巴基斯坦

帮助巴基斯坦街头无家可归的儿童

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2009/Ramoneda
阿里(中)想法接近流落街头的儿童,鼓励他们走访联合国儿童基金会支持的儿童中心。

安东尼.帕拉德拉报道

2010年2月19日,巴基斯坦卡拉奇 - 巴基斯坦最大城市的街道,是成千上万生活孩子生活乃至工作的地方。对阿里(化名)来说,这些街道曾经是他的家。

阿里离家出走的原因是受到了虐待。14岁的时候,他来到了联合国儿童基金会支持、由非政府组织阿扎德基金会运行的一个儿童中心。现在他已18岁,成为了一名流落街头儿童的同伴教育者。

“当我站在街头寻找孩子们的时候,我一眼就能看出他们的处境,”阿里说道。“我会和他们交谈,并建议他们随我来到中心。我告诉他们,在这里可以找到医生并得到一些教育。如果这些儿童衣衫褴褛或双脚又黑又脏,我会对他们说,可以在这儿洗干净并将衣服补好。”

“我能理解街头儿童”

阿里愿意帮助其他儿童离开街头、远离毒品。作为一个同龄人,他知道,赢得街头儿童的信任是关键。 “我跟他们讲自己的故事,告诉他们我曾经和他们一样也是流落街头的孩子,但现在我过着不错的生活。我可以理解他们的困境,”阿里说道。

“他们有些人相信我的话。其他人会害怕或不清楚我的动机。我接触的大部分儿童都来到了中心。有些一开始不愿意,但在两三天后也会随后而来,”他补充说。

“街头对生活在那里的儿童来说充满了险恶,”阿扎德基金会心理学家瓦思.法蒂玛说道,“吸毒很普遍,大多数儿童遭受到性虐待或骚扰。”

克服恐惧

阿里的工作充满了挑战。“当我接近街头流浪儿童时,会感到恐惧。有时我仍认为自己是其中一员,”他说。“因为现在有了信心,我克服了自身的恐惧感。我觉得儿童中心就是我的后盾。我走过了一条漫长的道路。”

对阿里来说,康复曾是一个艰难的过程。他参加了两次康复方案,但治疗后仍继续吸毒。他与家人团聚了三次,又再次分开,然后重新回到了街头过着流浪生活。

阿里最终去了一所由阿扎德基金会管理的住宅收容点,使他远离了街头及其诱惑。现在,他已在该中心找到了一份工作,又再次与家人一起生活,同时家人也在接受咨询辅导。

“并不是一凡风顺的,但他一直能得到支持,”法蒂玛说道。

“当我来到这里[中心]的时候 ,我什么也不是,”阿里回忆道。“我学到了很多东西:读、写....最重要的是,我学会了帮助那些还流落在街头的儿童。”


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

Helping homeless children get off the streets of Pakistan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2009/Ramoneda
Ali (centre) approaches street children to encourage them to visit a UNICEF-supported child centre.

By Antonia Paradela

KARACHI, Pakistan, 19 February 2010 – Tens of thousands of children live or work on the streets of this, Pakistan's largest city. For Ali (not his real name), these streets were once his home.

Ali left his family because of physical abuse. At the age of 14, he came to one of the child centres run by the Azad Foundation, a UNICEF-supported non-governmental organization. Now 18, he works as a peer educator for street children.

"When I go to the street to find children, I see in which situation they are," said Ali. "I talk to them and suggest that they come to the centre with me. I tell them they will find there a doctor and some education. If they have torn clothes or dirty feet, I tell them you can wash and repair your clothes there."

'I can understand'

Ali helps other children get off the streets and away from drugs. As a young person, he knows that gaining the trust of the street children is crucial. "I tell them my own story, that I was a street child like them, and I show them that now I am living a good life. I can understand the difficulties they have," said Ali.

"Some believe in what I say. Others are afraid or unsure of my intentions. Most of the children I approach come to the centre. Even those who are reluctant come after two or three days," he added.

"The streets are full of dangers for the children who live there," said Azad Foundation psychologist Waseen Fatima. "The use of drugs is common, and most of the children suffer from sexual abuse or harassment."

Overcoming fear

Ali's job is challenging. "I feel fear when I approach the street children. Sometimes I see myself as still one of them," he said. "But I overcome my fear because now I feel confident. I feel I have a back-up in the team at the child centre. I have come a long way."

Rehabilitation was a difficult process for Ali. He participated in rehab programmes twice but continued using drugs following treatment. He was reunited with his family three rtimes, only to be separated again – drawn back to life on the streets.

Ali finally went to a residential shelter run by the Azad Foundation, which took him off the streets and away from their temptations. Now that he has found a job at the centre, he again lives with his family, who also receive counselling.

"It is not without its difficulties, but he is getting support," said Fatima.

"When I came [to the centre], I was nothing," recalled Ali. "I learned many things, to read and write.... Most important, I learned to help others who are living in the street."


 

 

New enhanced search