巴基斯坦

联合国儿童基金会及合作伙伴向洪灾过后的巴基斯坦提供卫生防疫培训以及清洁用水

瑞艾拉 乔杜里

巴基斯坦信德省,2011 年 12 月13 日 —— 数以万计的遭受洪灾的巴基斯坦儿童因为获得了安全的饮用水卫生防疫设施的紧急供应,并且得到卫生防疫知识的教育而免于遭受疾病的威胁。但因为资金缺乏,人们担心未来人道主义援助是否能持续下去。

视频:数万名遭受洪灾的巴基斯坦儿童因为获得了安全的饮用水、卫生设施的紧急援助和卫生防疫知识的教育,而免于受到疾病威胁。 在Realplayer中播放
13 岁的瓦络是信德和俾路支省 515 万受到自然灾害影响的居民中的一员,灾民大多是妇女和儿童。瓦络正在和30 来个儿童一起听卫生防疫课、学习卫生防疫知识——例如如何用肥皂洗手。这样的课程每个月面向孩子及其家庭开设两次。课程是联合国儿童基金会和合作伙伴在受灾地区开设的,这些地区的供水系统受到了破坏,水源被污染,缺乏厕所以及过度拥挤都导致了疾病的蔓延。

瓦络说:“老师教我们早上要刷牙,定期洗澡,并保持指甲的清洁。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/ Chaudhry
十三岁的瓦络得意地展示她干净的双手和指甲,她在联合国儿童基金会支持的卫生宣讲会上学会了正确的洗手方法。

联合国儿童基金会提供的援助

除了卫生防疫宣讲之外,瓦络一家还得到了一个卫生工具包,里面装有足够三个月使用的基本卫生用品。卫生工具包中包括的基本必需品有杯子、肥皂、牙刷、清洁剂和毛巾。

从今年八、九月的洪灾以来,联合国儿童基金会和合作机构为 150 万人提供了家庭卫生工具包。几乎所有这些人也都因卫生防疫信息的宣讲而受益。

“一开始,儿童光着脚到处跑,卫生环境问题非常严重。”联合国儿童基金会计划执行合作伙伴国家乡村地区援助项目负责人阿哈尔.默罕默德 (Khair Mohammad) 说:“以前,这里的人们特别是妇女都不能洗澡,而现在情况有了很大的改善。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/ Chaudhry
像这样的临时厕所(蓝色的构造)满足了洪灾中无家可归的儿童和家庭的基本需要。

洁净水

联合国儿童基金会及人道主义援助合作伙伴已保证了 100 多万人的安全饮用水供应。为了净化水和防止水传染疾病的发生,联合国儿童基金会提供了 460 万片水净化片和 200 万个水处理袋。向居民发放这些物资后,工作人员还向他们演示了如何使用这些物品,并宣传这样做的各种好处,包括减少痢疾的发生。目前,通过车辆运水、发放家用水处理设施和兴建手压水泵等措施,每天可向大约 80 万人供水,其中包括 407825 名儿童。

联合国儿童基金会还在信德省的八个严重受灾地区兴建了 14300 多个临时厕所,惠及包括 189800 名儿童在内的 416460 名灾民。除改善卫生设施外,这些厕所还保障了妇女和女孩的隐私,并一定程度上帮助她们获得了尊重。

需要更多帮助

迄今为止,联合国儿童基金会已经收到了1840 美元的援助,用于提供水、卫生设施和卫生防疫,但是这与受灾中心地区所需的人道主义援助资金还有 63% 的缺口。如果没有更多的资金,那么援助活动将被迫缩减,其中就包括在被水灾破坏和摧毁的社区水资源和卫生设施的重建。


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

UNICEF and partners provide hygiene education and clean water in post-flood Pakistan

By Raheela Chaudhry

SINDH, Pakistan, 13 December 2011 – Tens of thousands of flood-affected children in Pakistan are being kept free of disease through the emergency provision of safe water, sanitation facilities and hygiene lessons. But a lack of funding is putting in doubt future humanitarian assistance.

VIDEO: Tens of thousands of flood-affected children in Pakistan are being kept free of disease through the emergency provision of safe water, sanitation facilities and hygiene lessons.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Wallo, 13, is among the 5.15 million people in Sindh and Balochistan provinces affected by the natural disaster, most of them children and women. Wallo now attends a hygiene class with about 30 other children, learning about improved hygiene practices such as handwashing with soap. Sessions are held twice a month for children and their families. Classes like these are run by UNICEF and partners throughout the flood-affected zones, where damaged water systems, contaminated water sources, lack of toilets and overcrowding contribute to the spread of disease.  

“We have been taught to brush our teeth in the morning, to take baths regularly and keep our nails clean,” said Wallo.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/ Chaudhry
Wallo, 13, proudly shows her clean hands and nails – something she learned about in a UNICEF-supported hygiene session.

UNICEF provides supplies

In addition to hygiene education, Wallo and her family received a hygiene kit that provides enough essential supplies to last them three months. The kit includes basics like mugs, soap, toothpaste, cleaning materials and towels.

Since the floods hit in August and September of this year, UNICEF and partner agencies have reached more than 1.5 million people with family hygiene kits. A similar number have benefited from hygiene messages.

“In the beginning children ran around with bare feet, and sanitation was a big problem,” explained Khair Mohammad of the National Rural Support Programme, one of UNICEF’s implementing partners. “The people, especially the women, of these communities previously did not even bathe – today there is much improvement.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/ Chaudhry
Temporary toilets like this one (blue structure) fill an essential need of flood-displaced children and families.

Clean water

UNICEF and its humanitarian partners have ensured that more than 1 million people have access to safe drinking water. In an effort to purify water and prevent water borne disease, UNICEF has distributed 4.6 million water-purification tablets and 2 million water-treatment sachets. Communities receiving these supplies are also given practical demonstrations on their use and are informed of their benefits, including reduced diarrhoeal disease. Water is currently being provided daily to nearly 800,000 people, including 407,825 children, through water trucking, household water treatment and the installation of handpumps.

UNICEF has also set up over 14,300 temporary latrines in eight hard-hit areas of Sindh Province, benefitting 416,460 people, including 189,800 children. Apart from improving sanitation, the toilets also provide girls and women with privacy, and help to restore a level of dignity. 

More help is needed

To date, $18.4 million has been received to support water, sanitation and hygiene activities, leaving a funding gap of 63 per cent in this essential area of humanitarian assistance. Without further funding, activities will need to be scaled back, including the rehabilitation of water and sanitation systems in damaged and destroyed communities. 


 

 

New enhanced search