UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

巴基斯坦

保护巴基斯坦的每一名儿童免患麻疹

阿卜杜拉.萨米.马利克(Abdul Sami Malik)报道

4月24日至30日是世界免疫周。免疫是挽救儿童生命最成功、也最具成本效益的方式。自二十世纪八十年代以来,联合国儿童基金会一直在大力推行免疫普及工作——推动为每名儿童接种疫苗。

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴目前正加紧工作,以确保最贫困和最弱势的儿童获得免疫机会。

2010年,巴基斯坦全国范围内的洪水导致麻疹发病率出现上升态势。连续的洪灾令形势恶化。2012年报告了超过1万例的麻疹病例——约400例死亡。

接种员考萨尔.帕尔文(Kausar Parveen)正比以往任何时候都更加努力地工作,为每一名儿童进行疫苗接种。

巴基斯坦奎达(QUETTA),2013年5月2日——考萨尔.帕尔文正在准备疫苗注射剂。25年来,要让所管辖区域内的每一名儿童都接种疫苗的决心,使她的工作热情有增无减。

在巴基斯坦,很多像考萨尔.帕尔文这样的接种员正前所未有地积极行动着,保护每一名儿童免患能够预防的儿童疾病。  在Realplayer中播放

 

“我爱孩子,我希望我所在区域、城市和国家的每一个儿童都得到保护,免患传染病,特别是麻疹。”帕尔文女士说。

“年轻的时候,”她补充道,“我曾想成为一名医生——因为结婚太早,没能实现自己的理想。我的嫂子是一名接种员,这激起了我也成为一名接种员的雄心。我参与了为期6个月的培训课程。1988年以来,我一直在这个城市里为儿童进行疫苗接种。我已经为自己的孩子、孙子和家族里的每一个孩子接种了疫苗。”

获得医疗保健服务是一项挑战

帕尔文女士生活和工作在巴基斯坦西部俾路支省的首府奎达。在过去数年间,该国面积最大的俾路支省的麻疹发病率突然攀升。暴力冲突、人口密度低、识字率低以及山地地形崎岖,使得俾路支人难以获得卫生服务。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2013/Zaidi
4岁的那亚伯生活在奎达胡赛那巴德外围的丘陵地带。接种员们前所未有地积极行动起来,为像那亚伯这样的儿童提供免疫接种机会,疫苗接种可以保护儿童免患像麻疹这样的可预防的疾病。

在每个工作日,帕尔文女士都会一早出门,步行到胡赛那巴德(Hussainabad)市诊疗所疫苗接种中心(Municipal Dispensary Vaccination Centre)。在这里,她为儿童接种疫苗,并为每一个来中心接种疫苗的儿童保存全部接种记录。

“每周三是中心的疫苗接种日。”她说,“我们为儿童接种各种疫苗,包括卡介苗、五价疫苗、脊髓灰质炎疫苗和麻疹疫苗。母亲们都知道疫苗接种日。他们哄着小孩来接种。我们很高兴为小孩服务,并希望他们下次再来,完成疫苗接种。”

她每周去两次奎达市的两大医院——柏兰医疗综合医院(Bolan Medical Complex Hospital)和市立奎达医院(Civil Hospital Quetta)。她会探访儿童病房,并试图寻找尚未接种麻疹疫苗的住院儿童。当有孩子错过疫苗接种时,她会邀请孩子父母来她的疫苗接种中心为孩子接种疫苗。如果孩子父母没有来,她会上门为孩子接种疫苗。

使免疫普及率最大化

俾路支省麻疹病例的攀升促使卫生服务提供机构改善其响应措施。从像帕尔文女士这样的接种员到各大医院的主要负责人,各个卫生服务提供机构正积极行动起来,使免疫普及率最大化,并将麻疹相关工作视为最高优先级。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2013/Zaidi
在胡赛那巴德市诊疗所疫苗接种中心,接种员考萨尔.帕尔文正在准备为一名儿童接种麻疹疫苗。如果出现儿童家长没有带孩子进行疫苗接种的情况,帕尔文女士会上门进行疫苗接种。

“在这里,麻疹很常见。”市立奎达医院儿科部主任巴希尔.卡卡(Bashir Kakar)博士说,“甚至在接种过疫苗的儿童中,也出现过麻疹病例。如果我们不能立即采取有效的措施,麻疹会迅速传播——由于麻疹属于急性呼吸道传染病,它的传播可能同时引发[肺结核]在孩子之间传播,十分危险。”

“乘我们还有时间,必须在麻疹造成更多儿童死亡前将其根除。”他总结道。

帮助最偏远地区的儿童

4岁的那亚伯(Nayab)生活在胡赛那巴德外围地区。这里的地形十分崎岖,流动接种队很难达到像那亚伯家这样的家庭。由于缺乏意识以及与外界的隔离,造成家长不带孩子去疫苗接种中心。

在俾路支省近期出现的麻疹传播中,来到各医疗机构的许多儿童之前都没有接种过麻疹疫苗。那亚伯所在的社区非常弱势、边缘化,但是,必须确保这样社区中的儿童在麻疹迅速传播之前获得疫苗接种服务。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影:免疫接种

搜索

Pakistan

Determined to protect every child in Pakistan from measles

By Abdul Sami Malik

24–30 April is World Immunization Week. Immunization is a successful and cost-effective way to save children’s lives. UNICEF has been a driving force behind universal immunization since the 1980s – behind reaching each and every child.

UNICEF and its partners are now intensifying their efforts to ensure that the poorest and most disadvantaged children have access to immunization.

In Pakistan, the incidence of measles started to increase in 2010 because of country-wide floods. Successive flooding made things worse. More than 10,000 cases of measles – and some 400 deaths – were reported in 2012.

Vaccinators like Kausar Parveen are pushing harder than ever to reach every child.

QUETTA, Pakistan, 2 May 2013 – Kausar Parveen prepares an injection. Her resolve to vaccinate every child within her reach has kept her going with the same vigour for quarter of a century.

In Pakistan, vaccinators like Kausar Parveen are pushing harder than ever to protect every child from preventable childhood diseases.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“I love children and want every child in my area, city and country to be protected against communicable diseases, especially measles,” says Ms. Parveen.

“As a young woman,” she adds, “I wanted to become a doctor – but got married at an early age and could not fulfil my ambition. My sister-in-law was a vaccinator, and that inspired me to become one. I did a six-month training course, and, since 1988, have been vaccinating children in this city. I have vaccinated my own children, grandchildren and every child born in my family.”

Accessing healthcare a challenge

Ms. Parveen lives and works in Quetta, the capital of Pakistan’s western province of Balochistan. Over the past few years, the province, which is the largest in area in the country, has seen a sudden rise in the incidence of measles. Conflict, low population density, low literacy rate and rugged, mountainous terrain make access to health services a major challenge for the people of Balochistan.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2013/Zaidi
Nayab, 4, lives in hilly terrain in the periphery of Hussainabad, Quetta. Vaccinators are pushing harder than ever to reach children like Nayab with jabs that will protect them against such preventable illnesses as measles.

Every working day, Ms. Parveen leaves her house in the morning and walks to the Municipal Dispensary Vaccination Centre of Hussainabad. There, she vaccinates children and maintains a complete record of every child who is brought to the centre for vaccination. 

“Wednesday is the vaccination day in the centre,” she says. “We do all kinds of vaccinations, including BCG, pentavalent, polio and measles. Mothers know about this day. They fondly bring their children, and we happily vaccinate them, hoping that they will come again for the next dose.”

Twice a week, she goes to the two major hospitals in Quetta city, the Bolan Medical Complex Hospital and the Civil Hospital Quetta. She visits the children’s wards and tries to find out if any child admitted there has not been vaccinated against measles. When a child has missed out, she invites the parents to her vaccination centre. If they don’t show up, she will travel to their house to vaccinate the child.

Maximizing vaccine coverage

The increase in measles cases in Balochistan has incited health service providers to escalate their response. From vaccinators like Ms. Parveen to senior health managers in major hospitals, the providers are mobilizing to maximize vaccine coverage and treat children with measles on a priority basis.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2013/Zaidi
Vaccinator Kausar Parveen prepares to give a child a jab against measles at the Municipal Dispensary Vaccination Centre, Hussainabad. When children are not brought in for vaccination, Ms. Parveen will visit their homes to vaccinate them.

“Measles is quite common here,” says Head of the Paediatric Department, Civil Hospital Quetta, Dr. Bashir Kakar. “We are receiving measles cases even after vaccinating the children. If we do not stop it here, measles will spread very fast – and, because of it, [tuberculosis] will also spread among our children to a dangerous extent.

“We still have time and must wipe out measles before it kills any more of our children,” he concludes.

Reaching the hardest-to-reach children

Nayab, 4, lives on the outer periphery of Hussainabad. The terrain is hilly, and chances are that families like Nayab’s are not reached by mobile vaccination teams. Lack of awareness and social seclusion prevent families from taking their children to a vaccination centre.

In the recent outbreak of measles in Balochistan, a number of children brought to various medical facilities were those who had not been vaccinated against the disease. The most disadvantaged and marginalized communities – like Nayab’s – much be reached with vaccination services before measles reaches their children.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Immunization

New enhanced search