菲律宾

菲律宾青年卷入网络性剥削

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video/2008
菲律宾的儿童很容易就能进入网吧,也就是说他们很可能会落入网络犯罪分子的虎口,成为性剥削的受害者。

罗伯.迈克布莱德报道

菲律宾宿雾市,2008年12月15日 – 在菲律宾中部城市宿雾的一间简陋的小屋中,一间狭小的网吧提供宽带网络连接外面的世界。这间网吧虽然连自来水都没有,却提供无限上网的机会。

但是,这些上网的机会也伴随着潜在的网络风险。在菲律宾,越来越多的青年人陷入了一个危险的世界,遭受他们在网上认识的外国人的性剥削。

一个赚钱的方法

安吉尔(Angel)15岁的时候就开始在网络聊天室中与外国男人联系。

“我有很多的网友,”他说,“他们跟我说:‘安吉尔,和外国男人聊天很好,因为你可以赚钱’。”

安吉尔每天要在网上和美国以及欧洲的陌生男人聊好几个小时。“他们跟我说:‘如果你让我看你光着身子的样子,我就寄钱给你,’然后我就会让他们看,他们也会给我寄钱。”

他和他的朋友所生活的世界就是众多肮脏的网吧,其中一些网吧有单间,青少年可以通过网络摄像头为外国客人“表演”。在地方城市如雨后春笋般迅速增加的网吧附近有汇款公司的办事处,在那里这些青少年很快就能收到海外客户的汇款。

逝去的童年

安吉尔的朋友卡特里娜(Katrina)说:“我要养活我的妈妈、妹妹和妹妹的孩子们,还有我的外婆。”他17岁的时候就肩负起了养家的重担。和他的朋友一样,他每个月可以挣到200美元。

这些儿童很可能遭受长期的心理伤害,再加上错失受教育的机会。为了能够与欧洲和美国的男人同时在线,他们不得不在其他学龄儿童睡觉的时候在网吧里上网。

在宿雾市的弗洛伦西奥.尤罗特高中,洛雷托.罗加(Loreto Roca)老师看到班里很多的学生都辍学了。“他们不再对学习感兴趣了 ,”他说,“他们无法集中精神,最后不得不辍学。”

对社会负责的网吧

意识到很多青少年正受到毒害,联合国儿童基金会在菲律宾开展各种项目以解决这个问题。其中的一个项目给很多网吧施加压力,迫使它们最后同意撤掉私人单间。联合国儿童基金会正在推行一个规定网吧行为准则的许可证,使这些网吧对儿童来说更加安全。米奇.田寇(Mickey Tiangco)就在马尼拉的郊区经营一个这样的网吧。

“儿童们在网络聊天室结识陌生人的时候一点要小心,”他提醒道,“对我们来说,作为店家, 我们必须要对社会负责任。”

他的网吧不允许儿童在夜间光顾,而且网吧里到处贴着警告牌提醒不知情的儿童有关网络的危险。

在宿雾市以及其他数百个类似的城市,那些通过和外国男人在网上聊天赚钱的青少年都了解到了网络的风险。

“有时他们会来菲律宾,但是我不敢和他们见面,”16岁的弗莱达(Freda)说, “因为他们唯一想要的就是性。”


 

 

视频

2008年7月:联合国儿童基金会通讯员罗伯.迈克布莱德报道菲律宾网吧的流行及其对遭受性剥削的青少年的影响。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Philippines

Youths drawn into online sexual exploitation in the Philippines

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video/2008
Children in the Philippines have easy access to internet cafés, which means they can fall prey to online predators who exploit them sexually.

By Rob McBride

CEBU, Philippines, 15 December 2008 – In a poor shanty in the Central Philippines city of Cebu, a tiny internet café offers broadband connectivity with the outside world. In a place that lacks running water, the opportunities presented by the existence of the internet are boundless.

But along with these opportunities are the inherent risks posed by the net. A growing number of youths in the Philippines are being drawn into a dangerous world of sexual exploitation by foreigners they meet online.

A way to earn money

At the age of 15, Angel began connecting with foreign men in chat rooms.

“I had many friends chatting online,” he said.  “They told me ‘Angel, it’s really nice to chat with the foreign guys because you can earn money.’”

For several hours every day, Angel is online with men from North America and Europe. “They tell me that, ‘I will send you money if you show me your body, your naked body,’ and yes I will show it, and they will send me money.”

The world he and his friends inhabit is the seedy collection of internet cafes, some of them with private cubicles, where teenagers can ‘perform’ on web-cams for foreign customers. Close by the new internet cafes that have been springing up in local cities, are the offices of remittance companies, where the teenagers can be paid instantly by their overseas clients.

A childhood lost

“I support my mother together with my sister and her kids, and my grandmother,” said Angel’s friend, Katrina, who has found himself the family’s bread winner at age 17. Like his friends, he earns up to 200 dollars per month.

These children may suffer from long-term psychological harm, in addition to missing the chance for an education. In order to surf online when European and American men are online, they need to be in the internet cafes while other children of school age are asleep.

At the Florencio Urot National High School in Cebu, teacher Loreto Roca, has seen a number of his pupils drop out of class. “They lose interest in their studies,” he said. “They can’t focus anymore. Eventually, they drop out of school.”

Socially responsible cafes

Recognising the harm being inflicted on so many teenagers, UNICEF is supporting initiatives around the Philippines to deal with the problem. A number of internet cafés have agreed to remove their private booths after one of these initiatives put pressure on them to do so. UNICEF is also promoting a charter which lays down a code of conduct for internet cafes to follow to make them safer for children.

Mickey Tiangco runs one such internet café on the outskirts of Manila.

“Children have to be careful in meeting with strangers they meet in chat rooms,” he warned. “And for us, the shops, we have to be socially responsible.”

In his café, no children are allowed in at night, and signs are everywhere warning about the dangers for unsuspecting youngsters. 

Back in Cebu, and hundreds of other cities like it, teenagers who make a living by chatting and performing on-line for foreign men know all about those risks.

“Sometimes they come to the Philippines but I am afraid to meet up with them,” said Freda, age 16. “Because usually all they want to do is have sex.”


 

 

Video

July 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on the prevalence of internet cafes and their effect on young children who are sexually exploited in the Philippines.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search