菲律宾

菲律宾洪灾过后,无人陪伴儿童成为最为脆弱的群体

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Philippines/2012/Gnilo
热带风暴天鹰引发了大雨和洪水,10 岁的洪灾幸存者罗伊(化名)与家人失散。他此刻得到了菲律宾伊利甘市一疏散中心救援人员的精心照料。

安娜.维拉努埃瓦报道

菲律宾伊利甘市,2012 年1月23日 —— 从他那张准备微笑的脸,被问候时轻松的表情,你可能很难想象,10 岁的罗伊*正面临着生活中最严峻的考验。

他确实面临着这样的困境。

但是,在救援人员和志愿者的帮助下,罗伊期待最终可以找到归家的方向。

与家人失散

2011 年 12 月 17 日一早,热带风暴天鹰所引发的大雨和洪水横扫菲律宾伊利甘市的多个街区和村庄,包括罗伊在贝里安特 (Barinaut) 的家。

大水奔涌而来,罗伊在午夜惊醒。黑暗中伸手不见五指,他大声呼唤自己的三个兄弟姐妹,但没有听到任何回应。

他本能地要抓住身边漂浮而过的物体。“我必须得抓牢什么东西,这样我才不会被洪水卷走。”他说。

罗伊抱住了一段木头,随着洪水形成的滔滔洪流漂浮了很久。他最终于 12 月 18 日早晨被救援人员安全救起。

“我不知道那一夜是不是睡着了,或是失去了知觉。我能够记起的是,醒来时发现自己在海边得救了。我与其他幸存者一起,在一艘大船上。”罗伊说。

当罗伊到达位于伊利甘市东部高中的圣菲洛蒙娜(Santa Filomena) 疏散中心时,他正发着高烧。中心的志愿者积极搜寻罗伊的亲属、邻里或知情人来识别他的身份,但是没有任何其他幸存者认识罗伊。

罗伊说:“我们在灾难发生前三个月刚刚从巴朗加.迪克兰(Barangay Digkilaan) 搬到了贝里安特(Barinaut)。大部分的邻居都还不认识,在这个村子里面,我也还没有交太多的朋友。”

被援救之后,罗伊一直处于疏散中心工作人员的照料中。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0009/Maitem
1 月 5 日,菲律宾赫纳普兰安 (Hinaplanun), 一名儿童凝视着遭到热带风暴天鹰破坏的家园。

保护无人陪伴儿童

政府估计超过110万人受到了风暴的影响,当地人把这场风暴称作“仙东 —— Sendong”。目前,有三万人居住在疏散中心,有另外40万人居住在临时住所或者投奔亲朋好友。

在遭受热带风暴影响最严重的地区 —— 伊利甘市 (Iligan) 卡加延德奥罗市 (Cagayan de Oro) 已经确认了51名无人陪伴的儿童。这些孩子不仅要面对大洪水所造成的困难、恐慌和动荡,同时还要承担失去家人的痛苦,不论是短暂失去还是永远失去。没有家人的支持,他们更容易遭受剥削和虐待,包括被拐卖、童工和性剥削。

联合国儿童基金会驻马尼拉儿童保护首席官员萨拉.诺顿.斯塔 (Sarah Norton-Staal) 说:“联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴、社会工作者、社会福利署紧密合作,寻找孩子的父母、兄弟姐妹或大家庭成员,让孩子们与家人团聚。联合国儿童基金会给予了帮助儿童与家人团聚极高的优先级,保护和促使家庭的完整,让孩子们在经历了剧痛之后生活保持正常。”

联合国儿童基金会同时与合作伙伴一起协同工作,以解决儿童们的其他急需,包括医疗护理。家庭成员同时也需要帮助,才能够更好地关怀重聚后的儿童。家庭成员们可以得到咨询和其他帮助,以确保所有归家后的儿童,有一个充满关爱的家庭环境。

儿童的恢复极大程度地依赖于正常生活的重建;对于灾难后无家可归、面临各种不确定的儿童尤其如此。联合国儿童基金会向疏散中心的儿童提供了娱乐工具包 (Recreation kit) – 包括玩具和乐器,他们可以玩耍、表达情绪,重新找到正常生活的感觉。

希望大团圆式的结局

据联合国儿童基金会儿童保护专家耶稣.法 (Jesus Far) 的消息,最近的报告显示罗伊的父亲还活着,并且已经被找到。联合国儿童基金会正在与合作伙伴一起验证这些信息,以帮助罗伊与家庭重聚。

*使用了化名以保护主人公的身份


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Philippines

In the aftermath of the Philippines floods, unaccompanied children are the most vulnerable

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Philippines/2012/Gnilo
Flood survivor Roy (name changed), 10, was separated from his family during Tropical Storm Washi. He is now in the care of relief workers at an evacuation center Iligan City, Philippines.

By Anna Villanueva

ILIGAN CITY, Philippines, 23 January 2012 – From his ready smile and the way his face lights up when greeted, one wouldn’t guess that 10-year-old Roy* is facing the greatest test of his life.

He is.

But with help from relief workers and volunteers, Roy is hoping to finally find his way home.

Separated from his family

In the early hours of 17 December 2011, floodwaters from Tropical Storm Washi swept through a number of ‘barangays’, or villages, in Iligan City, including Roy’s village of Barinaut.

He was jolted awake at midnight as the waters rushed through his home. Unable to see anything in the darkness, he called out to his three siblings, but received no response.

Instinctively, he grabbed at the objects floating past. “I had to hold on to something so that I will not be carried away by the waters,” he said.

Still, Roy ended up floating through the village in a mighty river of floodwater, clutching a piece of wood. He was pulled to safety by rescuers on the morning of 18 December.

“I don’t know if I fell asleep or lost consciousness that night. All I remember is waking up, being saved at sea. I was in a barge with other survivors,” Roy said.

When he arrived at Santa Filomena evacuation centre, at the Iligan City East High School, Roy had a high fever. Volunteers at the centre searched for relatives, neighbours or acquaintances able to identify him, but the other survivors did not recognize him.

“We just moved to Barinaut from Barangay Digkilaan three months prior to the disaster,” Roy said. “We still don’t know most of our neighbours, and still don’t have a lot of friends in the village.”

Since his rescue, Roy has been in the care of evacuation centre workers.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0009/Maitem
On 5 January, a child surveys the extensive damaged caused by Tropical Storm Washi, in Hinaplanun, Philippines.

Protecting unaccompanied children

The government estimates over 1.1 million people were affected by the storm, which is locally known as Sendong. Today, 30,000 people are still in evacuation centres, while another 400,000 are living in makeshift shelters or with relatives.

Some 51 separated and unaccompanied children have been identified in Iligan and Cagayan de Oro, the major cities affected by the tropical storm. These children are not only coping with the distress of the flash floods, mass panic and ensuing chaos, but are also struggling from the loss – temporary or permanent – of their families. And without the support of family members, they are more vulnerable than ever to abuse and exploitation, including child trafficking, child labour or sexual exploitation.

“UNICEF works closely with its partners, social workers, and the Department of Social Welfare and Development to trace parents, siblings or extended family in order to reunite children with them,” said Sarah Norton-Staal, UNICEF Child Protection Chief in Manila. “UNICEF puts a high priority on reuniting children with their relatives so as to protect and preserve family unity, and give children a sense of normalcy after enduring a distressing experience.”

UNICEF also works with partners to address children’s other immediate needs, including medical attention. Family members may also require help in supporting reunited children. They can receive counselling and other assistance to ensure that all children are met with a loving and caring family environment once they return home.

Children’s recovery is also greatly aided by the restoration of a sense of normality; this is especially essential for displaced children facing a variety of uncertainties after the disaster. UNICEF has provided recreation kits, which include toys and musical instruments, to children in evacuation centres so that they can play again, express themselves, and begin to resume a sense of normality.

Hope for happy ending

According to UNICEF Child Protection Specialist Jesus Far, recent reports indicate Roy’s father is alive and has been located. UNICEF, together with its partners, is in the process of verifying these reports to help Roy be reunited with his family.

*Name changed to protect the identity of the child


 

 

New enhanced search