尼日尔

贫困和粮食危机中,尼日尔的儿童死亡人数大幅下降

鲍勃.科恩报道

尼日尔马拉迪地区阿桂页(AGUIE),2012年6月6日 —— 瘦小的巴萨莉亚.阿维索(Bassariya Aweso)躺在医院的婴儿床上,轻轻地呜咽着,她的母亲柔和地抚摸她的脊背,试图给她一些安慰。在阿桂页地区医院的密集治疗喂养中心接受三个多星期的治疗后,这名一岁大的小女孩正在从急性营养不良中恢复。

联合国儿童基金会记者鲍勃.科恩报道尼日尔的儿童死亡数量急剧下降。 在Realplayer中播放

以为免疫功能被削弱,她很容易受其他疾病的影响。现在她还患有疟疾。

人满为患

收治严重病例的病房里,挤满了患病的儿童和担忧的母亲。“当孩子们来到这里时,已经处于临界状态,情况非常糟糕。”卫生工作者阿马杜.穆罕默德.纳西若(Amadou Mohamed Nassirou)在检查患儿时解释说。在他周围,孩子们的哭闹响成一片。“因此,许多儿童有很多并发症。”

大多数患者都是从周围村庄的卫生站转来的,这些村庄一直在努力应对当前席卷萨赫勒地区的严重粮食危机。

“去年蝗虫毁了我们的庄稼,所以我们被迫购买食品。但是,当我们的钱用光了之后,就再也没有食物了。”巴萨莉亚的母亲、19岁的扎纳卜.阿卜杜(Zainabou Abdou)说,“因此,我没了食物可吃,也就无法给巴萨莉亚喂奶了。所有我能做的就只有哭泣。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
在尼日尔阿桂页地区医院的密集治疗喂养中心,扎纳卜.阿卜杜努力地抚慰着一岁大的女儿巴萨莉亚。她患有严重急性营养不良和疟疾,不得不住院治疗将近一个月。

在世界各地,每天19000名5岁以下的儿童死于疾病,而其中大部分疾病是可预防的。尼日尔的大部分人口是贫困的农民,各家种植自己的粮食,导致这里的儿童成为最脆弱的群体。尽管大多数国家大力应对夺取儿童生命的主要原因,撒哈拉以南的非洲地区仍然具有最高的儿童死亡率。与城市地区相比,农村贫困地区的儿童更容易在五岁生日之前死亡。

紧急护理和教育

巴萨莉亚所患的疟疾加上营养不良尤其致命。在全球范围内,超过三分之一的儿童死亡是营养不良导致的。2011年,疟疾导致50万儿童死亡 —— 几乎是撒哈拉以南非洲国家的所有儿童。但在尼日尔公共卫生部、联合国儿童基金会和非政府组织合作伙伴的协调努力下,尼日尔越来越多的儿童正在被挽救。

在将近一个月的治疗中,巴萨莉亚接受了抗疟疾治疗,吃了食疗食品Plumpy’nut和强化奶粉等,而且治疗效果良好。她慢慢有了力气,体重也有所增加。阿卜杜女士和其他母亲也接受了如何防止营养不良、疟疾及其他导致儿童死亡的因素的教育。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
阿卜杜女士和巴萨莉亚等着从密集治疗喂养中心出院。经过长途跋涉,他们终于回到了村庄里的家,家人和朋友热情地迎接他们的归来,他们本以为再也看不到这个婴儿了。

“我们已经了解母乳喂养的重要性,也知道了应该给孩子喂其他重要的食物,如添加豆类和花生的粥。”她说,“他们还教我们,让孩子在蚊帐里睡觉是十分重要的,并教我们如何正确使用蚊帐。”

大幅降低儿童死亡率

纳西若先生即将把小巴萨莉亚交给阿卜杜女士照看,他在对她进行最后检查时说:“我们工作的重点是降低尼日尔的儿童死亡率。如果你看看这里的儿童死亡率数据,你会发现,不超过总数的5%。”

阿卜杜女士和巴萨莉亚接受了维他命和铁补充剂注射。他们已经出院,转到了门诊诊所,他们将每周回到诊所进行检查,直到巴萨莉亚完成康复。在烈日下步行四个小时之后,他们终于回到了马兰考瓦(Malankaoua)的家,家人欣喜地迎接这对母女的归来。他们原本以为,再也看不到这个小女孩了。

自1990年以来,尼日尔5岁以下儿童的死亡率已下降了60%,现在是降低儿童死亡率表现最好的20个国家之一。在世界最贫困国家中,降低儿童死亡率是一项尤其重要的成就。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Niger

Amidst poverty and food crisis, number of child deaths in the Niger plummets

By Bob Coen

AGUIE, Maradi Region, Niger, 17 September 2012 - Tiny Bassariya Aweso lies in a hospital cot whimpering softly as her mother gently strokes her back, trying to offer some comfort. The 1-year-old girl has been recovering from the effects of severe acute malnutrition at the Intensive Therapeutic Feeding Centre of Aguie District Hospital for more than three weeks.

UNICEF correspondent Bob Coen reports on a steep decrease in the number of child deaths in the Niger.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

A weakened immune system has left her vulnerable to other diseases. She is now also suffering from malaria.

Filled to capacity

The ward where serious cases are admitted is filled almost to capacity with sick children and their worried mothers. “When children arrive here, they are already in a critical state, in very bad condition,” explains health worker Amadou Mohamed Nassirou as checks on the children, surrounded by constant crying. “This is why many have a lot of complications.”

Most have been referred here from health posts in surrounding villages, where communities have been struggling to cope with the effects of the severe food crisis currently gripping the Sahel region.

“Locusts destroyed our crops last year, and so we were forced to buy food. But then we ran out of money, and there was no more food,” says Bassariya’s mother Zainabou Abdou, 19. “So, I was not eating and stopped producing breast milk for Bassariya. All I could do was cry.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Zainabou Abdou tries to comfort her 1-year-old daughter Bassariya at the Intensive Therapeutic Feeding Centre of Aguie District Hospital in the Niger. The child suffered from severe acute malnutrition and malaria and had to be hospitalized for almost a month.

Around the world, 19,000 children under 5 die every day from largely preventable diseases. Most of the Niger’s population are poor farmers who grow their own food, making children here some of the most vulnerable. While most countries have made strong inroads into tackling the major killers of children, sub-Saharan Africa carries the highest burden of child mortality. Children from poor rural areas are much more likely to die before their fifth birthday than those in urban areas.

Urgent care, and education

The combination of malnutrition and malaria from which Bassariya suffers is particularly deadly.  Globally, more than one third of child deaths are attributable to undernutrition, and malaria killed half a million children in 2011 – nearly all in sub-Saharan Africa. But thanks to the coordinated efforts of the Niger’s Ministry of Public Health, UNICEF and NGO partners, more and more children are being saved in the Niger.

Bassariya has responded well to almost a month of treatment, receiving anti-malarial treatment, as well as therapeutic foods such as Plumpy’nut and fortified milk powder. She has gained strength and put on weight. Ms. Abdou, along with other mothers, has received education on how to prevent malnutrition, malaria and other child-killers.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Ms. Abdou and Bassariya wait to be discharged from the Intensive Therapeutic Feeding Centre. After the long trip to their village, they will be greeted by friends and relatives who thought they would never see the infant alive again.

“We’ve learnt about the importance of breastfeeding, and giving our children other important foods like beans and peanut-butter-enriched porridge,” she says. “They’ve also taught us how important it is for our children to sleep under a mosquito net and how to use it properly.”

Radically reducing child deaths

As Mr. Nassirou gives little Bassariya her last check-up before she will be released to Ms. Abdou’s care, he says, “The importance of our efforts is to reduce child mortality in Niger. If you look at the mortality figures here, you’ll see they total to no more than 5 per cent.”

Ms. Abdou and Bassariya receive vitamin drops and a dose of iron supplements.  They are discharged and referred to an outpatient clinic, where they will return for a weekly check-up until Bassariya is completely healthy. After their four-hour walk under the hot sun back to their home village, Malankaoua, mother and daughter are greeted ecstatically by loved ones who thought they would never see the little girl again.

Niger has seen a 60 per cent decline in under-5 mortality since 1990 and today ranks as one of the top twenty performing countries in reducing child deaths – an achievement that is particularly impressive for one the world’s poorest countries.


 

 

New enhanced search