被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗访问被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1860/Pirozzi
在加沙地带北部的贾巴利亚镇,联合国儿童基金会中东和北非地区级亲善大使马哈穆德.凯比尔与联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗站在楼宇的废墟前。

莫尼卡.阿瓦德报道

美国纽约,2009年10月19日 - 联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗(Mia Farrow)首次对被占领的巴勒斯坦领土进行正式访问,她与另一位亲善大使马哈穆德.凯比尔(Mahmoud Kabil)亲眼目睹了这28个月的封锁和今年22天的冲突对儿童造成的影响。

 点击此处观看视频

法罗女士说:“孩子们的精神好像受了创伤,老师们说,学生们一听到巨大的声响就抬头看天空、喊叫或哭泣。他们不知道未来会发生什么事;他们有权过更好的生活。”

长期物资短缺

法罗女士参观了贝特拉希亚市奥马尔宾阿哈塔卜小学,这所学校在冲突中受到严重影响。由于缺少水泥及其他建筑材料,受损坏的280所学校中至今仍有多所学校没有进行修缮。 而课本、文具和粉笔等基本用品长期短缺。

法罗女士还探访了加沙城最大的医院——希法(Shifa)医院,这间医院有474张病床,可以为80万人提供服务。

在拉法市妇女培训中心,法罗和卡比尔了解到了年轻人所面临的困难。在法拉靠近埃及边境的地方,他们与被迫在隧道里工作的儿童会面。根据巴勒斯坦民主和冲突解决中心提供的信息,有大约8000名隧道工人是儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1868/Pirozzi
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗访问以色列斯德洛特市的马戴托拉尼小学。图中右一为一名在加沙激进分子的飞弹袭击中受伤的男孩。

同样的权利

在敌对行动结束了近九个月之后,仍有约两万名居民流离失所;由于持续的封锁,那些因战争而受损的房屋、重要的基础设施和280所学校无法获得修复或重建。儿童还会因一些未爆炸的炮弹而面临死亡或受伤的威胁,安全风险一直存在。目前,加沙60%的居民没有日常用水。

卡比尔先生说:“对加沙的长期封锁侵犯了儿童享有保健、教育和受保护的基本权利。巴勒斯坦儿童和世界各地的儿童拥有一样的权利,而这些权利应该得到保护。”

看望儿童

法罗女士还访问了以色列南部城市斯德洛特。这个地区曾受到来自加沙的火箭炮的攻击。她会见了以色列官员,并向受火箭炮袭击的儿童和家庭了解了当时的情况。

法罗女士说:“所有儿童都有成长在受保护的环境里的权利,这个地区的儿童理应生活在和平、安全并全面享有人权的环境。”

在访问约旦河西岸时,法罗女士到近东救济工程在杰宁的难民营探望了濒临危险的青少年。她还前往约旦河西岸北部的图巴斯,参观了一所名为阿卡巴的学校,这所学校的供水和环境卫生服务是由联合国儿童基金会负责维护的。

法罗说:“各方都有责任为结束战争和寻求持久的和平而加倍努力。孩子们已经失去很多,他们应该有更好的童年和充满希望的未来。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年10月17日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.奈尔斯报道联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米娅.法罗对被占领的巴勒斯坦领土进行首次正式访问。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: State of Palestine

Goodwill Ambassadors Mia Farrow and Mahmoud Kabil visit Occupied Palestinian Territory

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1860/Pirozzi
UNICEF Regional Goodwill Ambassador for the Middle East and North Africa Mahmoud Kabil and UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow stand in front of a destroyed building in the town of Jabalya in the northern Gaza Strip.

By Monica Awad

NEW YORK, USA, 19 October 2009 – In her first official visit to the Occupied Palestinian Territory, UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow joined fellow Goodwill Ambassador Mahmoud Kabil to witness the impact of conflict on children.

VIDEO: Watch now

“The children appear traumatized. The teachers say that when they hear a loud noise they look to the sky and cry out and weep. They don’t know what the future holds. They deserve better,” Ms. Farrow said.

Chronic shortages

Ms. Farrow visited the Omar Bin Al Khattab school in Beit Lahia, which has been severely affected by conflict.  To date, many of the 280 schools which suffered damage have remained without repair due to a lack of cement and other building materials. There are chronic shortages of basic supplies such as textbooks, stationery and chalk.

Farrow also visited Shifa hospital, which is the largest hospital in Gaza with 474 beds serving up to 800,000 people. 

At the Women’s Training Centre in Rafah, Ms. Farrow and Mr. Kabil listened to the challenges young people face. And they met with children who are forced to work in tunnels.  According to Palestinian Centre for Democracy and Conflict Resolution, about 8,000 of the tunnel workers are children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1868/Pirozzi
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow meets a boy who was injured in conflict, during a visit to Madai Torani primary school in the city of Sderot.

The same rights

Nearly nine months after the end of conflict, around 20,000 residents are still displaced. Homes, vital infrastructure and 280 damaged schools still cannot be repaired. Children remain at risk of death or injury from unexploded ordnance and there are ongoing security risks. Approximately more than half of the population of Gaza does not have daily access to safe water.

“The longstanding blockade on Gaza violates fundamental child rights to health, education and protection. Palestinian children have the same rights as all children everywhere and these rights need to be upheld,” Mr. Kabil said.

Visiting children

Ms. Farrow also visited Sderot, where she met with Israeli officials and heard testimonies from children and their families affected by violence and conflict.

“All children have a right to grow up in an environment that ensures their protection. Children of the region deserve to live in peace and security, with full respect to their human rights,” Ms. Farrow said.

During her visit to the West Bank, Ms. Farrow met at-risk adolescents at a UNRWA refugee camp in Jenin and visited the Al Aqabba school in Tubas, whose water and sanitation services were rehabilitated by UNICEF.

 “All sides have an obligation to intensify their efforts to end the violence and seek lasting peace. The children have lost so much. They deserve a better childhood and a future of promise,” Ms. Farrow said.


 

 

Video

17 October 2009: 
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow’s first official visit to the Occupied Palestinian Territories.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search