被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

加沙的教育陷入政治紧张局势和武装冲突中

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
女孩子们在加沙地带的一所学校,武装冲突和贫困阻碍了巴勒斯坦儿童入学。

托尼.欧罗林报道

巴勒斯坦被占领土加沙地带,2007年12月12日。11岁的娜吉娃.艾尔.斯梅莉穿过加沙地带重兵把守的防线到仅仅数米外的学校去上学。她是班里最聪明的孩子之一但是由于暴力和世事无常困扰着她,她总是担心失败。

最近,娜吉娃在班里的排名已经从第四名滑落到了第五名,这是这个好学的孩子关注的事情。她说:“当我和我姐姐说时,她告诉我不要担心,这很正常,但是我仍然很担心。”

巴勒斯坦人把优质教育作为对未来的长期投资来经营,在整个地区的政府高层和商界都是这个看法。现在,不断上升的政治紧张局势和武装冲突给加沙带来了灾难性的影响,儿童的数量在这个地区占到人口的一半以上。

教育水平低已经成为加沙学校的普遍现象。根据世界银行的统计,这里80%的学生数学成绩不好,令人震惊的是40%的学生他们的母语阿拉伯语成绩不好。

应对教室空间短缺的问题

随着加沙经济发展停滞不前,教育的前景令人担忧。在娜吉娃的学校,因为纸张紧缺老师无法打印考试试卷。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
为了解决教室空间短缺的问题,加沙的许多学校实行两班倒制,一个班在上午上课,一个班在下午上课。

英语教师艾哈迈德.伊斯马力说:“我们把考试题写在黑板上,但是这样很费时间。” 建筑资源严重缺乏,意味着因为无法修建第二个卫生间,娜吉娃和她的女同伴只能上男卫生间。

应对教室空间短缺的问题,许多学校实行两班轮倒的办法,一个班在上午上课,一个班在下午上课。结果,约73%的加沙学生每天损失两个小时的在校学习时间。

对教育产生的破坏性影响

在黎巴嫩和叙利亚开办学校的联合国救济工作署最近对学校的调查显示,在加沙冲突和贫穷对教育产生了非常破坏性的影响。

自从七月以色列在加沙开始的封锁,估计有7万人失业,还会使失业率继续飚升。

大约80%的家庭依靠食品援助,援助机构担心这个数字还会上升。家庭预算由于购买诸如面粉和面包等进口产品承受压力,花光了他们的收入。

当娜吉娃上学的时候,她的精力常常被饥饿分散。她说:“有时我觉得我无法读书,无法集中精力听老师讲课。”

和以色列军队的冲突以及巴勒斯坦内部的冲突妨碍了加沙儿童学习。伊斯马利先生说:“恐惧充斥了每个儿童的心。他们不能集中精力。他们常常心不在焉。”


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员艾米.贝内特报道加沙教育每天面临的困难。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

At a glance: State of Palestine

Education suffers amidst political tension and conflict in Gaza

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Girls at a school in the Gaza Strip, where conflict and poverty are hampering the ability of Palestinian children to succeed in school.

By Toni O’Loughlin

GAZA STRIP, Occupied Palestinian Territory, 12 December 2007 – Najwa Al Smairi, 11, goes to school just metres from Gaza’s heavily guarded perimeter. She is one of the brightest students in her class but fears failure due to the violence and uncertainty around her.

Recently, Najwah has slipped from fourth to fifth in her class, and the studious 11-year-old is concerned. “When I spoke to my sister she told me not to worry, that it was normal, but I am still worried,” she says.

Palestinians have long traded on excellence in education as an investment in the future, working their way into the upper echelons of governments and businesses throughout the region. Now, increased political tensions and conflict are having devastating effects in Gaza, where children make up more than half of the population.

Low grades have become endemic in Gaza’s schools. According to the World Bank, 80 per cent of students here are failing math, while an astounding 40 per cent are failing Arabic, their mother tongue.

Coping with a lack of classrooms

With Gaza’s economy grinding to a halt, the outlook for education is troubling. At Najwah’s school, the teachers cannot print tests because paper is in short supply.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
To cope with the lack of classroom space, many schools in Gaza operate two shifts – one in the morning and one in the afternoon.

“We will have to write the exam on the blackboard, and that takes time,” says Ahmad Ismari, an English teacher.
 
A severe shortage of building materials also means Najwah and her female peers must share the boys’ toilets, because a second lavatory cannot be built.

To cope with the lack of classroom space, many schools operate two shorter shifts – one in the morning and one in the afternoon. As a result, some 73 per cent of Gaza’s students lose almost two hours of schooling a day.

Damaging effects on education

Results from a recent school survey released by the United Nations Relief and Works Agency, which also runs schools in Lebanon and Syria, highlighted the damaging effect of conflict and poverty on education in Gaza.

Since the beginning of an Israeli blockade of Gaza in July, an estimated 70,000 people have lost their jobs, adding to the soaring unemployment rate.

The number of families dependent on food aid is around 80 per cent, and aid agencies worry that the number could grow. Household budgets are under pressure as the cost of imported items such as flour and bread uses up their incomes.

When Najwa attends school, her mind is often distracted by hunger. “Sometimes I feel I can’t read and I can’t follow the teacher,” she says.

Conflict with the Israeli military and internal Palestinian clashes also hamper the ability of Gaza’s children to learn. “Fear is in every child,” says Mr. Ismari. “They can’t concentrate. They are really absent-minded.”


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the daily difficulties involved in getting an education in Gaza.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search