俄罗斯联邦

俄罗斯设立国家级的儿童权利监察员职位

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Kochineva
刚被任命为儿童权利监察员的阿列克谢.戈洛万。

俄罗斯莫斯科,2009年10月23日 – 9月1日是俄罗斯新学年开始的第一天,因此也被称为“知识日”。在这一天,俄罗斯儿童收到了一份特殊的礼物:俄罗斯总统德米特里.梅德韦杰夫颁布法令,任命阿列克谢.戈洛万(Alexei I. Golovan)出任新设立的俄罗斯国家级儿童权利监察员职位。

设立国家级的儿童权利监察员职位是俄罗斯政府遵照《儿童权利公约》,履行保护儿童权利义务的重要环节。这一职位的设立恰逢公约发表20周年,颇具象征意义。  

这个决定使俄罗斯成为率先在国家层面设立监察员的国家之一,还为其他国家做了很好的榜样。

更好地保护儿童权利

联合国儿童基金会驻俄罗斯联邦代表贝特朗.班韦尔(Bertrand Bainvel)说:“任命儿童权利监察员是俄罗斯迈出的意义重大且恰合时宜的一步。全球的实践证明儿童权利监察机构能确保人们更加关注在最高的政治级别上保护儿童权利,并能更有效地解决一些关键问题。

“我们可以看到在那些已经设立国家儿童权利监察机构的国家,儿童权利得到了更好的保护。决策过程考虑到了儿童的利益,并且与儿童相关政策也获得了恰当的资金支持。保证儿童权利监察员的完全独立性是至关重要的。”

俄罗斯的儿童权利观察员是联合国儿童基金会长期的合作伙伴。2005年,在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,俄罗斯24个地区设立了儿童权利监察员协会(在国家级和省级层面)。

做全球楷模

监察员们在与地方政府和联邦政府的合作中开展工作、进行独立的评估、监测儿童权利并在法庭上代表儿童的利益。他们还协助制定并促进恰当的政策和立法。

联合国儿童基金会在全球范围内推荐俄罗斯设立儿童权利监察员的做法。儿童权利监察员联邦职位的设立将进一步加强联合国儿童基金会驻俄罗斯办事处的工作。


 

 

儿童权利公约

搜索

Russian Federation

UNICEF applauds creation of the position of the Child Rights Ombudsperson at the national level

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Kochineva
Alexei Golovan, newly appointed Child Rights Ombudsperson under the President of Russia.

MOSCOW, Russia, 23 October 2009 – Alexei I. Golovan has been appointed to the newly created post of Child Rights Ombudsperson at the national level in Russia. Russian President Dmitry Medvedev, in a gift to all Russian children, made the decree on 1 September 2009, also known as the ’Day of Knowledge’ in Russia, the day when the school year traditionally starts.

UNICEF wholeheartedly welcomes the decision of the Federal government to review a draft law confirming the mandate of a Child Rights Ombudsperson (established by the Presidential order last September).

The creation of the position of a Child Rights Ombudsperson on the federal level is an important element in fulfilling the obligations to protect child rights assumed by the Russian Government under the Convention on the Rights of the Child. It is highly symbolic that it is happening on the 20th anniversary of the adoption of the Convention.  

With this decision, Russia has joined a group of leading countries with ombudspersons functioning at the national level and has also set a good example for other countries to follow.

Better protection for child rights

“The appointment of the Child Rights Ombudsperson is a significant and timely step,” said Bertrand Bainvel, UNICEF Representative in the Russian Federation. “International experience shows that the child rights ombudspersons institution ensures increased attention to the protection of child rights at the highest political level, with more effective resolution of critical issues.

“We can see that in those countries where national child rights ombudsperson institutions are in place, children’s rights are better protected, their interests are taken into account in decision making, and child-related policies are supported by appropriate financing.  It is essential that the Ombudsperson for Child Rights be guaranteed full independence.”

Child Rights Ombudspersons in Russia are UNICEF’s long-standing partners. In 2005, the Association of Child Rights Ombudspersons was set up, with UNICEF’s support, in 24 Russian regions (at regional and municipal levels).

Setting a global example

The ombudspersons work in cooperation with local and federal authorities, carry out independent assessment and monitoring of child rights and represent children’s interests in court. They contribute to the development and advancement of appropriate policy and legislation.

The Russian Association of Child Rights Ombudspersons is recommended internationally by UNICEF as a good example. The establishment of the federal post of the Ombudsperson for Children’s Rights should further strengthen the activities carried out by the Russian Association.


 

 

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search