秘鲁

在人口稠密的秘鲁城区发生地震之后, 联合国儿童基金会参加救援工作

UNICEF Photo: Peru, earthquake
© Courtesy Agencia EFE
在秘鲁南部的地震灾区伊卡,一位居民在他家倒塌房屋的瓦砾中,抱着他的孩子。

李昆报道

2007年8月17日,美国纽约。秘鲁8月15日发生强烈地震,造成五百多人死亡,1600多人受伤,灾民总数达8.5万人,其中数千人无家可归。 联合国儿童基金会立即投入灾后救援工作。
灾区人口的三分之一是儿童和青少年。

地震的中心在秘鲁南部沙漠中的绿洲城市伊卡和首都利马以南200公里的皮斯科港。 皮斯科70%的房屋遭到严重破坏或摧毁。 据报道,至少有200人被埋在一座教堂的废墟里,他们是去那里参加礼拜的。 在拥有30万人口的伊卡,四分之一的建筑物倒塌。

距离震中150公里的利马的一些地区,8.0级地震撼动建筑物,造成电力中断。 虽然一些房屋倒塌,但是只有一人被报死亡。  两分钟的疯狂震动,使得数千人逃到街上,为了安全考虑,他们在公园里睡觉。

政府紧急派遣警察、战士、医生前往灾区救援,但是利马城内和附近的巨大裂缝和掉下的电线让交通陷入瘫痪。 还有大石头堵塞秘鲁中央高速公路通往安第斯山脉的道路。

UNICEF Photo: Peru, earthquake
© Reuters/Olivares
秘鲁地震造成建筑物和基础设施坍塌,利马南部伊卡的一家医院中,医生正在帮助一名受伤的女童。

需要安全饮水

地震之后的第二天,联合国儿童基金会驻秘鲁副代表弗洛伦斯.保尔在电话采访中说,虽然灾难的所有损失还不明确,但是秘鲁政府赈灾的组织工作井井有条。 (请听采访

保尔先生说:“这是个对付这种灾难很有经验的国家。 该国的所有医院,包括军队医院,全部都打开大门,向需要帮助的人提供服务。”

在秘鲁政府的要求下,联合国儿童基金会和其它联合国机构迅速开始运送紧急救援物资 ,尤其是从巴拿马向利马提供安全饮水。

联合国儿童基金会驻秘鲁代表盖督.康奈尔说:“最重要的是行动迅速,以预防儿童感染痢疾,这种病在没有安全饮水和卫生条件差的条件下很容易爆发。” 为帮助儿童避免感染通过水传染的疾病,联合国儿童基金会运送了社区所需要的氯气、水箱、水罐和净水片等。

另外,十万袋用于治疗痢疾脱水的口服补液盐已于昨天从巴拿马运往秘鲁。

UNICEF Photo: Peru, earthquake
© AP Photo/Mejia
强震袭击伊卡后,一个秘鲁家庭正在检查他们房屋的损坏情况。

加入联合国的响应

联合国儿童基金会还与秘鲁教育部合作评估地震对学校的影响。 保尔女士说:“幸好地震发生的时候,学校没有上课。 今天,全国所有学校的孩子因紧急情况而不上学。 我们知道很多学校被摧毁了。”

联合国儿童基金会的响应是秘鲁政府与在秘鲁的联合国系统合作救援工作的一部分。 这个周末,来自联合国协调人道主义事务办公室的跨机构小组将到灾区访问。

这个小组将进一步澄清灾后儿童和家庭最迫切的需求,以及地震灾区重建和恢复的长期前景。

蒂姆.莱维思为本文撰稿


 

 

音频(英文)

2007年8月16日:
联合国儿童基金会驻秘鲁副代表弗洛伦斯.保尔讲述地震造成的影响以及联合国儿童基金会的紧急响应。

音频 试听

搜索

At a glance: Peru

UNICEF joins relief effort after earthquake hits populated urban areas of Peru

UNICEF Image: Peru, earthquake
© Courtesy Agencia EFE
A resident of earthquake-stricken Ica in southern Peru holds his child amidst the rubble of their destroyed home.

By Kun Li

NEW YORK, USA, 17 August 2007 – UNICEF has joined the relief effort following a powerful earthquake that shook Peru on 15 August, killing more than 500 people, injuring over 1,600 and affecting a total of 85,000, including thousands left homeless.

Children and adolescents make up over a third of the population in the affected areas.

The centre of the destruction was in Peru’s southern desert, in the oasis city of Ica and the nearby port of Pisco, about 200 km southeast of the capital, Lima. In Pisco, 70 per cent of homes were badly damaged or destroyed, and at least 200 people were reportedly buried in the rubble of a church where they had been attending a service. In Ica, a city of 300,000, a quarter of the buildings collapsed.

In Lima, about 150 km from the epicentre, the 8.0 magnitude earthquake caused buildings to shake and electricity to cut off in some areas. Although some homes collapsed, only one death was reported. But the furious two minutes of shaking prompted thousands of people to flee into the streets and sleep in public parks for safety.

The government rushed police, soldiers, doctors and aid to the area, but traffic was paralyzed by giant cracks and fallen power lines in and around Lima. Large boulders also blocked Peru’s Central Highway to the Andes mountains.

UNICEF Image: Peru, earthquake
© Reuters/Olivares
Doctors help an injured girl at a hospital in Ica, south of Lima, after the quake that collapsed buildings and other infrastructure in Peru.

Need for safe water

The day after the quake, UNICEF Deputy Representative in Peru Florence Bauer said in a telephone interview that although the full extent of the damage was still unclear, the response from the government was well organized. (Listen to the interview.)

“It is a country that is used to this kind of emergency,” said Ms. Bauer. “All the hospitals in the country, including the ones from the national army, are open to provide services to anyone who may need it.”

At the government’s request, UNICEF and other UN agencies quickly began transporting emergency relief – particularly safe-water supplies – from Panama to Lima.

“An immediate response is essential in order to prevent diarrhoea in children, which is quite frequent when entire neighbourhoods collapse, no safe water is available and sanitary conditions are very limited,” said UNICEF Representative in Peru Guido Cornale. To help protect children from water-borne diseases, UNICEF has delivered chlorine, water containers and tanks, and water-purification tablets for communities in need.

UNICEF Image: Peru, earthquake
© AP Photo/Mejia
A Peruvian family inspects their destroyed home after a powerful earthquake hit Ica.

In addition, 100,000 sachets of oral rehydration salts, which are used to treat diarrhoeal dehydration, were sent to Peru from Panama yesterday.

Joint UN response

UNICEF is also working with the Ministry of Education to evaluate the quake’s impact on schools. “Fortunately, when the earthquake happened the schools were all closed,” said Ms. Bauer. “Today, all children of the country are not going to school because of the emergency. We know there is a high number of schools that have been destroyed.”

UNICEF’s response is part of a joint effort by the government and the UN system in Peru. This weekend, an inter-agency team led by the head of the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs is expected to visit the affected areas. The team will work to further clarify the most pressing needs of children and families in the aftermath of the disaster, as well as longer-term prospects for recovery and rehabilitation in the earthquake zone.

Tim Ledwith contributed to this story.


 


 

 

Audio

16 August 2007:
UNICEF Deputy Representative in Peru Florence Bauer talks about the impact of the earthquake and the agency’s emergency response.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search