重安全孕产

卡依如的孕产服务朝着实现千年发展目标和卢旺达的安全孕产倡议目标迈进了一步。这将促进该国所有妇女安全怀孕和安全分娩必要性的公共安全意识。

“卢旺达百万儿童、女童和妇女的生活改善,特别是生育年龄需得到最大的关注,”警署秘书长及医疗服务处长助理威尔逊.儒般达纳博士说道。 

“ 在一个具有远见卓识领导班子和不同领域内取得巨大成就的国家中,每10万妇女中就有750名死于分娩的事实是不能接受的,”他补充道。“这家医院将为政府的努力而作出贡献。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/Ngobok
卢旺达非洲女教育家论坛女子高中校园外,联合国副秘书长阿莎罗丝.米吉罗(中)由联合国驻卢旺达澳瑞利阿巴诺茨协调员、学校女校长萨拉.英格壁、联合国儿童基金会驻卢旺达副代表珍.穆伊塔博士及非洲女教育家论坛副主席佘玛一起陪同参观。

激励女童学习

该医院于5月18日的落成典礼,恰逢联合国副秘书长阿莎罗丝.米吉罗访问位于卢旺达伽沙堡行政区基兹的由非洲女教育家论坛创办的女子高中。(非洲女教育家论坛:FAWE是一个非政府组织,在整个非洲大陆促进教育系统的性别平等和优质教育。) 

作为一个激励他人的典范,米吉罗女士强调了女童教育的重要性。 

“当你还是女童的时候,你就得到了上学、努力工作、不断努力、集中目标等各种机会,”她告诉女学生们,“只有天空才是你的极限。”

米吉罗女士支持在卢旺达和非洲其他地区效仿由非洲女教育家论坛创办的女子高中模式,并赞扬了那些为帮助女童成功而辛勤工作的教师们。她在卢旺达参加“领导在促进性别平等中发挥的作用国际论坛”,该论坛5月17日在卢旺达总统卡加梅阁下的主持下正式开幕。


 

 

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

Rwanda

First Lady and UN Deputy Secretary-General look to the future of Rwanda's girls and women

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Ngoboka
Her Excellency Jeanette Kagame, First Lady of the Republic of Rwanda, at the inauguration of the Kacyiru Police Hospital in Kigali.

KIGALI, Rwanda, 21 May 2010 – Her Excellency Jeanette Kagame, the First Lady of the Republic of Rwanda, inaugurated the Kacyiru Police Hospital here earlier this week. With support from UNICEF, the Office of the First Lady and the Imbuto Foundation, Kacyiru Police Hospital delivers services to over 61,000 people – primarily women and children.

Through prevention-of-mother-to-child-transmission services, the maternity ward in the hospital’s women's pavilion gives pregnant women living with HIV a better chance of delivering babies free from the virus. The adjoining Isange One Stop Centre provides a haven to victims of child, domestic and gender-based violence.

The facility is a model of integrated health services designed to overcome gender discrimination. Joining Ms. Kagame at its inauguration were the Rwandan Minister of Interior, the Commissioner General of Police, the Minister of Gender and Equality of Spain and the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Health – as well as UNICEF Rwanda Deputy Representative Dr. Jane Muita.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Ngoboka
UN Deputy Secretary-General Asha-Rose Migiro (left) takes part in a lively interaction with the girls on the tour of the FAWE Girls' High School in Gisozi, located in Rwanda’s Gasabo district.

Focus on safe motherhood

The maternity services at Kacyiru are a step towards realization of the Millennium Development Goals and the objectives of the Rwandan Safe Motherhood Initiative, which promotes increased public awareness of the need to make pregnancy and childbirth safe for all of the country’s women.

“The improvement of the life of millions of Rwandan children, girls and women – especially those of child-bearing age – is the utmost concern,” said Dr. Wilson Rubandana, Assistant Commissioner of Police and Director of Medical Services.

“It is not acceptable that 750 out of 100,000 women die during childbirth in a country with outstanding visionary leadership and tremendous achievements registered in other sectors,” he added. “This hospital will make a contribution to the efforts of the government.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Ngobok
Outside FAWE Girls' High School in Rwanda, UN Deputy Secretary-General Asha-Rose Migiro (centre) is flanked by UN Resident Coordinator in Rwanda Aurelien Agbenonci, school headmistress Sarah Ingabire, UNICEF Rwanda Deputy Representative Dr. Jane Muita and Forum for African Women Educationalists Deputy Chairperson Shema.

Inspiring girls to learn

The inauguration of the hospital on 18 May coincided with a visit by United Nations Deputy Secretary-General Asha-Rose Migiro to the FAWE Girls' High School in Gisozi, located in Rwanda’s Gasabo district. (FAWE – the Forum for African Women Educationalists – is a non-governmental organization that advocates for gender equity and quality education in school systems across the continent.)

An inspirational role model herself, Ms. Migiro emphasized the importance of girls’ education.

“When, as a girl, you are given the opportunity to attend school, work hard, be consistent, stay focused,” she told the schoolgirls, “the sky [is] the limit.”

Ms. Migiro supported idea of replicating the FAWE school model in other parts of Rwanda and Africa, and lauded the teachers for their work in facilitating girls’ success. She was in Rwanda to participate in the International Forum on the Role of Leadership in Promoting Gender Equality, which was officially opened by His Excellency the President of Rwanda Paul Kagame on 17 May.


 

 

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search