巴基斯坦

巴基斯坦控制的克什米尔地区巴瑙兰格拉学校举行教学楼落成仪式

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0971/Noorani
巴基斯坦控制的克什米尔地区的首都穆扎法拉巴德附近,儿童们在联合国儿童基金会资助的爱幼空间外玩耍。该地区受到2005年10月大地震的重创。

巴基斯坦巴瑙兰格拉,2009年3月13日– 一场灾难性的地震于2005年10月5日袭击了巴基斯坦的北部地区,导致七万三千人死亡,三百万人无家可归。几乎六千所学校– 该地区教育基础设施中的大部分– 被摧毁了,影响了大约45万名适龄儿童。

联合国儿童基金会帮助搭建了帐篷学校、建造了过渡避难所、培训了教师并提供了教学材料,以应对这一灾难。联合国儿童基金会还呼吁重建一些受损的学校,建成能够抗震的永久性建筑。

最近,巴瑙兰格拉村的这样一所学校竣工了。该社区位于受地震重创的杰赫勒姆山谷,距离巴基斯坦控制的克什米尔地区的首都穆扎法拉巴德大概两个半小时的车程。

新学校落成

该村唯一为女孩们提供的小学–大概有35名学生和一名老师 – 在地震中被摧毁了。自那以后,受到影响的儿童们就一直在联合国儿童基金会于该村空旷区域搭建的帐篷学校内上学。

在临时学校里,儿童和老师不得不忍受恶劣的天气以及艰苦的学习环境,但是教育一直没有中断,而与此同时,一个永久性的教学楼正在建设之中。

最近,在联合国儿童基金会的资助下,政府女子小学——巴瑙兰格拉学校建成了一栋永久性教学楼。巴基斯坦控制的克什米尔地区的卫生和政府社会福利部部长纳吉布.纳奇(Najib Naqi)博士,以及联合国儿童基金会驻巴基斯坦代表马汀.莫格万佳(Martin Mogwanja)出席了教学楼的落成仪式。

建造学校的成本为七万两千美元,这些资金来自加拿大国际开发署、澳大利亚国际发展援助署、欧盟和荷兰。

“我们很喜欢学习”

莫格万佳先生在落成仪式上与学生、家长和老师们交谈。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-0997/Ramoneda
济亚拉特区汗孟加拉语村,在2005年地震中流离失所的男孩坐在一个箱子上,身边是从他家房子的废墟中抢救出来的财物。

他说:“这所学校将可以容纳56名女孩。事实上,这里之前就是一所学校,后来在地震中倒塌了。那所学校是一个只有一间教室的小学校。现在这所学校有两间教室,还有良好的水和卫生设施。这使社区能够重新关注儿童的教育问题。”

年轻的学生们很高兴能有一座新的学校。在院子里的一个很特别的集会上,她们为新学校祈祷,并下定决心要完成学业。

一名五年级的学生坎瓦尔(Kanwal)说:“以前我们不得不坐在泥地上。现在建起了这么漂亮的教学楼,我们有地方玩,还可以坐在舒适的长椅上。我们现在很喜欢学习。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员贝卡.哲妮报道联合国儿童基金会在巴基斯坦控制的克什米尔受地震影响地区帮助建造的学校竣工。

 视频: 高速| 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Pakistan

Inauguration of the Banaw Langla School in Pakistan-administered Kashmir

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Pakistan2009/Zak
UNICEF-supported, newly constructed primary school for girls is inaugurated at Banaw Langla, Pakistan.

BANAW LANGLA, Pakistan, 13 March 2009 – A catastrophic earthquake struck the northern areas of Pakistan on 5 October 2005, killing 73,000 and leaving 3 million homeless. Nearly 6,000 schools – the bulk of the region’s educational infrastructure – were destroyed, affecting approximately 450,000 primary school-aged children.

UNICEF responded by setting up temporary tent schools, constructing transitional shelters, training teachers and supplying school materials. UNICEF also pledged to reconstruct some of the destroyed schools with earthquake-resistant permanent buildings.

One such school opened recently in Banaw Langla village. The community is located in Jhelum Valley, about two and a half hours’ drive from Muzaffarabad, the capital of Pakistan-administered Kashmir, which bore the brunt of the earthquake.

Inaugurating a new school

The only girls’ primary school in this village – with about 35 pupils and one teacher – was destroyed in the quake. The affected children had since been attending a tent school set up by UNICEF in an open area of the village.

In the temporary schools, children and teachers were exposed to a harsh climate and a challenging learning environment, but the process of education continued while a permanent school building was being constructed.

Recently, the UNICEF-supported permanent school building of the Government Girls Primary School, Banaw Langla, was inaugurated. The Minister for Health and Social Welfare of the Government of the Pakistan-administered Kashmir, Dr. Najib Naqi, and UNICEF Representative in Pakistan Martin Mogwanja were present for the occasion.

The school building has been constructed at a cost of $72,000 with funding from the Canadian International Development Agency, Australian Aid for International Development, the European Union and the Netherlands.

’Now we enjoy learning’

Mr. Mogwanja mingled with students, teachers and parents at the ceremony.

“This school will take 56 girls,” he said. “On this very site, in fact, there was a school which was knocked down by the earthquake – a small one-room school. Now we have a two-room school with proper water and sanitation facilities. And this is giving the community back the focus for the education of their children.”

The young students were delighted to have a new school building. In a special assembly held in the courtyard, they prayed for their new school and were beaming with determination to complete their education. 

“Earlier we had to sit on the muddy ground,” explained Kanwal, a fifth-grade student. Now such a beautiful building has been constructed. We have space to play and a lovely bench to sit on. And now we enjoy learning.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Becca Journey reports on the completion of a UNICEF-supported school in an earthquake-affected area of Pakistan-administered Kashmir.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search