巴基斯坦

洪水蔓延到巴基斯坦南部,无家可归的民众寻求栖身之所

UNICEF Photo
© REUTERS/Soomro
在巴基斯坦的信德省,一位在洪水中艰难行走的男人把他的女儿交给海军救援船只。

巴基斯坦苏库尔,2010年8月10日–近日,巴基斯坦西北部省份发生洪水,目前洪水正向该国南部移动。随着因季风而带来的暴雨的持续,这场灾难有可能蔓延到信德省乃至整个国家。

据联合国估计,这场洪灾使约1400万人口受到影响。数十万人已经接受到了人道主义援助,但是仍有数百万民众急需住所、食物、水以及医疗服务。在未来几天,信德省的洪水灾情可能愈发严重。

寻求答案

苏库尔市是该省的大城市之一,该市的政府综合性高等中学已迁至到一个安置灾民的救援营地内。洪灾的受害者们劳累而茫然,他们想为自己的悲惨遭遇寻求答案。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Raabya
努尔.加汗(右)和村子里的其他村民一起耐心地等待有关丈夫和姐夫的消息,这些青壮年仍然留在村子里保护家里的牲口和财物。

努尔.加汗来自希卡布尔地区乌那格斯村,她抱着15个月大的儿子,和其他人一样不知所措。努尔.加汗现在仍然感到疲倦和惊恐,她回忆起逃离村子时那天的情况。

加汗说:“我当时正在院子里喂羊,姐夫慌忙跑进来说,傍晚时可能洪水就要来了,我们得要赶紧撤离。真的是一片混乱,我都不知道我们是怎样把仅有的一点财物装上驴车,再启程去苏库尔的。”

家庭避难

加汗非常担忧丈夫和姐夫的安危。

 

UNICEF Photo
© REUTERS/Soomro
一户人家从洪水中逃出来,到达位于巴基斯坦信德省苏库尔区的地势更高的乌那格斯村。

她流着泪说:“我的丈夫和他哥哥留守在家里保护牛羊,因为这些是我们唯一的收入来源。对我们来说,这是一次痛苦的旅行。我们不知道目的地在哪儿,也非常担心留守男人的安危。走了一天一夜之后,我们来到这里,但也不知道接下来会发生什么。”

这个临时营地收留了来自乌那格斯村的25个家庭和其他地区的人们,共有500人在这里避难,并还有人将陆续抵达。

苏库尔市的政府官员在校舍里建造了医疗诊所,联合国儿童基金会也正在帮助当地医疗部门重新提供免疫注射服务。一名接种人员正忙着为15岁以下的儿童注射麻疹疫苗,并向他们提供维生素A补充剂,以提高儿童对疾病的免疫力。

不稳定的形势

苏库尔市位于印度河畔,每年来自北部的洪水将经过这条河流入阿拉伯海,因此,整个地区的洪水形势非常不稳定。随着持续的降雨和水位的上涨,该地区已处于高度戒备状态。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Raabya
流离失所的民众被转移到安全地带后,正在等待救援物资。他们中的大部分人失去了家中的所有财产。

苏库尔地区数万人口已从低地撤离。由于一方面不了解政府在该地区所建立的救援营地的情况,另一方面或是无法到达营地,很多流离家庭都在户外等待救援,他们没有安全饮用水、食物、住所、卫生和医疗服务等基本生活用品和设施。

在这种情况下,儿童尤其更易受到水传播疾病和其它危险的伤害。

如果水位到达临界点,那么当地政府部门将不得不摧毁苏库尔市的大坝以拯救城市,但是这将淹没桑格拉、萨利帕和阿里瓦安等行政区域内的村落。为应对这一潜在的威胁,这些地区的大部分人口已经撤离。


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

Displaced by floods now reaching southern Pakistan, families seek shelter and relief

UNICEF Image
© REUTERS/Soomro
A woman and her baby wait for food aid at a makeshift camp for flood victims in Sukkur, in southern Pakistan's Sindh Province.

SUKKUR, Pakistan, 10 August 2010 – The floods that have inundated north-western Pakistan in recent weeks have now moved south, expanding the emergency into Sindh Province as torrential monsoon rains continue across wide areas of the country.

According to UN estimates, a total of 14 million people – including 6 million children – have been affected by the flood crisis. Hundreds of thousands have received humanitarian aid, but millions more urgently need shelter, food, water, and health care. And flooding could worsen considerably in the coming days, especially in parts of Sindh.

Search for answers

In Sukkur city, one of the province’s largest municipalities, the Government Comprehensive Higher Secondary School has been converted into a relief camp for people displaced by the floods. Tired and expressionless faces at the camp attest to the flood victims’ search for answers to their misery.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Raabya
Noor Jehan (right), with neighbours from her flooded village in Pakistan's Sindh Province, waits to receive news about her husband and brother-in-law, who remained behind to guard their animals and belongings.

Carrying her 15-month-old son in her arms, Noor Jehan, who comes from Unar Goth village in Shikarpur district, is as lost as many others from her community. Still in a state of shock and fatigue, she recalls fleeing from her ancestral village.

“I was tending the goats in the compound when my brother-in-law hurriedly came in and informed us that we had to vacate our house immediately as the river would flood our village by nightfall,” says Ms. Jehan. “It was chaotic. I don’t know how we loaded our meagre belongings onto the donkey cart, got onto it ourselves and set out on the road to Sukkur.”

Families take refuge

Ms. Jehan is deeply concerned about the well-being of her husband and brother-in-law. 

 

UNICEF Image
© REUTERS/Soomro
A man hands over his daughter to a naval rescue boat as he wades through floodwaters in Pakistan's Sindh Province.

“My husband and his brother stayed behind to safeguard our goats and the cow, our only source of income,” she says with tears in her eyes. “For us, it was an agonizing journey. We did not know our destination and were worried sick about our men that we left behind. After travelling for a day and a night, we have reached here but are uncertain of what will happen next.”

Twenty-five families from Unar Goth are at the temporary camp, but they are not the only ones sheltered here. In all, about 500 people have taken refuge in the settlement, and many more are expected to arrive.

Municipal officials in Sukkur have set up a medical clinic in the school building, and UNICEF is supporting the local health department’s efforts to revive immunization services. A vaccinator is busy immunizing children under the age of 15 against measles and providing them with vitamin A supplements to boost their immunity to disease.

Precarious situation
The city of Sukkur is located on the banks of Indus River, which takes in floodwaters from the north before draining into the Arabian Sea; as a result, the flood situation in the entire district is precarious. With rains continuing and water levels rising, the area has been placed on high alert.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Raabya
Families displaced by flooding await relief supplies after moving to safer areas in southern Pakistan's Sindh Province. Most have lost all of their belongings.

Tens of thousands of people in Sukkur district have been evacuated from low-lying areas. Unaware of the relief camps established by the government in this area – or unable to reach those camps – many displaced families are waiting for help out in the open without basic amenities such as safe drinking water, food, shelter, sanitation and hygiene supplies.

Under these conditions, children are particularly vulnerable to waterborne diseases and other dangers.

If the water level reaches a critical point, local authorities may have to deliberately breach a barrage, or dam, in Sukkur in order to save the city – but that would inundate numerous villages in the administrative areas of Sangrar, Salihpat and Ali Wahan. In response to the threat, much of the population in these areas has already been evacuated.


 

 

New enhanced search