尼日利亚

日本政府向尼日利亚儿童事业提供捐赠

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nigeria/2009/Nwosu
联合国儿童基金会驻尼日利亚代表Suomi Sakai博士、尼日利亚卫生部长Babatunde Osotimehin及日本驻尼日利亚大使Toshitsugu Uesawa(从左至右)在尼日利亚的赠款协议签署仪式上换文

尼日利亚阿布贾,2009年8月19日 – 联合国儿童基金会驻尼日利亚办事处接受了日本政府的850万美元赠款,用于支持根除脊髓灰质炎、常规免疫和疟疾预防工作。

日本国际协力事业团(JICA)的驻地代表Kyojin Mima 与联合国儿童基金会代表Suomi Sakai博士于昨天在联邦卫生部签署了赠款协议。

出席签字仪式的有卫生部长Babatunde Osotimehin教授及日本驻尼日利亚特命全权大使Toshitsugu Uesawa先生。

降低儿童死亡率

尼日利亚在降低该国居高不下的儿童死亡率方面正取得进展。但是如果要实现千年发展目标中有关保健的目标,尼日利亚仍然面对着一些挑战。

致命的儿童疾病仍在该国肆虐。仅疟疾这一种疾病就导致四分之一的儿童死亡病例,而可预防的疾病,如麻疹、天花和百日咳也是儿童死亡的主要致因。

加强疾病预防

Sakai博士赞扬了这笔赠款,她说:“赠款将极大程度地帮助尼日利亚在2010年底最终阻止野生脊髓灰质炎病毒的传播并在全国各家各户普及两顶长效驱虫蚊帐。”

日本政府今年的赠款将被用于在“强化免疫日”活动中提供口服脊髓灰质炎疫苗,以及采购冷藏室以加强免疫冷链系统。

这笔赠款还将被用于采购预防疟疾的长效驱虫蚊帐,以及支持社会宣传,从而使各家和各个社区具备能够改善儿童健康的知识、技能和工具。

资助的历史

2000年以来,日本政府已经通过联合国儿童基金会/尼日利亚联邦政府的合作方案捐赠了6700万美元,用于在尼日利亚预防传染疾病。

Uesawa大使说:“我衷心地希望这个项目将有助于促进尼日利亚儿童的福祉。日本永远是尼日利亚人民的伙伴和朋友。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Nigeria

Grant from the Government of Japan supports child survival in Nigeria

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nigeria/2009/Nwosu
From left to right: UNICEF Representative in Nigeria Dr. Suomi Sakai, Nigeria's Minister of Health Babatunde Osotimehin and Ambassador of Japan to Nigeria Toshitsugu Uesawa exchanging notes at the signing of a Grant Agreement in Nigeria.

ABUJA, Nigeria, 19 August 2009 – UNICEF Nigeria has received 8.5 million dollars, from the Government of Japan, to support polio eradication, routine immunization and malaria prevention efforts.

The Resident Representative of the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) Kyojin Mima and UNICEF Representative Dr. Suomi Sakai, signed a Grant Agreement yesterday at the Federal Ministry of Health.

Present at the signing was the Honourable Minister of Health Professor Babatunde Osotimehin and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Japan to Nigeria H.E. Mr. Toshitsugu Uesawa.

Reducing child mortality

Nigeria is making progress in reducing its high child mortality rate. But challenges remain if the country is to achieve its Millennium Development Goals in health.

Deadly childhood diseases are still rampant in the country. Malaria alone is responsible for one quarter of child deaths and preventable diseases such as measles, tetanus and whooping cough are also major causes of child mortality.

Strengthening disease prevention

Dr. Sakai praised the grant, saying, “it will make significant contribution to Nigeria’s final push to stop the transmission of the wild poliovirus and to the effort towards universal coverage of two nets per household in the country, using long lasting insecticide treated nets – all by the end of 2010.”

This year’s contribution from the Government of Japan will be used to provide Oral Polio Vaccine for use against polio during Immunisation Plus Days, and to procure cold rooms to strengthen the immunisation cold chain system.

It will also be used to procure Long Lasting Insecticide-Treated Nets for malaria control and to support social communication to empower families and communities with knowledge, skills and tools that will improve child health.

History of support

Since 2000, the Government of Japan has contributed about 67 million dollars for the prevention of infectious diseases in Nigeria through the UNICEF/Federal Government of Nigeria Programme of Cooperation.

“I earnestly hope that this project will foster the welfare of Nigerian children,” said Ambassador Uesawa. “Japan will be together with Nigerian people as a partner and a friend.”


 

 

New enhanced search