被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

巴勒斯坦国青少年坦言,在隧道里冒着生命危险从事繁重的体力劳动是他们唯一的选择

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0874/El Baba
两名17岁的巴勒斯坦男孩在加沙与埃及交界处的地道里非法偷运碎石。自从2007年开始封锁以来,这些地道被用来走私无法在加沙买到的物品。

凯瑟琳.怀布尔(Catherine Weibel)报道

巴勒斯坦国加沙,2013年1月9日 —— 在加沙南部与埃及交界处的这一小片狭长土地上,布满了千疮百孔的废墟和沙地,数百顶白色帐篷里传出发电机的轰鸣声。

这些帐篷位于拉法(Rafah)镇边上,隐藏着地道入口。自从五年前开始封锁以来,这些地道便用来走私食品、燃料和建筑材料。以色列称有些地道用于向加沙走私武器。

在一个帐篷里,12名青少年围坐在一个大坑旁,等待他们的最后一个朋友上升到地面。地道由木桩支撑,裸露着土墙,男人可以在里面低头站立。

意外事故频繁。自2009年以来,塌方、触电、煤气罐爆炸和空袭导致8名儿童死亡,另外3名儿童受伤。

在地道里工作的儿童并不少见,但没人知道有多少儿童。许多地道老板发现雇用儿童更加容易,他们不太会抱怨工作条件和工资。父母们称他们没有办法,只能让他们的孩子去地道里工作帮忙养家。

地道还是坟墓?

16岁的穆罕默德*(Mohammed)在14岁时被送去地道里工作。“一天早晨,我妈妈把我拥在怀里,抱着我哭。她说,我父亲太老找不到工作了,我是个男人,从现在开始不能再去上学了,得去工作。”他说,“我被迫辍学,终于在地道里工作了。”

穆罕默德在说话时几乎睁不开眼睛,他精疲力尽,虚弱的身体麻木了。“第一次进地道的时候,我被吓哭了。”他回忆说,“我不想在地下工作;地道看起来像一座坟墓。其中一个工人给了我一小片药,让我放松了下来。”

这种药叫做曲马多(Tramadol),是通过地道从埃及进口的劣质轻度片状止痛药。这种药在加沙十分畅销,并且很容易上瘾。在地道里工作的许多儿童说他们经常吃这种药。“我的身体疼得厉害,但我还是要去工作的时候,我就吃一片。”另一名少年说。

“我有什么办法?”

穆罕默德每一次下地道可以辛苦地赚到120谢克尔(约30美元)。他说,他可以在工地找到一份工作,但热的难受,并且薪水只是目前这份工作的三分之一。“我希望成为一名电工,但我真的不知道怎么实现。”他深思道。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0876/El Baba
17岁的穆罕默德*通过地道中的通信线路呼叫地面上的工人。他说,当年迈的父亲无法工作后,家人便让他辍学去地道里工作。

16岁的艾哈迈德(Ahmad)是穆罕默德的朋友,他每天下夜班后坚持上学。“我的老师说我应该停止在地道里工作,但我有什么办法?我不能让我的家人吃不上饭。”他悲叹,并补充说他上课时会一直睡觉。“我害怕的是我最终永远不能从学校毕业。”

他们冒着生命危险

穆罕默德和艾哈迈德回忆他们差一点在一次地道塌方事故中死掉的情形。“我们知道救援马上就到,并且还有一些空气,但我们当时运输的一个煤气罐开始泄露,导致我们呼吸困难。”穆罕默德回忆说,“我们惊慌失措,以为我们就要死了。”儿童们及时获救,但穆罕默德却住了一个星期的院。

穆罕默德说,他在另一个地道里工作的表兄弟却没有那么幸运。“他点烟时,引发当时运输的煤气罐爆炸,他被炸死了。”他轻声说。“我讨厌煤气罐,我一辈子都不想再搬,但我必须工作。”

萨克尔(Saqer)是联合国儿童基金会支持的拉法青少年友好中心的一名教育工作者。他说,他有时会遇到在地道里工作的儿童,并尝试劝说他们辞掉工作。

“我已经说服了一名少年去一家玻璃瓶厂工作。我正在试着帮他联系职业培训,因为他不想再回学校上学。”这名教育工作者说。由于薪水可观,这名少年偶尔还是会去地道里工作。

自从2010年封锁稍微放松以来,地道数量有所下降,工作开始减少。“我去地下工作不像过去那么频繁了。”一名15岁的地道工说。

然而,看起来他并不知道这对于他而言,究竟是福是祸。

*所有人名均系化名。


 

 

你看得见我吗?

搜索

At a glance: State of Palestine

Back-breaking and life-threatening labour in the tunnels the only option, say teenagers in the State of Palestine

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0874/El Baba
Two 17-year-old Palestinian boys work in a tunnel smuggling gravel under the Gaza-Egypt border. The tunnels are used to smuggle goods unavailable in Gaza since the beginning of the blockade in 2007.

By Catherine Weibel

GAZA, State of Palestine, 9 January 2013 - In the small patch of land that runs along Gaza’s southern border with Egypt, the sound of generators roars amid hundreds of white tents planted in the landscape of sand and bullet-riddled ruins.

Located on the edge of the town of Rafah, the tents hide entrances to tunnels that have been used to smuggle food, fuel and construction materials under the border since the beginning of the closure five years ago. Israel says some of the tunnels are used to smuggle weapons into Gaza.

Inside one of the tents, a dozen teenagers sit around a big hole, waiting for the last of their friends to rise up to the surface. The tunnel, with its walls of bare soil with wooden supports, is tall enough for a man to stand with his head bowed.

Accidents are rife. Since 2009, eight children have been killed and another three injured in collapses, electrocutions, explosions of gas cylinders and air strikes.

Children working in tunnels are a not a rare sight, but no one knows how many there are. Many tunnel owners find it easier to hire children, who are less likely to complain about working conditions or the pay. Parents claim they have no choice but to send their children to work in the tunnels to help feed the family.

Tunnels or tombs?

Sixteen-year-old Mohammed* was sent to work in tunnels when he turned 14. “One morning, my mother took me in her arms and hugged me, crying. She said that I was a man and that, from now on, I would no longer go to school but had to work because my father was too old to find a job,” he says. “I was forced to drop out of school and ended up in a tunnel.”

Mohammed can barely keep his eyes open as he talks, his frail body numb with exhaustion. “The first time I arrived at the tunnel, I freaked out and I cried,” he recalls. “I did not want to work underground; the tunnel looked like a tomb. One of the workers gave me a small pill to relax.”

The pill was Tramadol, a mild opioid painkiller of poor quality imported through the tunnels from Egypt. It has become a popular drug in Gaza and can be very addictive. Many children working in tunnels say they take it regularly. “Sometimes my body is aching too much, but I still have to go to work, so I take a pill,” says another teenager.

“What choice do I have?”

Mohammed earns up to 120 shekels (about US$30) per back-breaking shift in the tunnel. He says he could find a job on a construction site, but the heat is excruciating and the salary is only a third of what he currently makes. “I wish I could become an electrician, but I don’t really know how to get there,” he reflects.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0876/El Baba
Mohammed*, 17, calls workers at the surface through a communication line in a tunnel. He says his family asked him to leave school for the tunnels when his father became too old to work.

Mohammed’s friend, 16-year-old Ahmad, keeps going to school every day after his night shift. “My teacher says I should stop working in the tunnel, but what choice do I have? I cannot leave my family without bread on the table,” he laments, adding that he keeps falling asleep in class. “I fear that, in the end, I will never graduate from school.”

Risking their lives

Mohammed and Ahmad recall how they almost died together in a tunnel collapse. “We knew that help was on the way and there was some air left, but one of the gas cylinders we were transporting started to leak, and we suffocated,” remembers Mohammed. “We panicked and we thought we were going to die.” The children were rescued in time, but Mohammed was hospitalized for a week.

Mohammed says that his cousin, who worked in another tunnel, was not so lucky. “The gas cylinders he was transporting exploded when he lit up a cigarette, and he died,” the child says, softly. “I hate gas cylinders. I don’t want to carry another one in my life, but I have to work.”

Saqer is an educator in a UNICEF-supported Adolescent-Friendly Space in Rafah. He says that he sometimes comes across children working in tunnels and tries to talk them into quitting their jobs.

“I have convinced a teenager to go and work in a bottle factory instead, and I am now trying to find him vocational training, as he does not want to go back to school,” the educator says. The teenager is still working in the tunnels from time to time because it is more profitable. 

Since the closure was slightly eased in 2010, the number of tunnels has decreased, and work has started drying up. “I don’t go underground as often as I used to,” says a 15-year-old tunnel worker.

He does not seem to know whether it’s a good or a bad thing.

* All names have been changed.


 

 

Can You See Me?

New enhanced search