巴基斯坦

持续的冲突造成大量巴基斯坦民众流离失所

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0523/Ramoneda
在巴基斯坦西北边境省的斯瓦比流离失所难民营,一名男孩帮家人拿食物。

巴基斯坦贾拉拉难民营,2009年5月21日 – 自今年4月底以来,在巴基斯坦西北部对抗武装分子的新一轮军事进攻造成超过150万人流离失所。自去年10月以来,已经有55.5万人流离失所、无家可归。

这是巴基斯坦在1947年建国以来最大规模的难民潮。

 音频 播放
 视频 播放

每天,数百个家庭在逃离了肥沃的斯瓦特山谷、下迪尔和布纳地区之后,来到像贾拉拉这样闷热、灰尘弥漫的难民营。这些流离失所的人口中超过一半是儿童,而他们正迫切地需要人道主义援助。大约三周之前开放的贾拉拉难民营,现在收容了超过1.1万人。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0520/Ramoneda
在巴基斯坦伊斯兰堡的一所流离失所难民营,儿童们在火堆边取暖。

困难时期

对于三个孩子的父亲艾哈迈德.希拉勒(Ahmad Hilal)来说,目前是尤其困难的时期。作为整个家族中唯一的成年男性,这位28岁的工人不仅要抚养他自己的孩子,还要照看10个侄子和侄女,以及他的祖母。

政府军和武装分子交火之后,这家人逃到了贾拉拉难民营。

希拉勒先生说:“几枚迫击炮弹就落在我们家房门口,我们赶紧逃命了。在难民营,我们没有任何亲人,我们也没有房子住。我们犯了什么罪?这些孩子做错了什么?”

宽慰和迷茫并存

联合国儿童基金会驻巴基斯坦的新闻官员安东尼娅.帕拉德拉(Antonia Paradela)强调说流离失所的家庭正处于矛盾的情绪中。

她说:“起初,大家都松了口气,因为他们觉得到了一个安全的地方。与此同时,人们又感到很迷茫,尤其是父母们。他们失去了家园,丢下了所有的一切。他们逃跑的时候只带着身上穿的衣服,不知道现在会发生什么。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0524/Ramoneda
在西北边境省马尔丹区贾拉拉难民营的一所由联合国儿童基金会资助的学校里,女孩们在上课。

为了应对这一紧急情况对儿童和妇女产生的影响,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴与联合国一起行动,以确保流离失所的儿童能够获得水和卫生服务、免疫和教育,并且不受虐待和剥削的伤害。 

教育带来正常感

为了让儿童重新获得教育和正常的生活,联合国儿童基金会正援助难民营里的小学,并为1700名儿童提供学习用品。在过去的一个月里,斯瓦特山谷超过180所学校被武装部队摧毁。

帕拉德拉女士说:“联合国儿童基金会要确保学校儿童恢复正常生活,并且帮助他们继续完成学业。在这一点非常重要。”

新难民营中建立的儿童友好空间还能为儿童提供玩耍和接受心理帮助的安全环境。儿童保护团队看管无人陪伴的儿童和孤儿,并确保妇女为户主的家庭能够获得服务和用品。

联合国儿童基金会正在难民营提供生活用水、搭建厕所并分发个人卫生用具。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年5月14日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员爱德华多.库尔报道巴基斯坦西北部贾拉拉难民营数千名流离失所人口的处境。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

音频(英文)

2009年5月14日:巴基斯坦不断扩大的流离失所危机。
 音频 播放

搜索

Pakistan

Ongoing conflict triggers massive displacement of families in north-west Pakistan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0523/Ramoneda
Children from a displaced family warm themselves beside a fire at a camp in Islamabad, Pakistan.

JALALA CAMP, Pakistan, 22 May 2009 – Since the end of April, a new army offensive against militants in north-west Pakistan has caused the displacement of more than 1.5 million people. They’ve joined the 555,000 people already displaced since October of last year and still unable to go home.

It’s the largest population displacement Pakistan has seen since the country was created in 1947.

 AUDIO: Listen now
  VIDEO: Watch now

Each day, hundreds of families arrive at hot, dusty camps like Jalala after fleeing the fertile valleys of Swat, Lower Dir and Buner Districts. More than half of those displaced are children, and all of them urgently need humanitarian assistance. Jalala camp, which opened less than three weeks ago, now hosts more than 11,000 people.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0520/Ramoneda
A boy carries food for his family in Swabi camp for displaced people in Pakistan’s North West Frontier Province.

Caught in the crossfire

For Ahmad Hilal, a father of three, this is a particularly difficult time. As the only adult male in his entire extended family, the 28-year-old day labourer is responsible for not only his own children but 10 nephews and nieces, as well as his grandmother.

The family fled to Jalala camp after getting caught in the crossfire between the army and militants

“Some mortar shells fell in front of our house, and we left to save our lives,” said Mr. Hilal. “Here [in the camp] we do not have any relatives, nor do we have a house to live in. What is our sin? What wrong have these children done?

“Whoever is responsible for this,” he added, “we appeal and request them to forgive us in Allah’s name and let us go back to our land.”

Relief and loss

UNICEF Pakistan Communication Officer Antonia Paradela noted that displaced families face conflicting emotions.

“At the beginning, there is a big sense of relief that they’re in a safe place,” she said. “At the same time, there is a big sense of loss, particularly among the parents. They lost their home. They left everything behind. They could barely escape with the clothes that they were wearing. They don’t know what’s going to happen now.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0524/Ramoneda
Girls attend class at a UNICEF-supported school at Jalala camp in Mardan district, North West Frontier Province.

To address this emergency’s impact on children and women, UNICEF and its partners are working as part of a coordinated UN response to ensure that displaced children have access to water and sanitation, immunization and education, as well as protection from abuse or exploitation. 

Education brings normalcy

Over 180 schools in the Swat Valley have been destroyed in the past month. To restore education to displaced children’s lives, UNICEF is assisting camp primary schools and providing school supplies for thousands of boys and girls.

“It’s very important for UNICEF to make sure that schoolchildren get a bit of normalcy but that they also can continue their education and not lose the academic year,” said Ms. Paradela.

Child-friendly spaces set up in the new camps also offer safe environments where children can play and receive psychosocial support. Child-protection teams monitor unaccompanied and orphaned children, and make sure that households headed by women have access to services and supplies.

UNICEF is also providing safe water, latrines and hygiene kits for children and families displaced by the fighting in north-west Pakistan.


 

 

Video

14 May 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Eduardo Cure reports on the situation of thousands of displaced people in Jalala camp, north-west Pakistan.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Audio

14 May 2009:
UNICEF’s Antonia Paradela discusses the burgeoning displacement crisis in Pakistan.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search