尼日尔

特大洪水侵袭遭遇营养危机和霍乱疫情的尼日尔

淑珊.梅宝拉图(Shushan Mebrahtu)报道

尼日尔萨兰登甘达(SARANDO GANDA),2012年9月5日 —— 在尼亚美郊外尼日尔河旁的萨兰登甘达村,许多的泥砖房屋已倒塌或严重受损,导致70%的人口无家可归。

联合国儿童基金会报道洪灾突袭尼日尔,而该国一直面临持续的营养危机和霍乱疫情。 在Realplayer中播放

数百名因洪水而无家可归的人来到一所学校避难。在一间狭小而黑暗的教室里,许多儿童和妇女挤着坐在床垫上。教室里摆满了床垫、桌椅和流离失所者的其他简陋家产。

大雨重创

过去的几个星期,尼日尔遭受连续大雨,房屋和庄稼被淹没。洪水已造成52人死亡,全国各地近40万人受灾。受灾家庭暂时住在附近的学校,境况如萨兰登甘达的那个学校一样,还有一些来到教堂、清真寺或亲戚家避难。

尼日尔河沿岸地区受灾最严重。像萨兰登甘达那样的村庄,周围一片汪洋,只有划船才能靠近。

洪水吞噬了人们对丰收的期望。在萨兰登甘达,以前为尼亚美市场提供全年蔬菜和水果的田地全都被洪水淹没,仓库已空空如也。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2012/Therrien
小船载着妇女和儿童及他们的财物。尼日尔遭受洪水袭击后,萨兰登甘达村已变成了一个小岛。现在,只能靠划船才能靠近这个村庄。

“我们从未见过破坏性如此巨大的洪水。”62岁的阿布德哈曼.卡瑞姆(Abdurhaman Karimou)说。他在萨兰登甘达生活了一辈子,此次洪水使他失去了房屋、5个粮仓和其他财产。

“我们的庄稼被淹了。这里没有任何食物可吃。让孩子们难以度日。”萨兰登甘达村的村长塞义尼.哈玛度.萨尼(Seyni Hamadou Sani)说,“儿童尤其容易受到腹泻和疟疾的影响。一周之内,出现了53个疟疾病例。我们用船将他们送到了附近村庄布邦(Boubon)和孔巴(Koumba)的诊所接受治疗。”

萨尼先生担心,如果不提供紧急粮食援助,易感染腹泻和疟疾的儿童将变得营养不良。

前途未卜

“这里的人们勇敢勤劳,当我看到他们面临如此悲惨的情形时,这种感觉糟透了。”联合国儿童基金会尼日尔供应助理哈玛度.亭尼(Hamadou Tinni)说,“村庄靠近水源本是一大优势,使他们可以全年种植不同种类的蔬菜和庄稼。但现在他们却一无所有了,庄稼颗粒无收,也没有收入来源。”

阿达姆.孜博(Adamou Zibo)是一名年轻的父亲,他靠卖蔬菜来养家糊口。此次洪灾使他失去了房屋和庄稼。“在这里,我们没有任何安全可言。我们都想回到自己的家园和农场,但却不知道何时能回去。”他解释说。

多重危机

洪水袭击之前,尼日尔就已经面临着持续的粮食危机和管理国内流离失所者的挑战。

• 联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴预计:今年将有39.4万名5岁以下儿童需要接受严重营养不良的治疗。

• 逃离马里冲突的难民继续抵达尼日尔。到目前为止,超过5.7万难民和国内流离失所者已来到该国的各个地区,包括受粮食危机影响最严重的地区。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Niger/2012/Therrien
在尼日尔萨兰登甘达村,62岁的阿布德哈曼.卡瑞姆站在被洪水毁坏的房屋废墟上。此次洪灾使他失去了自家房屋和5个粮仓。

随着雨季的到来,霍乱疫情已影响了该国许多地区,特别是粮食危机重灾区提拉贝里(Tillaberi)地区的尼日尔河沿岸的村庄。

疫情在继续蔓延。据报道,在过去的几个月里,共出现3671起病例,80人死亡。人们越来越担心这场洪灾会加剧疫情蔓延。

援助陆续抵达

尼日尔在抗击这场多年来最严重的水灾时,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴也正在提供紧急救济援助,以满足灾民的迫切需求。在受洪灾最严重的多索(Dosso)地区,6万多人受灾,1万多栋房屋被毁。联合国儿童基金会已派发了毛毯、塑料布、烹饪用品、蚊帐、卫生用品(如肥皂、水桶等)和其他挽救生命的物资。在萨兰登甘达,已经派发了净水药片,以防家庭和儿童感染水媒疾病。

但在未来的几个星期甚至几个月里,为了继续给灾民家庭提供住处和物资、恢复被毁和受损的学校,还需要做更多工作。

联合国儿童基金会正在与尼日尔政府及合作伙伴共同了解难民需求,确定需要优先满足的需求,并订购挽救生命的物资,以继续协助遭受洪灾的社区。联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴呼吁国际社会调动更多的资源,帮助人们抗洪救灾,恢复自给自足的能力。

尼日尔的雨季尚未结束,人们担心还会出现更多洪水。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Niger

Floods strike the Niger amidst nutrition crisis and cholera outbreak

By Shushan Mebrahtu

SARANDO GANDA, Niger, 5 September 2012 - In Sarando Ganda, a village along the Niger River on the outskirts of Niamey, many of the mud-brick houses have collapsed or are severely damaged, leaving 70 per cent of the population homeless.

UNICEF reports on a rash of floods that have struck the Niger, which has been grappling with an ongoing nutrition crisis and an outbreak of cholera.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

A school hosts hundreds of people displaced by the waters. In one dark classroom, children and women sit on mats, sharing the small space. The schoolrooms are filled with mattresses, chairs, tables and other meagre possessions of displaced households.

Heavy rains take a heavy toll

Heavy rains over the past few weeks in the Niger have inundated both homes and food crops. The waters have claimed 52 lives and affected nearly 400,000 persons nationwide. Families affected by the floods have temporarily taken shelter in nearby schools, such as the one in Sarando Ganda, in churches, mosques, relatives’ houses. 

Areas along the Niger River have been the most affected. In villages such as Sarando Ganda, surrounded by floodwaters, access is now only possible by boat.

The floods have muted optimism for the upcoming harvest season. In Sarando Ganda, entire vegetable and fruit fields, which normally provide year-round supplies to markets in Niamey, are submerged in water, leaving granaries empty.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2012/Therrien
Boats carry women and children and some of their possessions. Sarando Gandi has turned into a small island since floods hit the village and other regions in the Niger. Access to the village is now possible only by boat.

“We have never seen a catastrophic flooding like this,” says Abdurhaman Karimou, 62, a lifetime resident of Sarando Ganda who has lost his home, five granaries and other properties.

“We lost all our crops. There is nothing to eat here. It is very difficult for children,” says Sarando Ganda village chief Seyni Hamadou Sani. “Children are particularly exposed to diarrhoea and malaria. In one week, we had 53 cases of malaria. We evacuated them to the clinics in [nearby villages] Boubon and Koumba by boat for treatment.”

Mr. Sani cautions that, if immediate food assistance is not provided, children already vulnerable to diarrhoea and malaria will become malnourished.

Uncertain future

“These are brave and hardworking people, but when I see them in a dire situation, I feel bad,” says UNICEF Niger Supply Assistant Hamadou Tinni. “Being near the water was the advantage of the village, as it helps to grow different types of vegetables and crops throughout the year. But now they have nothing, no harvest, no source of income.”

Adamou Zibo is a young father who supports his family with the income he generates from selling vegetables. When the floods hit, he lost his home and crops.  “We don’t have any security here. We all want to go back to our homes and farms, but we don’t know when,” he explains.

Multiple crises

Before the floods hit, the Niger had been faced with the challenges of ongoing food crisis and managing a stream of refugees and internally displaced persons.

• UNICEF and partners estimate that 394,000 children under 5 will need treatment for severe acute malnutrition this year.

• Refugees continue to arrive in the Niger, fleeing conflict in Mali. So far, more than 57,000 refugees and internally displaced persons have settled in various parts of the country, including in the areas worst affected by the food crisis.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Niger/2012/Therrien
Abdurhaman Karimou, 62, stands on the rubble of houses demolished by the floods in Sarando Ganda, the Niger. He has lost his home and five granaries.

As the rainy season has unfolded, a cholera epidemic has affected many parts of the country, particularly villages along the Niger River in Tillaberi region, one of the hardest hit by the food crisis.

And the epidemic continues to spread. A total of 3,671 cases and 80 deaths have been reported in the past few months. Concerns are growing that the current floods may worsen the spread.

Help continues to arrive

As the Niger battles the severest floods it has seen in years, UNICEF, in coordination with its partners, is providing immediate relief assistance to meet the urgent needs of flood victims. In Dosso region, the hardest hit by the floods, with more than 60,000 people affected and more than 10,000 houses destroyed, UNICEF has distributed blankets, plastic sheets, cooking items, mosquito nets, such hygiene-related supplies as soaps and buckets and other life-saving supplies. In Sarando Ganda, water purification tablets have been distributed to protect families and children from water-borne diseases.

But more needs to be done in the coming weeks and months to continue providing families with supplies and shelter, and to restore destroyed and damaged schools.

UNICEF is working with the Government of the Niger and partners to identify and prioritize needs, and to order life-saving supplies to continue assisting communities affected by the floods. UNICEF and its partners are calling on the international community to mobilize more resources to help people recover and to restore their self-sufficiency.

In the Niger, the rainy season is not over yet – nor is the fear of more flooding.


 

 

New enhanced search