巴基斯坦

冬季的来临将加剧冲突对巴勒斯坦流离失所家庭的影响

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1254/Ramoneda
在巴基斯坦西北边境省布内尔县的苏潭瓦斯村,孩子们从受损严重的房屋阳台上往下看。

克里斯.尼尔斯报道

美国纽约,2009年10月26日 – 由于巴基斯坦西北部的冲突,这个地区的妇女和儿童又一次被迫踏上了出走的路途。

 点击此处观看视频

武装分子与政府军的战场已经转移到与阿富汗接壤的南瓦济里斯坦地区。在一个多星期的时间里,已有大约57600人逃到附近的德拉伊斯梅尔卡恩县和坦克县寻求庇护。自2008年8月冲突在该地区爆发以来,已造成至少270万人无家可归。

尽管人道主义工作人员还无法进入瓦济里斯坦地区,但联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴正在努力救助最弱势的群体。

安置物资

联合国儿童基金会高级应急专家马克.萨尔瓦尔(Marc Salvail)说:“由于无法进入瓦济里斯坦地区,我们在距离那些冲突地区一、两个小时的地方设立了一个物流基地。出于安全考虑,我们在这里工作,在这里安置救援物资。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1107/Ramoneda
在巴基斯坦西北边境省马尔丹县谢尔格尔镇的安全检查站,车辆排着长队等候检查。一名女孩正从载着流离失所家庭的面包车里向外望。

巴基斯坦持续的紧急局势情况复杂。自冲突开始以来,已有大约165万流离失所者返回家园。联合国儿童基金会正与这些家庭接触,以确保他们和那些从未离开过冲突地区的家庭得到必要的保护。

由于最近冲突的升级,联合国儿童基金会现在必须确保那些逃到德拉伊斯梅尔汗县和坦克县避难的人不会蒙受太大的磨难。

迅速的人道主义行动

萨尔瓦尔先生说:“总体来讲,局势相当不稳定。但幸运的是,联合国已经建立了一些基地,使我们可以迅速地采取行动。最新一波国内的流离失所潮来得并算不突然,但我们没有预料到的是,短短几天就有这么多人转移。”

尽管局势严峻,联合国儿童基金会仍然成功地接触到了最脆弱的儿童和家庭,为将近18万来自南瓦济里斯坦地区和收容家庭的儿童接种了麻疹疫苗,其中许多儿童还是生平第一次接种疫苗。联合国儿童基金会密切关注着局势的发展,并为帮助未来几周内将出现的新流离失所人群做着准备工作。

但是,很少有人知道那些留在瓦济里斯坦的人的情况。萨尔瓦尔先生说:“我们无法进入瓦济里斯坦,也无法得到这个被严格控制的地区的确切消息。”

冬天即将来临

与此同时,另一项挑战正在逼近: 即使在最好的情况下,这个地区冬季的天气也是出了名的恶劣。

萨尔瓦尔先生语气坚决地说:“国际社会必须确保库存物资到位,民众有房可住,有衣可穿,以及有度过这个严冬所需的其他物资。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年10月23日:联合国儿童基金会高级应急专家马克.萨尔瓦尔,介绍在为巴基斯坦受冲突影响的妇女和儿童提供物资的工作中所面临的挑战。
 视频  

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Pakistan

Conflict intensifies as winter closes in on displaced families in Pakistan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1254/Ramoneda
Children look down from the terrace of their severely damaged home in Sultanwas Village, located in the Buner District of Pakistan's North-West Frontier Province.

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 26 October 2009 – Women and children in north-western Pakistan are once again on the move because of conflict in the region.

VIDEO: Watch now

Fighting between militants and government forces has moved to South Waziristan on the Afghanistan border. In little more than a week, about 57,600 people have taken refuge in the neighbouring districts of Dera Ismail Kahn and Tank. They are the latest of some 2.7 million people who have been displaced since conflict overwhelmed the region in August 2008.

Humanitarian access is impossible in Waziristan, but UNICEF is working with partners to reach the most vulnerable. 

Pre-positioning supplies

"Since we cannot be in Waziristan, we've installed a logistics base nearby, which is about one or two hours away from these locations. And this is where we operate from, for security reasons and for pre-positioning our stocks," said UNICEF Senior Emergency Specialist Marc Salvail.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1107/Ramoneda
A girl from a displaced family looks out the window of a van as she waits in a long queue of vehicles to clear a security checkpoint in the town of Shergarh, located in Mardan District, North-West Frontier Province.

The ongoing emergency in Pakistan is complex. Since the conflict began, about 1.65 million displaced people have returned home. UNICEF is working with those families to ensure their well-being as well as that of families who have never left the conflict area.

Due to the recent upswing in violence, however, UNICEF must now ensure that those who have sought shelter in Dera Ismail Khan and Tank do not suffer unduly.

Swift humanitarian action

"Overall, the situation is quite precarious," said Mr. Salvail. "Luckily, the UN had established bases so that we could act swiftly. The latest influx of internally displaced people comes not as a surprise, but we had not expected that such a large number would move in so few days."

Despite the challenges, UNICEF has had success in reaching vulnerable children and families. Nearly 180,000 children from South Waziristan, and their hosts, have been immunized against measles – many for the first time in their lives. UNICEF is monitoring the situation very closely and is preparing to help those who become newly displaced in the coming weeks.

But little is known about the status of those who remain in Waziristan. "We have no access. We have no real information coming out of those areas that are quite restricted," said Mr. Salvail.

Winter on the way

In the meantime, another foe is advancing: Winter in the region is notoriously brutal under the best of circumstances.

"The international community has to ensure that stocks are in place and that people are provided with adequate shelter, adequate clothing and other materials that will isolate them from the harsh winter coming," Mr. Salvail asserted.


 

 

Video

23 October 2009: UNICEF Senior Emergency Specialist Marc Salvail discusses the challenges in delivering aid to women and children affected by conflict in Pakistan.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search