巴基斯坦

巴基斯坦2010年洪灾过后,儿童和家庭面临新挑战

马尔科姆.布拉班特报道

巴基斯坦伊斯兰堡,2011年2月7日 – 巴基斯坦数万名儿童虽然在去年夏天灾难性的洪水中幸存,但随着冬季气温的骤降,他们依然面临着酷寒的挑战。夜晚寒冷的天气影响着整个国家,西北部山区开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省的条件尤为恶劣,那里已经下起了大雪。

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者马尔科姆. 布拉班特报道巴基斯坦儿童和家庭虽在洪灾中幸存,但依然面临冬季恶劣条件的挑战。 在Realplayer中播放

六个多月前的洪灾使两千万民众受灾,200多万栋房屋遭到毁坏,两百多万公顷的农作物田化为废地。很多流离民众至今尚未找到住所。

为应对这一情况,联合国儿童基金会用直升机向开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省弱势民众运送了保暖衣物、鞋子、毛毯、新生儿工具包等基本物资。

无路可走

来势汹汹的洪水打乱了先前隐藏的地雷和未爆炸的弹药布局,这使得情况更加严峻。目前已有三人(其中有两名儿童)因地雷爆炸而悲惨丧生。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0117/Noorani
在位于巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省坦克区瓦鲁基基利村,9岁的萨迪加在被洪水毁坏的房子外扛着一些建筑材料。

现在还有数十万流离民众住在救援营地里,政府部门鼓励民众回到老家,这些救援营地即将关闭。

联合国儿童基金会驻白沙瓦实地办事处工作人员桑丹纳.奥朗泽布(Shandana Aurangzeb)说:“人们很担心自己的去向,因为他们已经一无所有,家里的财产没有了,也不知道去哪里谋生计。”

营地生活

虽然巴基斯坦其它洪灾地区的儿童尚未面临这样的挑战,但是他们的生活依然很艰苦,尤其在信德省南部的洪水重灾区。来自简穆罕默德朔洛村9岁的纳兹拉. 巴希尔说:“住在营地里很艰难。天气很冷,早晨起床、晚上睡觉都非常不舒服。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0083/Noorani
巴基斯坦旁遮普省重灾区穆扎法尔格尔的真纳殖民地村,一名男孩正在新安装的手泵旁喝水。

她的妈妈祖赫拉抱着孩子,说:“我们需要口粮、住所和衣服。我们什么都没有,我们的家和所有东西都被冲走了,我们什么都需要——需要一个人能够生存的必需品。”

在信德省中部的可汗普尔加可鲁帐篷营地,一位5个孩子的母亲——22岁的伊斯兰姆.古尔扎道出了相同的处境:“我很担心,因为我没有家,这里太冷了。我们一家需要有个屋顶挡挡风。”

提供安全用水

联合国儿童基金会的首要工作之一是为洪灾区提供安全用水。目前儿基会已经能够确保300多万民众的安全用水,但是供水依然非常不足。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0079/ Noorani
巴基斯坦旁遮普省洪灾区拉詹普尔地区巴斯蒂巴雅村,在联合国儿童基金会资助的临时学习中心里,女孩们上课时在木板上写字学习。

在旁遮普省南部的贾卡瓦拉村,自耕农担心正常的供应水安全问题,这些水来自距地表不远的地下水,水中含有对人体有害的砷。联合国儿童基金会提供了能够深入地下三百英尺的特殊手泵,从远离含砷的水源取水。

联合国儿童基金会驻木尔坦基地水专家瓦西姆.乌拉.哈克(Waseem Ul Haq)说:“我们正在尽最大努力为受灾地区提供安全饮用水。”

教育中断

洪水使日常生活的另一方面——儿童教育遭到中断,尤其是女童教育。人们认为女孩应该在家照顾兄弟姐妹和料理家务,而不是去上学。

然而,这场洪灾却为一些流离家庭的儿童创造了新的学习机会。联合国儿童基金会建立了临时学习中心,使这些儿童能够第一次到学校开始学习。但这种教育很短暂,因为很多儿童已经回到了没有学校的社区。


 

 

报告:巴基斯坦的儿童

搜索

Pakistan

Children and families face increasing challenges in aftermath of 2010 Pakistan floods

By Malcolm Brabant

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan, 7 February 2011 – Tens of thousands of children who survived last summer’s apocalyptic floods in Pakistan are now at risk from cold and exposure as winter temperatures plummet. Freezing conditions at night are affecting the entire country but are especially severe in the mountainous Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province in north-west Pakistan, where snow has fallen.

VIDEO: UNICEF's Malcolm Brabant reports on children and families in Pakistan who survived massive floods in 2010 but are at risk from harsh winter conditions.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The floods, which began more than six months ago, affected 20 million people and damaged or destroyed more than 2 million homes, laying waste to of over 2 million hectares of crops. Many people displaced by the floods still do not have proper shelter.

To address this situation, UNICEF is sending in essential supplies by helicopter, providing warm clothes, shoes, blankets and newborn kits to the most vulnerable villages in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Road to nowhere

Worsening an already dire scenario is the fact that shifting floodwaters have disturbed previously hidden mines and unexploded ordnance.  Tragically, three people – including two children – have been killed by exploding landmines.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0117/Noorani
Sadiqa, 9, carries building materials outside her family's flood-damaged home in Waruki Kili village, located in the Tank District of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province, Pakistan.

Many of the relief camps, where several hundred thousand displaced people still live, will shortly close as authorities encourage families to return to their areas of origin.

“People are very worried about where they are going to go,” said Shandana Aurangzeb of UNICEF’s field office in Peshawar, “because they don’t have anything to go back to. Their household belongings are gone. Their livelihood is gone.”

Life in a camp

While children living elsewhere in Pakistan’s flood-affected regions do not face such hazards, they are still enduring great hardship, especially in Sindh Province in the south, which was severely affected by the deluge. “Living in a tent is extremely difficult. Waking up in the morning, sleeping at night is very uncomfortable, as it’s very cold,” said Nazira Bashir, 9, from Jan Mohammed Shoro village.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0083/Noorani
A boy drinks from a newly installed handpump in the village of Jinnah Colony in Muzaffargarh, one of the most flood-affected districts in Pakistan's Punjab Province.

Cradling a baby, her mother, Zohra, added: “We need rations, shelter and clothes. We have nothing. Our house and everything in it was washed away. We need everything – everything a human being needs to survive.”

In Khan Pur Jakro tent village in central Sindh, Islam Gulzar, 22, a mother of five, told a similar story. “I’m worried because I’ve no home. This place is cold. My family needs a roof over our heads,” she said.

Providing safe water

One of UNICEF’s main priorities is to provide safe drinking water to flood-affected regions. At the moment, the agency has managed to ensure that more than 3 million people have access to safe water, but a substantial shortfall remains.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0079/ Noorani
Girls write on wooden boards during class at a UNICEF-supported temporary learning centre in Basti Bhaya village, in the flood-ravaged Rajanpur district of Punjab Province, Pakistan.

At Jharkawala village in southern Punjab, subsistence farmers are anxious about their normal supply, which comes from groundwater not far beneath the surface. The water contains arsenic, which is extremely harmful to humans. UNICEF has provided special handpumps that can reach water supplies 300 feet underground, beyond the arsenic traces.

 “We are trying our level best to provide safe drinking water to the affected community,” said Waseem Ul Haq, a UNICEF water specialist based in Multan.

Education disrupted

Another facet of daily existence disrupted by the floods has been children’s education, particularly for girls, who are expected to look after their siblings and help with household chores rather than go to school.

The disaster has, however, opened up new learning opportunities for some children from displaced families, who have been able to go to school for the very first time thanks to UNICEF's temporary learning centres. But this taste of education could be short-lived; many children have already returned to communities that have no schools.


 

 

Report: Children in Pakistan

New enhanced search