巴基斯坦

联合国儿童基金会支持搭建的临时学习中心为巴基斯坦洪灾区的儿童提供受教育的机会

阿卜杜勒.萨米.马利克报道

巴基斯坦信德省,2011年11月1日 —— 10 岁的努尔.加汗是60名就读于临时学习中心(TLC)的学生之一。该临时学习中心位于布哈拉路边营地,由联合国儿童基金会通过其执行合作伙伴——强化参与组织 (SPO) 搭建。

视频:联合国儿童基金会报道临时学习中心为巴基斯坦信德省受洪水影响的儿童带来新希望。 在Realplayer中播放
“1、2、3、4,我们正在学数数,”努尔兴奋地说,“这里教得很好,比我们村的学校还要好。”

该临时学习中心的教师茜瑞恩女士也有同感,她认为帐篷学校的儿童更热爱学习,更愿意参与到各项学习和娱乐活动中。

“联合国儿童基金会提供的学习和娱乐资料颇具吸引力,”她说,“借助于这些资料,很容易就能让孩子们更专心地听讲。”

优质教育

坦杜阿拉亚县是受灾最严重的地区之一,该县低洼地区的水位上升后,受灾家庭转移到了布哈拉路边营地。该营地目前居住着 350 个流离失所的家庭。人道主义组织正努力为他们提供居所、食物、安全饮用水和药品。

洪水使努尔的父母失去了微薄的财产,唯一令他们欣慰的是,他们的女儿正在帐篷学校接受优质教育。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Sami
在一个临时学习中心,努尔.加汗正在朗读黑板上的字。该临时学习中心位于布哈拉路边营地,是联合国儿童基金会为受洪水影响的家庭搭建的。
“她在这里上学是一件好事,”努尔的妈妈米撒.苏玛尔说,“我们都是穷人,什么也没有。这所学校是为儿童建立的,这已经很好了,至少孩子们现在可以在帐篷里学习。”

箱中学校

联合国儿童基金会及其执行合作伙伴正致力于为洪灾区的儿童搭建更多的临时学习中心。目前已搭建了1300个临时学习中心,招收了近七万名学生。他们的目标是在受灾地区搭建至少4000个临时学习中心。

除了为在这些临时学习中心教课的教师提供培训之外,联合国儿童基金会还为这些学习中心提供“箱中学校”用具包,其中包括足以供一所有80名学生的学校所需的学习资料,以及娱乐套件、地垫、黑板、文具和其他用品。

联合国儿童基金会应急教育主任法瓦德.沙阿 (Fawad Shah) 强调,让处于困境的儿童接受正规教育,至关重要。“该省接二连三地遭受打击,孩子们的学习也多次中断,我们不希望这样的情况再次发生。”他说,“我们正在努力,确保教学能够照常进行,保证儿童有足够的时间上学。”


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

UNICEF-supported Temporary Learning Centers provide education to flood-affected children in Pakistan

By A. Sami Malik

SINDH, Pakistan, 1 November 2011 – Noor Jehan, 10, is one of the 60 students enrolled in a Temporary Learning Centre (TLC) established by UNICEF in the Bukhaira bypass camp through its implementing partner, Strengthening Participatory Organisation (SPO).

VIDEO: UNICEF reports on temporary learning centers that are giving fresh hope to children affected by the floods in Pakistan's Sindh Province.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“One, two, three, four, we are learning how to count,” said Noor excitedly. “Education here is good – it is better than our village school.”

Her sentiments are shared by her teacher at the TLC, Ms. Shireen, who feels that children attending the camp school are keener to learn and participate in activities both academic and recreational.

“The learning and recreational material provided by UNICEF is engaging,” she said. “It is easy for me to teach with the help of this material as children get more involved.” 

A quality education

Flood-affected families moved to the Bukhaira bypass camp after water levels rose in the low lying areas of Tando Allahyar, one of the districts worst hit by floods. The camp currently hosts 350 displaced families. Humanitarian organizations are providing shelter, food, safe drinking water and medicine. 

Having lost their meager belongings in the flood, the only satisfaction for Noor’s parents is the fact that their daughter is receiving quality education at the camp school.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Sami
Noor Jehan reads from the black board at the Temporary Learning Centre established by UNICEF in Bukhaira bypass camp for the flood-affected families.

“It is a good thing that she is studying here,” said her mother, Mitha Sumar. “We are poor people and have nothing. This school has been set up for children, which is good as they can now at least study in the camp.”

School-in-a-box

UNICEF and its implementing partners are in the process of setting up more TLCs for children in the flood zone. So far, 1,300 centres have been established, serving nearly 70,000 children. Their target is to establish at least 4,000 TLCs in the affected areas.

Apart from training teachers to work in these TLCs, UNICEF is also providing the centres with ‘School-in-a-Box’ kits, which contain enough learning material to manage a primary school for 80 students, as well as recreational kits, floor mats, black boards, stationary and other supplies.

Fawad Shah, UNICEF Emergency Education Officer, highlighted the necessity for children to receive a proper education despite their devastating circumstances. “This province has seen back-to-back emergencies, and children have already lost out a lot on their academic sessions, and we don’t want that to happen again,” he said. ”We are trying to ensure that education continues, and children have enough time to go to school.“


 

 

New enhanced search