被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

在联合国儿童基金会帮助下,在被占领巴勒斯坦领土拥有安全可靠的饮水变为可能

2011年世界水日

莫妮卡.阿瓦德报道

加沙地带拉法,2011 年 3 月 21 日 – 7 岁的楠格汉姆 (Nagham) 生平第一次不再为要喝不干净的水而担心害怕。“现在我喜欢喝水。”她说:“水里没有奇怪的味道了。”

视频:2011 年3月7日 – 联合国儿童基金会记者爱德华多.居里(Eduardo Cure) 报道了该机构与被占领巴勒斯坦领土的合作伙伴合作,共同为孩子和家庭提供安全的饮用水,以庆祝世界水日。 在Realplayer中播放

楠格汉姆与爷爷奶奶一起居住在加沙地带的拉法,她大口地喝着取自联合国儿童基金会所建立灌装水点的水。“放学回家时,我感到口渴,我就在灌装水点停下,喝点水。”

水是生命之源,然而面临全球不断增加的需求,水资源显得日益贫乏。明天就是 2011 年世界水日,这个节日希望让全世界认识到水的重要性。

水成本

在加沙地带,约 97% 的人口已经连入水网,但是却经常面临停水。据估计,在加沙地带,由于氯化物和硝酸盐含量很高,90%-95% 的水资源并不适人类饮用。

这种水容易让儿童患上与水有关的疾病,所以很多家庭被迫购买饮用水。在这里购买一立方水箱水,平均要花 7 美元以上,这个价格几乎是管道自来水的 6 倍。这样的结果使得已经贫困的家庭雪上加霜。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Occupied Palestinian Territory/2011/ El Baba
联合国儿童基金会在被占领巴勒斯坦领土加沙地带的拉法 (Rafa) 修建了灌装水点,13 岁的穆罕默德•伊勒•扎特玛 (Mohammed El Zatma) 正在饮用来自该灌装水点的洁净水。在加沙地带,有 97% 的人口已经连入水网,但是其中大部分并不适合饮用。

楠格汉姆一家以前不得不购买饮用水。在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,当地安装了一台脱盐装置,现在安全的饮用水可以通过水管进入到她的家里。

联合国儿童基金会与日本、澳大利亚和西班牙三国政府合作,在另外的地区安装了 8 台脱盐装置,惠及加沙南部的 6 万多人。在加沙的一些重点地区,合作伙伴们另外安装了水泵和水箱,覆盖 151 个学校,能够服务于超过 7 万名学生。

众多学生从学校新建的净水和卫生设施中获益。

联合国特别代表让.高夫 (Jean Gough) 说:“我们正在不断地与巴勒斯坦水利部 (Palestinian Water Authority)、沿海市水设施部 (Coastal Municipal Water Utility) 以及其它机构合作,致力于帮助贫困地区的孩子和家庭获得价廉质优的可靠饮用水。”

团结一致

离约旦河西岸大约 40 公里,孩子们同样面临水的问题,却带有不同的性质。加沙地带家庭面对的是水质问题。而在这里,由于降雨量少,加之水资源分布不均以及以色列在新建水井方面的限制,人们面临严重水资源匮乏。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Occupied Palestinian Territory/2011
在被占领巴勒斯坦领土加沙地带拉法的一个灌装水点,巴勒斯坦儿童正在用瓶子和其它容器装水。缺乏安全可靠的饮用水,容易让孩子患上与水有关的疾病。

这使他们的生活非常困难,尤其是那些极端贫困人群。

法拉的难民营 – 19 个由联合国难民救济及工程处 (United Nations Relief and Works Agency) 在约旦河西岸设立的难民营之一 – 目前有 7600 难民在此登记居住,其中 50% 的年龄在 18 岁以下。

大部分难民营的居民生活在贫穷线之下,没有工作且面临缺水。

2010 年,巴勒斯坦水利局钻了一口井,联合国儿童基金会为其安装了一个水泵,安装费用由瑞典国际发展机构(Swedish International Development Agency) 资助。这个水泵让难民营里的居民可以获得洁净可靠的自来水。

克服困难

尽管有很多来自政治方面的压力,巴勒斯坦当局仍努力为巴勒斯坦家庭提高供水质量和供水量。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Occupied Palestinian Territory/2011/El Baba
一名巴勒斯坦男孩坐在卡车上,旁边是在被占领巴勒斯坦领土加沙地带拉法的一个灌装水点刚刚灌装的水。

巴勒斯坦水利局部长萨达德.阿提利 (Shaddad Attili) 博士说:“与联合国儿童基金会合作,我们设法钻井、安装水泵、安装脱盐装置、并且培训人员,感谢我们的捐赠者,是您们让这一切变为可能。”

巴勒斯坦当局在供水方面面临很多挑战,其中既包括很难在以色列控制区获得建设许可,也包括供应巴勒斯坦人的水资源有限。

为了庆祝今年的世界水日,拉法的楠格汉姆和其他儿童将参加形式多样的活动,这些活动包括写故事和画画比赛、提高水资源意识的宣讲以及保护水资源的儿童歌曲演唱等。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: State of Palestine

UNICEF helps make safe, reliable water possible in the Occupied Palestinian Territory

Marking World Water Day 2011

By Monica Awad

RAFAH, Gaza Strip, 21 March 2011 – For the first time in her life, Nagham, 7, no longer fears drinking contaminated water. “Now I enjoy drinking water,” she says. “It does not have strange tastes.”

VIDEO: 7 March 2011 - UNICEF correspondent Eduardo Cure reports on UNICEF's work with its partners in the Occupied Palestinian Territory to provide safe drinking water to children and families, in observance of World Water Day.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Nagham, who lives with her grandparents in Rafah in the Gaza Strip, eagerly drinks from UNICEF’s newly-established water filling points.  “I get thirsty when walking back home from school and I stop by the water filling points and drink water,” she says.

Water is a basic requirement for all life, yet water resources are proving scarcer amid competing demands. Tomorrow marks World Water Day 2011, which seeks to highlight the importance of access to water through activities across the world.

Water costs

In the Gaza Strip, an estimated 97 per cent of people are connected to water networks. But the supply of water is often intermittent. It is estimated that 90 to 95 per cent of water sources in Gaza is not fit for human consumption due to high chloride and nitrate levels. 

This puts children at risk of water-borne diseases and forces households to purchase drinking water. Families here pay an average of more than $7 for a cubic meter of tankered water. That’s almost six times the average price charged for piped water, exposing already impoverished families to additional vulnerabilities.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Occupied Palestinian Territory/2011/ El Baba
Mohammed El Zatma, 13, drinks clean water from a UNICEF-installed water filling point in Rafa, Gaza Strip, Occupied Palestinian Territory. In the Gaza Strip ,97 per cent of people are connected to water networks but much is not fit for human consumption.

Nagham’s family used to have to buy drinking water. But after installing a desalination unit with the help of UNICEF, they now get safe drinking water piped to their home.

Elsewhere, UNICEF, in partnership with the Governments of Japan, Australia, and Spain has installed eight desalination units, benefiting 60,000 people in southern Gaza. The partners have also installed water pumps and supported the provision of water tanks that cover 151 schools in vulnerable areas of the strip, reaching more than 70,000 students.

Most of them have also benefited from the newly-rehabilitated water and sanitation facilities in schools.

“We are continuously working with the Palestinian Water Authority, the Coastal Municipal Water Utility and others to reach out to most vulnerable communities to make sure that children and their families have water that is affordable and reliable, and is of good quality’ said UNICEF Special Representative Jean Gough.

Consolidated efforts

Just 40 km away in the West Bank, children also face water problems, but of a different nature.  While families in Gaza endure water quality problems, families in the West Bank suffer from water scarcity due to limited rainfall, coupled with already disproportionate water allocation, and the Israeli restrictions on drilling of new water wells.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Occupied Palestinian Territory/2011
Palestinian children fill bottles and containers from a water filling point in Rafah, Gaza Strip, Occupied Palestinian Territory. A lack of access to clean, reliable water puts children at risk from water-borne diseases.

It has made life extremely difficult, especially for the most vulnerable groups of people.

Fara’a refugee camp – one of the 19 United Nations Relief and Words Agency run-refugee camps in the West Bank – is home to 7,600 registered refugees, more than 50 per cent of whom are under the age of 18. 

The vast majority of the camp’s residents live below the poverty line, are unemployed and face water shortages.

In 2010, the Palestinian Water Authority drilled a well, for which UNICEF installed a water pump with funding from the Swedish International Development Agency. The pump now enables the residents of the camp to get reliable and clean tap water. 

Overcoming challenges

The Palestinian Authority is constantly working to improve the quantity and quality of water for Palestinian families despite the many political challenges.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Occupied Palestinian Territory/2011/El Baba
A young Palestinian boy is sits in the back of a truck with water bottles filled with water from the filling points in Rafah, Gaza Strip, Occupied Palestinian Territory.

“In partnership with UNICEF, we managed to drill water wells, install water pumps, install desalination units, and train our staff, thanks to our donors who made all of this possible,” said Palestinian Water Authority Minister Dr. Shaddad Attili. 

The Palestinian Authority faces many challenges in supplying water sources, including lack of permits to build in areas under Israeli control and a limited water supply to Palestinians.

To mark World Water Day, Nagham in Rafah and other children will be participating in various activities. They include story writing and drawing contests, awareness raising sessions and a children’s song on importance of preserving water.


 

 

New enhanced search