菲律宾

风暴过后,为儿童重建正常生活秩序

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF PHI/2009
台风翁多伊,街道上仍然洪水泛滥,孩子们要花20至60比索坐临时渡船去学校。在一些灾情严重的地区,许多儿童根本无法去上课。

菲律宾帕西格市,2009年10月19日 - 首都马尼拉多数地区的洪水至今仍未退去,夹带着垃圾和废物的洪水已变成黑色,时刻提醒着人们热带风暴翁多伊在9月26日对菲律宾的袭击。

现在,詹妮弗.科尔特尔和她的六个孩子与其他八户人家一起住在一间教室里。她说:“我们当时都绝望了,洪水涨得是那么快。但我知道,为了孩子们,我必须得勇敢。”

詹妮弗的孩子们年龄从12个月大到11岁不等,在家人和邻居的帮助下,冒着刺骨的暴雨和齐腰高的洪水,孩子们都被转移到了安全的地方。

帕西格市桑塔克鲁斯村的116个家庭被疏散到利贝拉托达米安小学,詹妮弗一家也在其中。

在学校,但不在上课

人们用花盆和椅子将学校的门厅分隔成可使用的教室,供疏散家庭居住。

那些通常可容纳20至30名学生的教室,现在每间可住14户人家。几乎每个房间里都有两名以上的婴儿。

在热带风暴翁多伊袭击一周之后,政府曾下令学校恢复上课,但因许多学校已被改成疏散中心,恢复上课的努力受挫。

詹妮弗八岁的儿子尔吉最渴望的事就是重新开始上学。像马尼拉500多个疏散中心里的许多孩子一样,尔吉在逃离洪水袭击时,除了身上的湿衣服,什么也没带。

詹妮弗说:“他所有的衣服都毁了,校服不见了,书包和笔记本上全是泥。”

利贝拉托达米安小学六年级的学生斋米.德.瓦内西亚和父母以及三个兄弟姐妹逃到了学校。他的梦想是毕业,然后找个好工作,这样他就可以帮助父母了。他焦急地等待着洪水的退去。

斋米说:“如果洪水退下去,我真的想回学校上课。”

恢复正常生活

在热带风暴翁多伊袭击之后,可以理解,大部分救灾工作都是为了满足灾民的迫切需要。但是,在提供食品、临时住所和衣物等必需品之外,也必须要满足儿童的特殊需求。

联合国儿童基金会教育负责人玛利亚.卢尔德斯.德.维拉(Maria Lourdes de Vera)说:“在紧急情况下,儿童关心的问题没有得到足够的重视。从儿童的角度来看,他们需要正常的生活。我们必须确保他们获得创造性的经验。那才是他们的世界,否则,他们的世界就失去了根基。”

重建教育秩序

尽管学校已经开始恢复上课,但是教师和学校官员们都担心,恐怕还需要一段时间,才能恢复正常感。在重新开课的第一天,教学前班和二年级的莫洛琳.加拉多老师说,她的学生都没来上课;第二天,有两名学生来学校。 许多教师也受到洪水的影响,有些老师自己也成了疏散对象。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF PHI/2009
帕西格市桑塔克鲁斯村是受灾最严重的地区之一,数百名洪水灾民被疏散到利贝拉托达米安小学的三层教学楼里居住。詹妮弗.科尔特尔和她的两个儿子尔吉和约翰也在其中。

校长阿尔斯尼亚.索里亚诺说,总的来讲,学校1600名学生当中只有约7%至10%的学生能够重返学校。除了一些学校被用于收容灾民的场所之外,许多学校的教学楼也在风暴中遭到破坏,有几所学校至今仍浸在洪水之中。仅帕西格市的40所市立学校中,就有34所受到热带风暴翁多伊的影响,21所学校成为了疏散中心。

索里亚诺校长说:“我们知道,不管我们喜欢与否,学校的表现总会有所下降。”

消除心理阴影

基础设施和物品遭到破坏,还可以修复和重建,但风暴对儿童心理造成的影响,如果得不到解决,则可能是更长久而难以修复的问题。

德.维拉女士说:“越忽视创伤和恐惧,它们的影响就越持久。我们必须帮助儿童释放他们的恐惧;否则,你不知道他们会出什么事。”

为此,联合国儿童基金会不仅提供替换了被毁坏的学习用品,而且还在着手解决受灾儿童的心理需求问题。联合国儿童基金会除了发放包括书、玩具和学习材料在内的幼儿保育和发展包(ECCD)之外,还通过创造性的方法,提供压力事后辅导和心理辅导服务,比如艺术治疗和在疏散中心设立儿童友好空间等。

我们希望,通过继续支持儿童的教育,联合国儿童基金会能够恢复儿童的正常生活,并帮助他们忘记这场风暴所造成的创伤。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Philippines

Restoring normalcy for children in aftermath of tropical storm Ondoy

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF PHI/2009
Because the streets remain flooded in the aftermath of Typhoon Ondoy, children are forced to pay 20 to 60 pesos to ride makeshift boats just to get to school, while many children in the worst-hit areas are unable to attend school at all.

PASIG CITY, Philippines, 19 October 2009 – The flood waters that still inundate much of the Philippines' capital have become black with waste and garbage, a daily reminder of tropical storm Ondoy, which struck the country on 26 September.

"We felt it was hopeless," said Jennifer Cortel, who now lives in a classroom with her six children and eight other families. "The water rose so quickly, but I knew I had to be brave for the children."

Family members and neighbours helped Jennifer carry her children, aged 12 months to 11 years, to safety in waist-high waters and biting rain.

Ms. Cortel’s is among 116 families who were evacuated to classrooms in the Liberato Damian Elementary School in Santa Cruz Village, Pasig City.

In school, but not in class

At the school, potted plants and chairs divide the hallways into operational classrooms and housing for evacuees.

The rooms, which would normally seat 20 to 30 students, now house up to 14 families each. Almost every room has two or more infants.

The Government ordered the resumption of classes a week after tropical storm Ondoy hit, but such efforts have been hampered by the fact that  many schools have been converted into evacuation centres.

Ms. Cortel’s son, 8-year-old RJ, wants nothing more than to begin attending classes again. Like many other children in the more than 500 evacuation centres throughout the capital, RJ escaped the floods with only his drenched clothes on his back.
 
"All his clothes were destroyed. His uniform is gone and his bag and notebooks are covered with mud," Ms. Cortel said.

Jaime de Venecia, a sixth grader at Liberato Damian, fled to the school with his parents and three siblings. His dream is to graduate and get a good job so that he can help his parents. He spends the days anxiously waiting for the waters to recede.

"When the flood waters go down, I really want to go back to school,” he said.

Restoring normalcy

In tropical storm Ondoy's aftermath, much of the efforts have understandably gone towards filling the immediate needs of affected families. But beyond providing the basics of food, shelter and clothing, the specific needs of children must also be met.

"In times of emergencies, concerns of children are not given enough prominence," said UNICEF Education Chief Maria Lourdes de Vera. "From the point of view of children, what they need is normalcy. We need to ensure that they have creative experiences. That's their world. Without it, their world crumbles."

Educational system in need

Although classes have begun to resume, teachers and school officials fear that it will take some time before any sense of normalcy can return. On the first day back, teacher Melorine Gallardo, who handles preschool and Grade 2, said none of her students were able to attend. On the second day, two students managed to come to school. In addition, many teachers were also affected by the floods and some have become evacuees themselves.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF PHI/2009
Jennifer Cortel and her sons RJ and John are among the hundreds of flood-stricken individuals who were evacuated to classrooms on three floors of the Liberato Damian Elementary School in Santa Cruz Village, Pasig City, one of the worst-hit areas.

Principal Arsenia Soriano said that overall, only about 7-10 per cent of the school's 1600 students have been able to go back to school. Despite being a safe refuge for many evacuees, many school buildings were also damaged in the storm and several remain flooded. In Pasig alone, 34 out of the city's 40 schools were affected by tropical storm Ondoy, with 21 serving as evacuation centres.

"We know school performance will go down whether we like it or not," said Ms. Soriano.

Addressing psychosocial effects

Damaged infrastructure and ruined supplies can be repaired and replaced, but the storm’s psychosocial effects on children may be more permanent and difficult to repair if they are not addressed.
 
"The more it's ignored, the more it stays with them – the scar, the fear. We need to help children unload their fears, or you don't know what might happen to them," said Ms. de Vera.

In response, UNICEF has not only replaced damaged school supplies but is also addressing the psychosocial needs of the affected children. Aside from distributing early child care and development (ECCD) packages consisting of books, toys and other learning materials, UNICEF is also offering stress debriefing and psychosocial counselling through creative modes, such as art therapy and the creation of child-friendly spaces in evacuation centres.

It is hoped that by continuing to support children’s education, UNICEF can restore a sense of normalcy to their lives and help them forget the traumas caused by the storm.


 

 

New enhanced search