菲律宾

在菲律宾发生洪灾之后,许多家庭准备返回家园

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Philippines/2011/Santos
刚出生16 天的婴儿伦纳德与他的父母住在比立勤体育场的一个临时庇护所里。

安琪拉.崔维斯 (Angela Travis) 报道

菲律宾拉伦皮特,2011 年 10 月 7 日 —— 在小伦纳德刚出生10 天时,他位于菲律宾中部拉伦皮特的家乡发生了特大洪灾,洪灾给当地造成了巨大的灾难。

当洪水袭来时,伦纳德的父母勉强抓住了大人和婴儿的几件衣物,除此以外,他们所有的财产都淹没在滚滚洪流之中。他们现在被暂时安置在比立勤的体育场中,那里目前容纳了100 多个家庭。

“我们庆幸保住了生命,但是我们已经一无所有了。我是一个建筑工人,我担心所有的工具都丢了。”伦纳德 27 岁的父亲吉尔伯特说。

归心似箭

相隔不到数日登陆的两轮台风引起的特大洪灾,已经造成 90 人死亡,许多人失踪。为了避开越涨越高的洪水,很多家庭逃到疏散中心,也有一些人选择留下,住在自己的房顶上。

尽管他们目前的安置地提供有食物、水等基本生活必需品和卫生设施,吉尔伯特仍然渴望返回家园。

“我昨天去查看了房子,当时里面的水有膝盖那么深。我希望我们两三天内就可以回家,开始着手恢复过去的正常生活。”他满怀希望地说。

疾病蔓延的风险

联合国儿童基金会已经向位于菲律宾吕宋岛中部的比立勤和邦板牙的受灾社区,发放了3000 多套饮水设备和卫生用品。卫生用品包括肥皂、牙膏、水桶和其他能有助于防止疾病蔓延 —— 特别是在儿童中蔓延的重要用品。饮水设备带有净化设施,以便受灾家庭可以始终喝到洁净的饮用水。

国家代表凡妮莎.托宾 (Vanessa Tobin) 女士访问了受灾地区,那里,政府的赈灾行动正在有条不紊地进行,但她仍然对健康问题感到担心。“大面积的滞留洪水可能会造成很多风险,”她说,“对孩子们来说,仍然存在着登革热和腹泻以及其他传染性疾病的风险,这是个巨大的威胁。”

谈及这个问题,联合国儿童基金会驻菲律宾的“水和卫生”部门官员提姆.格利佛强调了联合国儿童基金会提供的卫生用品的重要性。他说:“卫生用品可以挽救生命。在受灾地区提供用来洗澡和洗手的肥皂,对于减少发生腹泻和其他传染病非常重要,因为这些疾病可能会威胁儿童的生命。”

联合国儿童基金会提供支持

随着洪水渐渐消退,受灾家庭开始考虑返回家园,恢复过去的正常生活,但是在受灾严重的农村地区,大部分农作物都被洪水冲毁了。这些社区需要帮助才能渡过难关。

联合国儿童基金会正在努力帮助这些社区应对这样的困难,以便能够减轻气候变化和恶劣天气给他们带来的灾难性影响。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Philippines

Families prepare to return home after devastating flooding in the Philippines

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Philippines/2011/Santos
Sixteen-day-old Luenard with his parents in the Bulacan Sports Complex, a temporary shelter for flood victims.

By Angela Travis

CALUMPIT, Philippines, 7 October 2011 – Baby Luenard was just 10 days old when a flood came rushing through his home town of Calumpit in central Philippines, leaving a trail of devastation in its wake.

Managing to grab a handful of clothes for the baby and themselves, Luenard’s parents left the rest of their worldly possessions behind – submerged beneath the roiling waters. They are now living temporarily in the Bulacan Sports Complex, which currently houses 100 families.

"We are just glad we are all safe, but we have lost everything,” said Luenard’s father, Gilbert, 27. “I am a construction worker, and I am worried all my tools are now lost.”

Anxious to return

The flooding was caused by two typhoons that struck the area in rapid succession, resulting in the deaths of 90 people, with many more missing. While many families fled to evacuation centres to escape the rising waters, some chose to stay behind, living in the upper floors of their homes.

Although their current accommodations provide them with the basic necessities such as food, water and decent sanitation facilities, Gilbert is keen to return home. 

“I checked the house yesterday, and the water inside is now knee-height,” he said brightly. “I hope we can return in two or three days and begin the process of putting our lives back together.”

Risk of disease

UNICEF has distributed over 3,000 water and hygiene kits to the flood-affected communities of Bulacan and Pampanga, in Central Luzon. The hygiene kits contain soap, toothpaste, buckets and other important supplies to help prevent the spread of disease – especially among children. The water kits provide purification solution so that families can always have potable water. 

Visiting the affected areas, UNICEF Country Representative Vanessa Tobin observed that the government relief operation was going well. But she also issued concerns over health issues. “Large areas of stagnant water are a danger in many ways,” she said. “Risks of dengue, risks of diarrhoea and other infectious diseases are a big threat to young children.”

Speaking to this issue, UNICEF Philippines, Water and Sanitation Chief Tim Grieve underscored the importance of the UNICEF-supplied hygiene kits. “Hygiene kits save lives,” he said. “Providing soap for body- and hand-washing in flooded areas is essential for reducing diarrhoea and infectious diseases, which can be life threatening for young children.”

UNICEF provides support

As the waters recede, families are beginning to contemplate returning home and putting their lives back together, but in a predominantly rural area, where much of the agricultural and aquacultural produce has been destroyed, communities will need assistance to get back on their feet.

UNICEF is working to help communities beter prepare for these calamities, so that they will be better able to react to and protect themselves from the devastating effects of climate change and severe weather.


 

 

New enhanced search