被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

加沙学生重返学校,孩子们恢复正常生活

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Gaza/2009/Iyad El Baba
由于一些学校在冲突遭到破坏,加沙的儿童在帐篷中恢复上课,他们收到联合国儿童基金会提供的学习用品。

纽约,2009年1月26日 – 伴随着加沙成千上万名儿童重返学校,联合国儿童基金会正在提供基本的教育设施和用品用以恢复学习和娱乐活动,创造安全环境,并帮助加沙儿童重归正常生活。

17岁的哈纳迪.阿科拉说:“回学校的第一天,因为知道战争机器不会留下任何完整的东西——没有人,没有石头,我预料会看到残垣断壁和破损的场面。但当我走进学校,我还是被所看到的景象惊呆了——教室被破坏、窗户都碎了;学校的每一个角落都在向我们提醒着战争。”

临时学习场所

1月26日,联合国儿童基金会驻被占领的巴勒斯坦领土代表帕特丽夏.麦克菲利普斯(Patricia McPhillips)前往加沙北部的贝特拉西亚(Beit Lahiya),联合国儿童基金会在那里为女孩子提供了两个帐篷,作为临时学习场所,她们的学校在冲突中完全被摧毁了。在未来的几天中,将会再搭建四个帐篷以容纳更多的学生。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Gaza/2009/Iyad El Baba
加沙停火之后,一名女生在返校的第一天查看学校所遭受的损失。

麦克菲利普斯女士说:“联合国儿童基金会与合作伙伴携手建立安全区域,并为加沙的孩子们提供教育材料。 重返学校,为儿童提供了互动、游戏、重建日常生活以及克服困难的宝贵机会。”

1月26日,联合国儿童基金会为加沙地带的10,400名学龄儿童提供了130个“学校用品箱”,其中包括练习本、圆珠笔和铅笔。联合国儿童基金会还为6,700名儿童提供了85个康乐箱,包括体育设施及其它娱乐物品;同时还为4,200名学生提供了数学和科学箱。

学校被摧毁

初步报告估计有七所学校被彻底摧毁,还有许多学校被破坏。像课本和文具之类的教育材料也遭丢失。为容纳学校遭到摧毁的学生们,学校需要轮流开两班——甚至三班课程。教师正在帮助学生们开始复健的旅程。

英语老师米亚颂.阿-埃玛韦(Myasoun Al-Emawi)说:“我们让每位女生讲出她的经历,也给教师讲述他们故事的机会。每位女孩都有故事要说。一些同学不敢走进那些曾经有学生死亡的教室,还有些学生拒绝坐在遇害的同学的座位上。”

与此同时,联合国儿童基金会还关切未引爆弹药的风险问题,并且呼吁优先清理学校附近的地区。联合国儿童基金会通过派发信息材料、播放广播告示以及在儿童玩具上印制警告,积极宣传、提高认知。

星期六,教育部报告说,学校的出勤率为80%。联合国近东救济工程处为超过19.6万名加沙儿童提供了学校教育。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年1月24日:联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.奈尔斯就加沙儿童重返学校报道。
 视频  高速低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: State of Palestine

Back to school in Gaza, children welcome chance to resume normal lives

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Gaza/2009/Iyad El Baba
A girl inspects the damage to her school on the student’s first day back following the ceasefire in Gaza.

NEW YORK, 26 January 2009 – With the return of hundreds of thousands of children to school in Gaza, UNICEF is providing essential educational equipment and materials to reinstate learning and recreational activities, create safe environments and help restore a sense of normalcy for children in Gaza.

“On the first day of my return to school I was expecting to find damage and destruction because I know that war machine didn’t leave anything in place – no human, no stone. When I first entered, I was shocked from the scenes that I saw—classrooms damaged, windows broken, every corner in the school reminds us of the war,” said Hanady Akeela, 17.

Temporary learning spaces

On 26 January, UNICEF Occupied Palestinian Territory Representative Patricia McPhillips visited Beit Lahiya in northern Gaza where two UNICEF tents serve as temporary learning spaces for girls whose school was completely destroyed.  Four additional tents will be set up in the coming days to accommodate additional students.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Gaza/2009/Iyad El Baba
Children in Gaza receive UNICEF school supplies as they resume their studies in tents, following the conflict which damaged several schools.

“UNICEF is working with partners to establish safe areas and to supply educational material for children in Gaza,” said Ms. McPhillips. “Returning to school provides an important opportunity for children to interact, play, rebuild their routines and overcome distress.”

On 26 January, UNICEF supplied 130 ‘School in a Box’ kits which include items such as exercise books and pens and pencils to 10,400 school-aged children in the Gaza strip. UNICEF also provided about 85 recreational kits, containing sports equipment and other entertaining items, for over 6,700 children, as well as Mathematics and Science kits for 4,200 students.

Schools demolished

Initial reports estimate that seven schools were completely demolished and many more were damaged. Educational materials such as textbooks and stationary were also lost. Schools are operating in double – even triple – shifts  to accommodate children whose schools were destroyed and teachers are helping students begin the journey to recovery. 

“We had each girl talk about her experience. Even the teachers were offered the chance to tell their stories. Every girl had a story to tell,” said English teacher Myasoun Al-Emawi.

“In classrooms where there were students killed, some of their classmates were scared to enter the class and some other classmates refused to sit in the same place where children had been killed.”

UNICEF is also concerned about the risk of unexploded ordnance, and has advocated for the clearance of school areas as a priority. UNICEF is actively raising awareness by distributing a number of informative materials, broadcasting radio messages and printing warnings on games for children.

On Saturday, the Ministry of Education reported an 80 per cent attendance at their schools. The United Nations Relief and Works Agency provides schooling for over 196,000 children in Gaza.


 

 

Video

24 January 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports that children in Gaza are returning to school.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search